It’s Happened

Remember how I mentioned that there was going to be a reunion of my elementary school chums and that I was going to miss it because I was going to my friend’s wedding?

Well, about that.

face on a stickI mentioned to an old pal of mine that I thought it would be all kinds of hilarious if someone were to blow up a picture of my face and put it on a stick and have people hold it in photos so that it’d be like I was there. She totally jumped at the idea so I sent her a face shot.Β  Then we made sure to exchange numbers so that she could essentially “live text” the event for me while I sat at home in the comfort of my apartment watching The Soloist and drinking wine.

Did I win out on this deal or what?

Throughout the night she’d email me photos which, to my horror, would both catapult me back into my awkward ‘tween years and make me feel grateful that I’d aged rather gracefully. Because seriously?Β  Why do all my old classmates look like THEIR PARENTS? Oh right, because we are basically the age of our parents when we all went to school together.

(When did we get old!? And why is time flying!?)

Truthfully, I could venture to guess they were probably thinking the same thing about me (via my head on a stick image). They were probably saying to themselves, “She sure looks like her Mom, Mrs. Skippy.” Because my Mom worked at our elementary school and also bore a striking resemblance to Annette Funicello who, at the time, was in all the Skippy Peanut Butter ads. True story.

Watch:

Ah, good ol’ 1984.

It’s interesting as a non-attendee to look at the photos from the reunion and hear the snippets of gossip about people’s lives (who is a homophobe, who is on their second marriage, who continually hooks up with addicts, who is half-out of her mind, who made out with whom in the bushes while intoxicated). It’s just made me think about what really matters. At first when I heard about this reunion I kind of panicked.Β  I’m too fat! I am not successful enough! I am not married/don’t have kids/don’t own a house/am not rich/am not famous!But all of that? That’s not real. That’s not what matters.

We’re all just people trying to make the best lives for ourselves. To deal with aging. To love other people. To be good humans. To work hard. To try to overcome our childhoods. Etc., etc., etc. It has actually made me stop and realize that I am really proud of my life. Not in comparison to other people’s supposed shortcomings but because IT IS MY LIFE. I live in a great city that affords me both culture and outdoorsy-ness. I have two awesome jobs that I am really good at that allow me to save for a house that will someday be all mine. I’ve got a great social circle and live a life of authenticity that is incredibly rewarding. I am close with my family. And maybe being single right now just means I’ve successfully avoided bad marriages (knock on wood). I never had anything to panic about. . . I was just too wrapped up in all the shoulds and supposed outside pressures.

I’m a little sad I didn’t get to go to the reunion. People have been emailing me saying I was missed and how they’d like to get together. I’m honestly touched. I guess I was actually more “popular” than I thought. That’s one good thing about aging- perspective.

Confessional P.S. The shy girl inside of me that felt overlooked and bullied back in grade school is gloating just a tad because her arch nemesis did not age gracefully. It’s not very nice to say but there’s a little satisfied smirk tugging at the corner of her mouth.

27 thoughts on “It’s Happened

  1. The pictures are funny. My arch nemesis did age gracefully, but it turns out she might be kind of nice, which makes me feel a little better, because she was so bitchy to me. I bet if I told her, she would feel bad. HA! And that makes me sleep better at night.

  2. I love how you have this great perspective but it doesn’t QUITE apply to your arch nemesis. I would feel the exact same way.

  3. You definitely do have so much to be proud of. I’d much rather walk through life being able to hold my head high knowing I got to where I am all on my own through hard work and great character … much more so than to have accomplished what society thinks I was supposed to accomplish with a tarnished reputation. I think it’s awesome you found a way to be included in the reunion in spirit even though you couldn’t be there in person!

  4. That paragraph? Where you say how we are all just People, trying to make the best lives for ourselves? YES. THAT.

    ((hugs you big time))
    See, things like that is what makes you special, and what I am sure made you a person the other attendees really *did* miss. You are doing well in life, never fear! Thank you for sharing all this today.

  5. We should all be a head on a stick at some point in our lives.

    I think it’s hilarious that you had an arch nemesis in grade school. (I think of 3rd grade Batman and Joker. Which were you?)

  6. You are wise, grasshopper…
    I’ve yet to go to even one of my reunions. Why? Because other people just haven’t gotten that idea through their heads yet. Yeah. That one. You are one fantastic woman and you have everything to be proud of. {{{hugs}}}

  7. What a great message you’ve conveyed. You’re so right about everyone just trying to make our ways along our own paths. And you should stand a little taller at the path you’ve carved out! Good for you for being authentic and not settling. Thanks for reminding me to keep ignoring the “shoulds.” πŸ™‚

  8. Oh, you are SO wise! I love “And maybe being single right now just means I’ve successfully avoided bad marriages”. Yes, definitely! There’s no rule that says you have to be married by 25 or 30 or whenever.

  9. I’m smirking right there with you. And did you SEE the size of her ass?

    I think she might have had one too many jars of aforementioned Skippy, yo.

    Can’t wait to see ya this weekend!!

  10. That pic is hilarious- what an awesome idea! I’m glad you wrote this post- I’m feeling better about my own life right now.

    Ha! Suck it, arch nemesis.

  11. OMG! Whenever I see old classmates, I am thinking the same thing: WHY DO THEY LOOK LIKE THEIR PARENTS? They seem so much older than me… even though we went to school togehter.
    I guess there are only two options:

    a) We just stayed young and the other people didn’t. (I PERSONALLY LIKE THAT.), or

    b) We are in denial.

    Heh.

  12. This post cracked me up. I started laughing in my office, and my boss came out of hers and was like, “What.” Instead of hiding my blatant lack of work ethic, I told her about your head on a stick attending your reunion. She then laughed, and asked me for my project. Eek. πŸ™‚

  13. I love those shining moments when I get out of my insecurity and really start realizing that I am creating a life that I want for myself and despite the comparative reality that happens so easily when we look at others lives, I like who I’ve become. I’ve got a good life. Good friends. Good things to be happy about in life. No need to feel insecure because there is a very long list of things to be grateful for.

    Your words reminded me of those moments. You were having one yourself. I love those feelings for myself and other people. Very cool.

  14. You’re a better person than me. I would tell myself all these things, but really, when the enemies from high school started surfacing on Facebook I wilted. 😦 Some day…maybe after more therapy…

  15. Okay, first, that was a fantastic idea. And second, you should be (and I know you are) so proud of you. And that you are so cute and not aged-looking at all. πŸ™‚

  16. That photo on a stick is such a great idea! It’s like you were there after all : )
    I agree, I think you have tons to be proud of and happy about. It’s your life and you have accomplished so much, you should enjoy it, no matter what other people expect or think. The bottom line is that we just have to please ourselves and be happy with that. You rock on Sizz!

  17. Ah school reunions sound like the worst idea- ever! Hehe. I think you had the best time in not going cos in person I bet the night was awful πŸ˜‰

    I totally agree with you about the perspective of things. When you take away everything you think other people think you should have then look at your life it seems like a wonderul place πŸ™‚

  18. I was going to ask about the arch nemesis.

    That sounds like a much better way to attend a get-together like that! And I am happy it reminded you how awesome you are for what you have achieved. We all have different goals and paths! As long as you are genuine during your journey, you are successful.

  19. You have to be the cutest head-on-a-stick EVER! How about some Sizzle lollies? And the Annette Funicello-ish mom? I used to put hearts in my own Skippy and pretend Annette did it. I did and still do think it is what she would have wanted πŸ˜‰

    I know what you mean about the arch nemesis… I really enjoy when I am back home and run into one of them working at a gas station or Burger King…

  20. Pingback: Take Me to Rancho Unicorno « Sizzle Says

Comments are closed.