Operation Happy: Take Two

Meet Etta:

etta the guitar

(Named after the woman I bought her from, not the pseudo-masturbating-on-stage-legend.)

Back story: When I was ten my parents bought me an acoustic guitar and payed for lessons. Unfortunately, I had the discipline of a gnat and didn’t practice enough even though I had natural talent (so said my teacher- I’m not just tooting my own horn). I kept that guitar until I moved here three years ago. For those of you who don’t feel like doing math, that’s 23 years that I kept that guitar.

And I never learned more than some Christmas carols and “When the Saints Go Marching In.”

I’ve always wanted to play an instrument and now seems like the perfect time to go after this childhood dream. Once my dance class is up, I’m signing up for lessons. Eventually maybe I will even get good enough to take requests and then we can have some video sing-a-longs. You might have to stick around for a couple years for that though.

35 thoughts on “Operation Happy: Take Two

  1. Spend 10-15 minutes a day working on chords- there are several good books & DVD programs out there. (Esteban’s course can be had cheaply on Craigslist) and within 6 months, you’ll be Rockin’! I have Faith in your Persistance. It’s all about technique. Spending a small amount of time just working on fingering will pay huge benefits!

  2. i took guitar lessons when i was a kid … i learned some song about how “all the gold in california is in a bank in the middle of beverly hills in somebody else’s name” … seriously, that is all i remember from that experience.

    i wish that i had learned piano. it’s odd that i didn’t because my mom was a great piano player … weird. i have a friend who has offered to teach me, but i love her too much to subject her to me as a pupil! 🙂

  3. You are like my inspiration Sizz, you do everything I have in my head that I want to do, but just….don’t. I would love to play the guitar, workout, take more classes, and I don’t know why I don’t! You keep at it, and writing about it, and I will force myself to take the leap (um, in the good way, not in the “end-it-all” kinda way)! :0)

  4. Taking music lessons as an adult was one of the best things I’ve done for myself. I too had the “natural talent” as a kid, but was scared off when the teacher bumped me from the grade school orchestra up into the high school. Oooh, the pressure.

    Now I play for fun: some weeks I’m good, and some weeks I’m horrible, and every week, I look forward to it. Enjoy!

  5. I’m sticking around! I’d actually like to put in a request from now: “You Really Got Me” by the Kinks and “Layla.” 🙂

  6. When I was younger, we had a family friend who spent a long time trying to teach me to play. I had no interest at all. I now have been wanting to learn for years and still haven’t done anything about it. I am kicking myself for not taking the free lessons when the woman wanted to give them to me and eventually when I have more free time, I am definitely going to learn.

    Good for you for trying so many new things lately. As my 5 year old would say “it’s good to try new things” (that always makes me laugh and has become my thing to say whenever it could possibly apply to the situation). I can’t wait to see videos of you playing!

  7. I think that’s great! I have a guitar too, but I don’t really have a knack for it, so I went and found something I did have some talent for, and I’ve been having a lot of fun 😉

    I bet your going to have a blast!

  8. Oh, excited for you! I bought a guitar ten years ago, took some lessons and…it now sits downstairs. I really should learn to play it 🙂

  9. You are seriously awesome. I so admire people with musical talent. I would like to request any U2 song. I hear they actually aren’t that hard to play. If you post a video of one, I promise to throw my bra at my computer when I watch it. 😛

  10. I always wanted to learn to play guitar. My dad bought me one for Christmas when I was 21. I never could teach myself and for some reason, I think that if I can’t teach myself, I can’t do it. One of my weird, detrimental, makes-no-fing-sense quirks.

    Can’t wait to hear some Sizzle originals!

  11. Hey, Silas is learning violin and I always wanted to play piano. We could have a trio and play all the cool coffee houses!

  12. “Not the pseudo-masturbating-on-stage-legend” makes me pee my pants every time….too freakin’ funny. Have fun fondling Etta, Operation Happy suits you well.

  13. Aaaaah! I’ve always wanted to play an instrument, too. I played the flute when I was younger, but the guitar (or banjo?) have always seemed cooler to me. Go go go!

  14. Oh man, that is adorable. I can see why you love your aunt job so much! They are so precious at that age! Then they get older. 😉

  15. Well then, if you’re going to pick up the guitar again, maybe I’ll have to dust off my old piano skills and set up this keyboard I inherited from my grandfather and learn how to play again. I should be ready for a video post about the same time you are. 😉

  16. Part of me wants desperately to take up guitar again. Then there’s the practical side that says if I can’t make time to play the Nintendo Wii or read books regularly or catch up on so many DVDs, how the hell can I expect to play guitar?

    You can play for both of us! Good luck with it, though. Seriously.

  17. Pingback: Strumming: Fulfilling a Life-long Dream | Sizzle Says

  18. Pingback: Strumming | Sizzle Says

Comments are closed.