Almost!

Despite recent emotional upheaval or maybe because of it, I am anxiously awaiting my arrival in California tomorrow. I think it will be just the salve to soothe me.  I need some beach time and good friend bonding and space to breathe without reminders of what has transpired these past few weeks. I want to let go of my anger and my extreme disappointment and just BE.

Preferably here under this tree with this view:

My Peaceful Place

My Peaceful Place

This is the tree I would always go and sit under when my mind would not shut up and I was churning all sorts of emotional turmoil. For 12 years I found sanctuary there. I’m pretty sure that if I’m not hanging out with one of my (awesome!) friends, I’ll be under that tree. The house I rented is so close to it. Double bonus.

Speaking of my friends. . . it goes without saying that they are an amazing bunch but this week the anticipation of my arrival has created somewhat of an excited frenzy which is very flattering to say the least. The texts, emails and calls about my visit and our subsequent jubilation over it has me feeling all warm and fuzzy. They like me! They really, really like me! It’s an incredible feeling to have people make time for you AND be so happy to see you. How on earth did I get so lucky?

But there is still today to reckon with- mini blinds to install, a building to vacuum, vacation notices to leave under tenant doors, errands to run, multiple loads of laundry to wash, fold and put away and packing to do. I don’t think I can actually refer to this day as a “day off.” Day off from what?!

It’ll be strange to not celebrate my birthday on my blog but come Friday, I won’t have internet access. I’m going off the grid. Probably right about the time the detox kicks in, I’ll be flying back home. I’ll post something tomorrow to commemorate my 36 (eek!) year even though technically my birthday isn’t until Saturday. See you tomorrow at the party?

40 thoughts on “Almost!

  1. So jealous. I’d love to spend a little quality time by my home beach (Pismo) this weekend, too. ENJOY IT, girl! And happy (early) birthday, too!

  2. First of all how could someone NOT like you? Ok if they don’t that means they are evil.

    Moving along, have a very, very wonderful time there!!! And have a very Happy Birthday! lots of hugs 🙂

  3. I feel the same way about being by the ocean, sitting near the beach. I hope you find your birthday vacation renewing and restful to usher you into a new year full of possibilities.

  4. Enjoy your friends and your tree. I do hope you can counter your “trifecta of dysfunction” (I had to laugh at that phrase). I also hope that you have a rockin’ birthday!!

    Don’t get too dizzy while you unwind. 🙂

  5. oh my god, you’re going to have the BEST time! you totally deserve it sizz. i just looked at that little cottage and it’s sooo quaint and cute and… sigh, perfect. HAVE FUN! happy birthday!

  6. Have a great birthday. Enjoy your time with your friends and your tree. I love your tree… it looks perfect for thinking under. That picture reminds me of your banner, minus the skyline, of course.

  7. Meh, get out of here with that incredulity- don’t you know how immensely likeable you are? I hope you have a great time!

    Happy birthday 🙂

  8. I have always hated the rush of activity in preparation for going away. And then coming back to the office after and discovering that everyone had flipped out and couldn’t use their own brains to think. Perhaps I work with zombies.

  9. I am so happy you get to take this break to spend time with friends who love you and care about you! That is one of the best feelings in the world – being loved, knowing someone is anxious to see you, knowing someone is thinking about you! Have a great time and happy birthday!

  10. I am so happy you get to take this break to spend with friends! That is one of the best feelings in the world – knowing you are loved, someone is excited to see you, and thinking about you. Just being cared for! Happy Birthday! Have a wonderful time!

  11. I have 3 things to say to you…
    1. Can I come???
    2. That relaxing spot looks like heaven on Earth!
    3. HAPPY EARLY BIRTHDAY you gorgeous lady!!!
    4. I can’t count.
    5. Can I come??
    6. Pack red shoes and lipstick.
    7. Can I… (ok getting boring now)
    xxx

  12. Have fun in California. Remember my advice, you should bang at least three guys while you’re there. I suggest you go at their units like they hold the antidote.

  13. Your birthday is a day after mine! I’m exactly ten years younger than you as well. I hope you have a great, great time! It sounds as though it’s going to be amazing. I’m very jealous.

Comments are closed.