Hit Puree

Wow, this week here at Sizzle Says has shaped up to be a bit like that scene in The Goonies when Chunk is forced to tell the Fratellis EVERYTHING in the back of their van.*

*I stand corrected: It was NOT in the back of the van but in the abandoned restaurant. Thanks AppleTree- you are the Goonies Master.

**This goes out to you my fellow Goonie lovers: Kerrianne and Loralee.

(What’s your favorite scene in this movie?)

(What’s your favorite line?)

(Please do not tell me you have never seen it. I don’t want to have to question our friendship.)

28 thoughts on “Hit Puree

  1. The Art Association hosted a viewing of The Goonies on the lawn outside our arts center Friday night…I had rehearsal, so I couldn’t go, but I was happy to see a lot of people turned out for it. I was surprised by how many of my co-workers said they’d never seen the film before…WTF? It was one of those movies that shaped my childhood, and I am definitely due to see it again soon!

  2. Ohhh. I must call a foul.

    Chunk wasn’t in the back of the van in this scene. They had taken him back to the abandoned restaurant.

    My nieces gave my little brother a t-shirt with Chunk’s whole monologue on it. Classic.

  3. i wanted SO BADLY to be a goonie and throw my stupid (but sort of cute) boyfriend’s letterman jacket into a bucket and have him pull it up the well while i worked my way towards kissing a much too much younger gentleman in a cave and then finding buried treasure and playing the piano to get us out of the way of, you know, DEATH.
    le sigh.

  4. One of my all-time faves — Sean Astin was my first celebrity crush in that movie (I was 11). I even swung by their house in Astoria.

    I have to admit that I still kind of get a kick out of how Mouth “translates” what the mom says to Rosalita.

  5. I can’t remember a favorite line, just that I developed my serious crush on Corey Feldman during this movie. And I really liked the Cindy Lauper song. And every time Mikey stuttered. Awwww, memories. 🙂

  6. 1. That is the best movie ever. EVER.

    2. Favorite line is “That’s my mom’s most favorite piece!” Referring to the penis that broke off her statue

  7. Yesssss. This is one of my all-time favorite scenes. Also, the scene where they first meet the Fratellis and Chunk is telling Mikey “This isn’t the type of place you want to go to the bathroom in, Mikey.”

    (Also, near the beginning where Mikey’s Mom is instructing their house-keeper and Mouth is (mis)translating in Spanish. “Always separate les drugas.” Haaa!)

  8. I’ll be honest – I have only seen Goonies a few times, as my Mom wouldn’t let me watch it as a kid because of the whole broken penis scene. Scandalous.

    My husband and I quite randomly shout, “Heeeey youuuuuu guuuuuys!” at times, if that redeems me somewhat.

  9. I’ve seen the movie and I think my favorite part is when they are in the cave. As a kid it creeped me out, as an adult, I just think it’s funny.

Comments are closed.