When Planning Comes In Handy

I decided after my last weigh in post that I would only weigh myself once a month right now. I have heard arguments from both sides- how weighing oneself weekly or daily keeps you in check and, conversely, how weighing oneself weekly or daily can make you a numbers-obsessed-dieting-freakazoid. So. . . I decided to stay away from the scale until the first of July and then reassess.

Meanwhile, I’m still eating well. No refined sugar or white flour for five weeks and counting. And you know what? I don’t really miss it. Weird but true! But I pass up cookies and bread-y things left and right. I’ve slipped here and there- the rare slice of baguette at Cafe Presse after my Nintendo party while I waited on my salad or the tiny piece of homemade chocolate birthday cake for my brother-in-law’s birthday but for the most part I am on track. I realize perfection is not actually my objective, just consistency. I’ve been exercising regularly with water aerobics three times a week and the 100 Push Up Challenge and 200 Sit Up Challenge plus walks. I need to do more exercising and have a few ideas in mind which I will reveal in another post.

One key ingredient to success for me is preparing my own food. Luckily, I love to cook so I have been reserving Sundays for prepping my go-to meals for lunches or when I get home ravenous from a work outs. Planning is key when trying to keep to a healthy eating regime. Eating out is difficult at a lot of restaurants – so many huge portions of foods I do not want to be eating. (I am looking at you potatoes!) I did find a great breakfast place that serves whole wheat pancakes and other whole grain, healthy options which I will DEFINITELY be returning to. (Any Seattle peeps love breakfast as much as me? Let’s go!)

Here’s a few recipes I am trying out this week:

Reinterpreted Moussaka (I found it to be a bit sweet but I didn’t have one of the spices which maybe changed the flavor? It’s like lasagna without pasta. Tasty enough and it made a lot so I’ll be eating it for a while.)

Stir fry Tofu with Scallions

Hummus & Whole Wheat Pitas (This is DELISH! I do believe I will never buy store bought hummus again. And I loved making the pitas. I’ve never worked with yeast before but it was fun and they are so so tasty.)

Shandong-Style Asparagus

Spinach with garlic and pine nuts

Lemon Couscous Chicken

Cinnamon Ricotta Creme (The peanut butter mousse from my last recipe post turned out so good that I thought I’d expand to other flavors. I never would have thought to use cottage cheese to make a cheesecake-like dessert but it really works. Mmm!)

Flourless, Sugar Free Peanut Butter Cookies (I made these and well, I don’t like that much Splenda in my food. They don’t taste bad but I think I’d rather reserve my dessert options for something with fruit. Did I just say I wanted fruit as dessert?! My world is spinning off its axis.) (Also, too much Splenda can make a girl gassy and what’s ladylike about that?) (TMI. Apologies!)

If you have any recipes you love that don’t include sugar or white flour, please feel free to share.

31 thoughts on “When Planning Comes In Handy

  1. I think you’ve nailed two of the biggest things to take care of when trying to get healthy. First of all, I don’t believe a person should weigh themselves every day because fluctuations can cause frustration, blah blah. I weigh in probably every other week and that is good enough for me. I mean hi, if I know I am doing it right then I don’t need scale validation each day.

    Also? Planning is the key to success. I always tend to eat the wrong crap when I don’t have a good plan!

    Go you!

  2. It sounds like you are definitely on the right track. I don’t have any recipes to share, but hummus and pita chips are one of my favorite snacks. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  3. i didn’t know about the push up and sit up challenges. very interesting. i may look into the push up one, as I can barely do any and have always wanted to. my arms need some desperate work. i’m already doing the Couch to 5k program too.

  4. i think that your plan sounds fantastic. that hummus sounds divine…and i had never ever thought about making the pita. that may be my saturday project now!

  5. I am ALL about breakfast. Anytime, my dear. Anytime.

    This may not fit 100% into no sugar, no flour, but have you ever check out Hungry Girl? Totally healthy AND delicious. I have her recipe book and it’s my go-to for dinners or when I have a pot-luck to go to.

  6. Yay you! I love your planning and you are seriously doing an awesome job. It’s interesting how our bodies will get use to certain portions while our tastes in foods will shift. I don’t think people usually realize that. You have control of yourself and can do whatever you want and again you are doing an awesome job.

    Try to cook fish a minimum of twice a week. I usually like to make salmon and tilapia and there are various easy ways to make them. If you want any any recipes, just let me know and I’ll shoot them your way!

  7. i’ve opted to weigh myself once a month as well – for some reason i thought daily would be good, but then i decided it wasn’t for me… even though i understand fluctuations – seeing the numbers creep up when they should be going down was a killer…

    congrats on the no ‘white stuff’ and i didn’t realize that you were doing both the push-up AND sit-up challenge… that puts my measly challenge to shame, my friend, but it sounds like you’re kicking-ass! whoo hooo! πŸ™‚

  8. Funny…I just posted a recipe for flourless peanut butter cookies. But mine have sugar in them.

    Keep at it with the healthy eating. Cooking my own meals is THE primary way I lost weight.

  9. Thanks for posting the link to the 100 pushup challenge. I somehow agreed to challenge this 6 foot 5 guy to a push up challenge after someone said that it was harder for a tall guy to do push ups. I don’t know what I was thinking, but at least this will make me not look like quite the fool!

    I too find that preparing my food for the week & cooking on Sunday’s works best for me. I have been relying on the same meals week after week, so I need to mix it up a little bit. I’ll have to try out some of your recipes.

  10. Um can I move in with you and have you cook for me? Moussaka? Spinach and pine nuts? Hummus? YUMMUS! I’m having total meal envy right now. You rule.

  11. Thanks for the recipe links, will definitely be checking those out. You are doing great and monthly WI’s are a good idea. It takes the power away from the scale and that’s awesome!

  12. Good luck with all the dieting and exercise. Katie and I keep meaning to sign up and do the assessment on the 100 pushups, 200 situps, and 200 squats, but we just haven’t. Been lazy and busy the last week and a half. Ridiculously so.

  13. I don’t have any good recipes but if you start craving pastas and Italian food, you should definitely try some tofu pasta. It’s so delicious and always satisfies my craving for carbs! It can be a little hard to find sometimes where I live but most Japanese markets should carry it and I have a feeling Seattle has more of those than DC.

  14. You know, many years ago when I did some anti-carb diet (which of course worked fabulously until the day I went off it!) the suggestion was to weigh yourself daily, and write down the numbers at the end of 2 weeks add them up and divide by 14 and that will give you a more solid number of what you’ve lost/gained.

  15. I am going to check out some of those recipes because they sound delicious! I so wish I lived close to you. I LOVE breakfast. It would also be pretty cool to hang out with you!

  16. Okay, we had this salad last night and I’m still excited about it.

    1 to 1.5 pound of fresh green beans
    1 shallot (we used 1/2 a shallot because my husband is a freak who doesn’t like onions)
    1/2 pint of grape (or cherry tomatoes)
    2 tablespoons each of fresh mint, fresh basil
    1/2 cup of crumbled feta cheese
    Salt and pepper (to taste)
    1-2 tablespoons of olive oil

    Bring a pot of water to a boil.
    Boil the green beans (ends appropriately trimmed) for about 5 minutes.
    While green beans are boiling, chop up mint, basil, shallot
    When the green beans are finished boiling, stop the cooking process by running them under cold water (I did this for a couple of minutes)
    Dry the green beans, combine them with the other ingredients, and eat that stuff in like two seconds flat.

    It’s delicious! You can obviously feel free to cut the amount of feta or olive oil. It took us maybe 15 minutes to make this, most of that time spent snipping the ends off of the green beans. It was an incredible salad and I think we’re going to be adding it to our mainstays this summer!

  17. I’ll have to give the pita a try sometime. Thanks for the recipe!

    Also taking another look at the 100 Pushups program. I’ve been doing some knee pushups with my arm/shoulder/torso workouts, but maybe I can up my game.

  18. Portage Bay and Cafe Presse were both SO GOOD. Next time I’ll remember to steal that baguette out from under your nose before you even notice it’s there. I’m super helpful like that. ; )

    (Oh, and I’m totally thieving some of your recipes from your linked post, so: thank! you. I get so bored eating the same things over and over and over again. Variety, and consistency, is key.)

    (Oh, and also: I believe in you.)

  19. I’m going to do my best to draw inspiration from you. But right now, all I want is a big bowl of icecream.

    Tomorrow, I shall start my pushups.

    BTW, I’m glad to hear things are going well with this diet. Everything here sounds delicious.

  20. Aw I make mousakka! Yummy isn’t it? I make a veggie-friendly version so I have no idea what the meat kind would be like lol!

  21. First, thank you for sharing the pita recipe!! I am totally pumped to try it!
    Second, as others have said, you are approaching this with absolutely the right mindset. Which means your chances of success are bound to be great. Go Sizzle!

  22. LOVE the tone of this post, Sizz! Seriously. When you said, I realize perfection is not actually my objective, just consistency, it rang so very true! The JC plan as a motto: Progress, not Perfection!

    And planning is soooo key to staying on track. We always make lousy decisions when we’re hungry if a good option isn’t under our nose. I’m guilty of that. Sweets and I have been doing more cooking and eating at home … there’s a certain sense of satisfaction when you cook your own meal!

  23. I don’t have anything special but I just made some yummy fish. I bought a pound of haddock, sprayed it with butter spray. Sprinkled garlic powder, onion powder and italian seasoning on it. Bake at 450 for 20 minutes. It was so good! I’m not a fish person really so that’s saying a lot πŸ™‚ I ate half, had green beans with it and I’m satisfied πŸ™‚ I look forward to trying some of your recipes!

  24. I thought after meeting you last Friday that I’d step out of Lurkville πŸ™‚

    I couldn’t agree more. For me, if I commit to cooking at home I have no problem, but when I head out to eat I feel like I have no self restraint. Molly Moons? Why not! And, I’ll take a double!

    One of my favorite cookbooks that meets your criteria (no sugar or white flour) is Supernatural Cooking (and the blog 101cookbooks.com). I couldn’t agree more!

  25. You know that tofu recipe caught my eye! I wished I lived in Seattle and could have breakfast with you!

    Preparing your meals is so much easier when you are trying to eat healthy. It eliminates a lot of the stress! Then, as you become more familiar with what is healthy to eat, you can eat out more, if you choose (did that make ANY sense?).

    I was very “step on the scale whenever I want” before, but now I’ve decided not to get on it until 10/19 – after my marathon. I don’t want to be worrying about my stupid weight when I am in training!

  26. I never thought to make my own pitas! I’d definitely like to try that…

    Can you use Agave Nectar in place of the Splenda or is that considered a “sugar” too?

Comments are closed.