All I could taste was love the way we made it.*

I scored two free tickets in the 6th row for Barry Manilow last night. So, of course, I took the woman who is responsible for me knowing the majority of his songbook- my Mom.

When I called to tell her that we were going she squealed in my ear like a teenage girl and then promptly started singing “Copacabana.”

I love my Mom.

Turns out that sixth row isn’t sixth row on the main floor but on the side which, still, is not bad and hell, I am not complaining because FREE BARRY MANILOW TICKETS. Hello! The actual seats reminded me of port-a-potties. They seemed to be made from the same material and equally uncomfortable. But at least it did not smell like poo.

There was an opening act- some guy named Brian or something- who played smooth jazz. I do not think jazz should be smooth. Nor should it be new age (but that’s another post). A woman three rows behind us yelled out, “I love you, Barry!” during the opener’s set to which my Mom retorted, “Does she not know who this is?!” I think she may be stupid, Mom.

barry-manilow-musicWhen Barry took the stage, the Fanilows went nuts. He sang all the hits- sometimes in medley form and sometimes from start to finish. He told some touching, entertaining stories- like the one about his grandfather who encouraged him to sing as a child and who gave him his first standing ovation the very first time he ever played Carnegie Hall.

My favorite part was when they played footage of his first performance on American Bandstand in 1975. He was wearing tight white pants and a shiny blue top, his hair was feathered and his nose was bigger. He was singing “Mandy” and then all of sudden the spotlight hit on him at the piano and he was signing with his younger self. It shall be known that “Mandy” is one of my favorite songs of his. But I do not recommend singing it at karaoke because it is epically long and you will feel as though you want to die two minutes into it.

Or maybe that’s just me.

When he came out for one of his final encores to sing “Copacabana,” the crowd jumped to their feet and my Mom and I started dancing. Hearing my Mom cheer and sing along while dancing was the cutest. It took me back to when I was a kid and she’d blare his records. Past happy memories mingled with the music while we made a new one- dancing together at a Barry Manilow concert, much older, much wiser but still laughing.

*Line from “Looks Like We Made It” which sounds mighty dirty if you think about it. Or you think like me.

P. S. Does Barry look like he could be the Uncle to Adrien Brody or is it just me?

31 thoughts on “All I could taste was love the way we made it.*

  1. Have I told you I think you’re mom is the cutest? I do, and I haven’t even met her.
    You kinda rock too you know ; )

  2. How FUN!! I love Barry Manilow. I saw him play at Red Rocks here in Denver–that venue was so perfect for him. Outdoors, surrounded by huge rock formations, a beautiful summer night.

    Sounds like you had a great time with your mom–what a great memory that is!

  3. I had a co-worker from the UK who for a period of time lived in Santa Monica and before he went back to the UK, his girlfriend insisted that they go see Barry Manalow. They had a great time and he was in utter awe of the show and how the fans from 9-99 have a blast!

  4. Aha! The Mandy fan comes out of the closet! And you’ve given me a great idea – I really should do something like this for my mom, soon.

  5. Admittedly, Barry Manilow is right up there with Neil Diamond and Abba as my guilty pleasures.

    My folks listened to it and I enjoy the memories that flood into my head when I hear them.

    Good times!

  6. well they do each have big noses…

    Ahh reminds me of when I go and see Take That with my mother. We’re always singing and dancing along — it’s so much fun 🙂

  7. My Mom is a total Fanilow and used to play his music repeatedly when I was in grade school. Yep, know the songs very well. But in all honesty, is there ANY OTHER WAY that line can be taken?

  8. For what you said today, and how you described it?
    For doing this wonderful wonderful thing for your Mom??
    I *pink puffy heart* you. 🙂 It’s a fangirl’s best thing ever!

  9. “But I do not recommend singing it at karaoke because it is epically long and you will feel as though you want to die two minutes into it.”
    Guffaw. Exactly.
    I felt that way about New York New York, which it turns out has verses.

    This sounds like a riot.

  10. Oh, I grew up loving Barry Manilow. Still do. There. I admitted it. Publicly. On the internet. At least it seems I am in good company!

  11. My girlfriend and I like reading ‘Charlie and Lola’ to her little one before she goes to bed. Every time the name Lola is mentioned we all sing “…she was a showgirl”. Ahem. Yeah, our Manilow sadness knows no bounds.

  12. I used to have a Barry Manilow tshirt that my parents got me when they went to see him perform somewhere back when I was a kid. I wish I still had it.

Comments are closed.