You’re the Song I Can’t Keep Out of My Mind*

I’ve finally finished the cover song mixes (sorry winners, I’ve been too hot and sweaty to accomplish anything this week). Because there were SO MANY awesome suggestions the cd turned into three cds. (You’re welcome in advance!) Below the jump you can see what songs made it on the cds but let me tell you I could have probably easily done a five disc compilation.

From all of that musicality, I’ve recently discovered three talented musicians thanks to the tips of other bloggers. Check them out if you’re so inclined:

Obadiah Parker is amazing. They’re pretty well known for their cover of Outkast’s “Hey Ya” but their own stuff is really REALLY good. I bought both their albums upon hearing one song! If you click on the name you can hear one of my favorites entitled “Fall/Back.” (Thanks for the recommendation Suze!)

Matt Andersen was recommended to me during the covers post (thanks Amber!). His renditions of “Ain’t No Sunshine” and “Wagon Wheel” are awesome. He actually has an entire album of covers that I am going to run off and purchase as soon as I hit “publish” on this post.

I seriously just discovered Paul Jacobsen & the Madison Arm yesterday thanks to Aimee. I have subsequently listened to “You’re the Song” 50 times in the span of 24 hours. Again, heard one song, bought the entire album. Either I’m impulsive or I have impeccable musical tastes. Heh.

*Stolen from the lyrics of  Paul Jacobsen’s “You’re the Song.”

COVERS 1

  1. Wagon Wheel, Matt Andersen (Bob Dylan/Old Crow Medicine Show)
  2. Landslide, Dixie Chicks (Fleetwood Mac)
  3. Free Fallin’, John Mayer (Tom Petty)
  4. Old ’55, Sarah McLachlan (Tom Waits)
  5. Hey Ya, Obadiah Parker (Outkast)
  6. Into the Mystic, The Swell Season (Van Morrison)
  7. You Really Got a Hold On Me, She & Him (The Miracles)
  8. Fall at Your Feet, Katie Thompson (Crowded House)
  9. Girls Just Want to Have Fun, Greg Laswell (Cyndi Lauper)
  10. Time After Time, Eva Cassidy (Cyndi Lauper- double whammy of Cyndi!)
  11. Downtown Train, Everything But the Girl (Tom Waits)
  12. Against All Odds, The Postal Service (Phil Collins)
  13. How Deep is Your Love, The Bird and the Bee (Bee Gees)
  14. I’m on Fire, Tori Amos (Bruce Springsteen)
  15. Love Vigilantes, Iron & Wine (New Order)
  16. Wild Horses, The Sundays (Rolling Stones)
  17. Only You, Joshua Radin (Yaz)
  18. Hallelujah, Jeff Buckley (Leonard Cohen)

COVERS 2

  1. Don’t Stop Me Now, The Vandals (Queen)
  2. The Boys of Summer, The Ataris (Don Henley)
  3. I Walk the Line, Live (Johnny Cash)
  4. Tiny Dancer, Ben Folds (Elton John)
  5. Revolution, Grandaddy (The Beatles)
  6. Whole Lotta Love, Tori Amos (Led Zepplin)
  7. Ice Cream Man, Martin Sexton (Tom Waits)
  8. I Will Survive, Cake (Gloria Gaynor)
  9. Danny’s Song, Me First & the Gimme Gimmes (Loggins & Messina)
  10. Toxic, Tristan Prettyman (Britney Spears)
  11. Hazy Shade of Winter, The Bangles (Simon & Garfunkel)
  12. A Change is Gonna Come, Ben Sollee (Sam Cooke)
  13. In  Your Eyes, Sara Bareilles (Peter Gabriel)
  14. Wish You Were Here, Catherine Wheel (Pink Floyd)
  15. Sea of Love, Cat Powers (Phil Phillips)
  16. Hurt, Johnny Cash (NIN)
  17. Creep, Ingrid Michaelson (Radiohead)
  18. Crazy Train, Emm Gryner (Ozzy Osbourne)
  19. Rocket Man, Angie Aparo (Elton John)
  20. Mad World, Gary Jules (Tears for Fears)

COVERS 3

  1. Careless Whisper, Seether (Wham!)
  2. Hello, Me First & the Gimme Gimmes (Lionel Ritchie)
  3. Just Like Heaven, Tristan Prettyman (The Cure)
  4. Across the Universe, Rufus Wainwright (The Beatles)
  5. Romeo & Juliet, Indigo Girls (Dire Straits)
  6. Ain’t No Sunshine, Matt Andersen (Bill Withers)
  7. Heart of Gold, Korby Lenker (Neil Young)
  8. Easy, Faith No More (Lionel Ritchie)
  9. Dance Me to the End of Love, Madeleine Peyroux (Leonard Cohen)
  10. Somewhere Over the Rainbow, Israel Kamakawiwo’ole (Judy Garland)
  11. A Case of You, Diana Krall (Joni Mitchell)
  12. Let’s Stay Together, Obadiah Parker (Al Green)
  13. Blackbird, Sarah MacLachlan (The Beatles)
  14. You Can Close Your Eyes, William Fitzsimmons (James Taylor)
  15. Amazing Grace, Martin Sexton (old hymn sung by everyone)
25 thoughts on “You’re the Song I Can’t Keep Out of My Mind*

  1. Alright I’ll make you a deal. You hook me up with these covers and I will hook you up with Eric Hutchinson, Kate Nash, and The Bird & The Bee (or anything else I have that you might want)

    We can do another BlogHer cd swap!

  2. Wow, great list of songs, most of which I’ve never heard, but now I’ll have to check out. I heartily agree that the Swell Season’s version of Into The Mystic is AWESOME. I cried when I heard them do it live, now a couple years ago already.

  3. Wow. I am either going to be broke, or breaking into your apartment to copy the cd’s.

    I was listening to KEXP the other day and they played Pixies Wave of Mutilation that was turned into a BeeGees song. It was funny and wrong all at the same time and I want it. (Though not technically a cover)

    Are you enjoying the better weather?

  4. Great list! I am jealous I didn’t win. I’ll have to download some of these lovelies. I am glad you like Paul’s music. I really like his sound and he is one of the nicest guys ever so that adds to his talent in my opinion.

  5. Fantastic list. i totally forgot johnny cash and NIN. what a great remake that was. the video (sigh) makes me tear up every time i watch it

  6. Now I want a copy!

    A great find is also Mary Chapin Carpenter’s cover of Dancing In The Dark. She sings it slow and somber and you can’t believe how beautiful the lyrics are!

  7. Oh wow… I’m always impressed when that I know a few of these. 🙂 Quite the list to check out. Whao…

    Sarah Slean has just released an album of covers (if you are still in this vein.) I haven’t heard it yet but it sounded intriguing (Mostly obscure covers from Canadian artists. However…)

    Now for the worth checking out … Paul Anka (of Diana fame) does a series of lounge covers, including Black Hole Sun by Sound Garden that needs to be experienced at least once…

  8. Awesome list!

    Obadiah Parker is the name of the band, right- and not the lead singer? Isn’t it a Hootie situation?

  9. Great music can lift you mood instantly. I love that. I once walk the streets of Seattle singing Tori Aoms’s Silent All These Years. I got so many looks (I sing terribly) but I didn’t care. It was a moment I felt so alive, so authentic and I will never forget it.

  10. if I send you fans for your apartment, will you make me a copy of these CDs too? Because… I am dying of jealously over here. That is a seriously awesome line-up. 🙂

  11. Thanks a lot for the blog-out. Nice mix cds as well…

    Some other great covers:
    Take Me To The River- Talking Heads (Al Green)
    Goodnight, Irene- Tom Waits (Leadbelly)
    In Between Days- Luka Bloom (The Cure)
    To Go Home- M Ward (Daniel Johnston)
    Goodbye- Emmylou Harris (Steve Earle)
    Goin To Acapulco- Jim James & Calexico (Bob Dylan)
    Pony- Sara Watkins (Tom Waits)

  12. So let’s just say I were to send you some blank discs, a prepaid return envelope, and a wicked awesome Canadian care package, do you think you’d have the time to burn them for me?

    I know it’s a lot to ask, so don’t feel obligated…

  13. oww cool,
    mine is first comment this year, but im sure whenever i hear these songs it ll be great,,,,, thanks a lot……..

Comments are closed.