Operation Happy: Take One

Remember when I said I was embarking on Operation Happy? Tonight is step one gets put into action.

Lindy Hop dance class at the Century Ballroom.

When I decided to make myself happy, the very first thing that came to mind was dancing. I love love love to dance. Back when I was in college my sister and I took a swing dance class together and it was SO MUCH FUN. We’d go to shows and cut a rug. I always have a smile on my face when I dance.

Another thing I love? Music. Specifically big band music, jazz and all those fantastic standards singers like Frank Sinatra, Louis Prima, Billie Holiday and Ella Fitzgerald. What I wouldn’t give to be a jazz singer. (Secret daydream.) By taking this class I am getting both dancing AND music which means I get double the happy. Bonus!

One thing that’s worrying me is that I’ve always been a strong leader on the dance floor. Ask any of my ex’s who tried to lead me. So here’s hoping that my new attitude of loving myself and not being so controlling will translate onto the dance floor. I am trying to squelch any fears that pop up about being too fat to dance or that guys in the class will wish they didn’t have to dance with me. I just tell those thoughts to SHUT THE HELL UP and hum a little diddy.

I think I need a theme song.

29 thoughts on “Operation Happy: Take One

  1. Do you also put your music on in your apartment and just start dancing till you can’t anymore?

    Not that I do that or anything…somewhat regularly…

  2. Good for you for telling those thoughts to shut the hell up. After all, you have two feet that work, right? Sounds like all the prerequisite in the world to me! And you’re right, it sounds like a theme song is definitely in order. Have fun tonight, it sounds like a blast!

  3. That sounds like so much fun! I’d be nervous to dance just because I’m shy that way, but if someone pulled me out to the dance floor, I’m sure I’d love it.

  4. Dude, you are so dead on. You totally need to use this as an opportunity to practice letting a man control you’re actions.

  5. have so much fun! that is fantastic that you are doing that. you are totally on the right track. i’m finding that literally, our thoughts control a good part of what really happens in our lives. by changing those thoughts….you are on your way!

  6. Perhaps we need a committee to work on your theme song. πŸ˜‰
    I’m excited for you! I am taking an art class during the month of July and I feel like it’s really going to help get my head sorted out. It’s been a very emotional, mixed up place lately.

  7. I love to dance, too! That is something I should put on my to do list for the next year. I can’t wait to hear how it goes!

  8. I am jealous! I, too, love to dance. I once danced for hours in Sioux Falls, SD with an old trucker that looked like Roy Orbison b/c he was such a great partner! Who cares how he looked! He was a fantastic dancer! I’d find him for you if I was able, the man could seriously LEAD! It was fabulous! I had more fun with him on that dance floor than on most of my dates in my 20’s. Enjoy yourself!

  9. How fun! I secretly want to take ballroom dancing lessons, specifically the latin style.

    Good for you, taking steps to do what makes you happy.

  10. You get out there and DANCE!

    I would also like to suggest “The Eye of the Tiger” as a possible theme song. Cause you know there is nothing that can’t be accomplished as long as you have an 80’s montage song behind you.

  11. I think that’s cool- Lindy Hop dance class is going to be a blast, I’ll bet.

    I don’t know how to dance. I’ve tried to dance a couple times. So far, it’s always ended badly. Due to results ranging from open mockery to accidentally smacking the ass of my friend Erick’s Mom during his wedding, I hung up my dance shoes and never looked back.

  12. A theme song….

    When The Man and I took ballroom, it was Teach Me Tiger (but it’s a rumba.) Me, I’m always a big fan of big band…

    Lindy sounds like fun, I don’t think I’ve ever done it. I am considering belly dancing. ATM.

  13. Oh, this class sounds like so much fun! I’m loving this Operation Happy you have going on!

    Your theme song – “I Could Be Happy” by Altered Images. Try to sit still for that one!

  14. Thoughts always get the best of me even at times when I am trying my hardest to keep them away. SHUT THE HELL UP! I love it. I will use that. Don’t let them win, Sizzle.

    I love that you are going dancing. Dancing truly does put me in a good mood almost guaranteed.

  15. Yay! I’m so excited for you! I totally can’t dance, but I took lessons when I arrived in NY. It was SO out of my comfort zone, but I loved every minute of it.

    Also, theme song: You’re So Damn Hot by OK Go. Not exactly swing, but I love it!

  16. Since this is Operation Happy, why not have “Get Happy” by June Christy or Judy Garland as your theme? Or Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate The Positive? I have three copies of that song, but my favorite is Bing Crosby & the Andrews Sisters.

  17. As I wrote a while back, I made the same challenge for myself and took a swing class. My advice: wear a cute dress, don’t try to cover yourself up because you’re scared people will think you’re too fat. I’ve found guys like girls in cute dresses at any size–I get way more requests to dance when I don’t cover myself up and dress like I like my body.

    Also, even if you’re one of the larger girls in your class, go to some dances. You won’t be the largest by a longshot, trust me.

  18. Good for you for putting in motion! The best way to get happy is to do the things you love to do, and give yourself things to look forward to. Have a blast!!

  19. I LOVE LOVE LOVE swing! You know what though? In all the classes I have taken, I have always felt ashamed of my weight and not been able to enjoy it. What a dumb barrier I created for myself.

    I love that you are taking a dance class! πŸ™‚

  20. yay! i ❀ dancing so much. yay! it's my favorite form of exercise. because it doesn't feel like it. it's art. it's sport. it's my best form of self expression.

Comments are closed.