Looks Like We Made It

I slept soundly last night. My first deep sleep in weeks. I’m certain my utter exhaustion from the day’s events assisted in that. But it was a good fatigue, deep in my bones, accompanied by a lot of heavy sighing.

Not only did we meet our fundraising goal at yesterday’s event, we exceeded it.

As I sat there in the money counting room,watching the total go up and up and up, I could hardly believe it was happening. I wanted this event to be successful SO MUCH that when reality hit, I was rather shell-shocked. Within ten weeks, after a late start in planning due to my job change at the office, I actually pulled it off. Not only did we make more than we had budgeted for but we did it in a bad economy. AND we had more guests attend than in any other year prior.

That feels damn good.

I’m so lucky to work for an agency I am proud of and with people who are consummate team players. Every single person in my department went the extra mile to ensure the success of the event- from hauling centerpieces to the venue, designing gift bags, reading and re-reading scripts, fixing power point glitches and running to the paper supply store (repeatedly). I might have held all the pieces but I in no way did it alone.

This tired is a good tired and well worth it. I’ll admit, I’m basking a bit. It is an awesome feeling to meet a challenge head on and best it.

64 thoughts on “Looks Like We Made It

  1. Woohooo!!! Congrats! You do such good work my dear. πŸ™‚ So glad all this worked out well for you and those you are helping.

  2. Congratulations! I’m happy to hear that even in this crap economy people can still find the means to give.

  3. Super Congratulations! That is amazing in this economy. Great job at raising more money and getting more people!

  4. Wonderful! πŸ˜€ Congratulations!
    If your company had any doubts as to whether they’d hired the right woman for the job, I think you proved to them they did. It went well, and your people pulled together, because you know just what the heck you are doing! Well done you.

  5. I went through an entire year of college English Lit courses, convinced I was going to fail them. Every paper we had to write, I was convinced I’d done it wrong, that it was stupid, and I wanted to go into class with a paper bag over my head whenever we had papers due, and when I knew we’d get the papers back. And this wasn’t for attention: “Oh, I’m such a bad writer…” just so that I could hear someone say “No you’re not!” This was serious, nausea inducing fear that I’d written crap. I got “A’s” on every paper and was asked to read a number of them out loud in class.

    I went through anguish when the girls were born because I was worried that I wasn’t able to give each of them their deserved, individual attention. I finally realized that because of that guilt, I was dedicating more attention to them than most parents are able to.

    Why am I writing about myself on comments about your blog? I usually hate it when people do that! It’s because I see that same trait in you. It’s unfortunate that our fear of our failure is what pushes us to be great, but, at least in my case it does. I’m finally getting it. It’ll be a great day when we realize that we ARE great – without the fear of failure!!

    Good job on the fund raiser! I’m sure that you were the only one who was worried and that everyone you work with had all the faith and optimism in your abilities.

    Sorry for the long comment. I just failed in the short comment category. Next time… πŸ™‚

  6. Bask away, dear. You’ve earned it. And I’m sure your passion shines through to each person you talk to about the work your organization does. πŸ™‚

  7. I am so proud of you sizzle! I knew you would kick ass! It’s so great that you work with an awesome team like that. Everyone deservs that, but not manhy get it.

  8. Congrats! I am so happy for you! You obviously do good work!

    Lame about the tenant giving notice and having to stay in town this weekend. 😦

  9. Hey, I’ve been swallowed up in the move, but I saved this post so I could say CONGRATULATIONS! I was following this saga from behind the scenes, and was really glad to hear it was a success :o)

  10. Chiming in late but well done! Congratulations on not only meeting the goal but surpassing it. IT sounds like you have a great support team at work and no doubt that makes all the difference to have people all working toward the same common goal.

Comments are closed.