Los Angeles IS What’s Happening*

A week from today, I’ll be in L.A. visiting the Tomato. He harasses me all the time about how I never visit. He’s right. I do not love Los Angeles despite loving people who reside there. I can’t remember when the last time was that I was there? Definitely not since I moved to Seattle three years ago. How he remains my friend despite my lack of visiting is beyond me. It is a well known fact that he requires a lot of attention!

Apparently, I was Emo before Emo was a word.

Apparently, I was Emo before Emo was a word.

This is Tomato and I circa 1996. Thirteen years ago when I was blonde, thin and, it appears, very melancholy. Maybe I was posing so as to demonstrate my infinite sadness that Tomato, my high school boyfriend, actually likes boys. Maybe I was upset about my brown roots- they were pretty bad. This was what I refer to as my Sharon Stone period. Though I never flashed while underwearless in a skirt. (That I can recall.)

All of this is to say that HEY! LOS ANGELES PEOPLES! I am coming to your city. Maybe we should grab a drink? Let me know if you want in on the details by commenting. I promise to wear underwear when we meet.

Or not.

For further reading, I’m hiring my friend Matt as my PR Man or maybe my PIMP. (I’m warning you now that the post has to do with sexual things.)

*Blatantly stolen from a Jurassic 5 song.

28 thoughts on “Los Angeles IS What’s Happening*

  1. I think you were channeling your inner Samantha Ronson in that photo. Hahaha – I kid. I love that photo of you, two. And hope that despite the location, you have a wonderful time with your high school bud.

  2. Oh LA. Such a fascinating place. Great to visit, glad I don’t live.

    Love the retro pic too. I need to get some scanned for public viewing pleasure too.

    BTW, I found your blog through my friends Jacynth and Sandra. Fun reading!

  3. Hey now, LA has some redeeming qualities! πŸ˜‰ Although it’s pretty murky here right now with all the smoke. I would LOVE to meet up with you at some point during your visit – drinks, coffee, a good cry – whatever sounds best. You know where to find me.

  4. Wow, that is a really cool picture, miss Emo extraordinaire!

    I missed your show last night 😦 Thank God for itunes.

    Have a great time in L.A. Don’t turn into a yuppie!

  5. WHOAWEE! You are awesome in blonde!

    Just mentioning 1996 gives me flashbacks of the show Friends, Pearl Jam, mary janes in short mini skirts, No Doubt, Millions of Peaches … Millions and Millions of PEACHES!

  6. Flashing while underwear-less in a skirt has it’s moments, right? Probably not flashing cops, but otherwise! πŸ™‚
    Have a great time in L.A. It is one of those places that I like until I don’t, and then I’m done. A few days to see people you love is perfect!

  7. That picture is so super-fantastic. TOTALLY an ad for a new teen drama on Fox in the 90’s. πŸ™‚
    I liked LA, but in fairness, I only drove through it on a Sunday, ate at In-N-Out Burger, and flew out of LAX. So I don’t think I had a good sample of the culture.

  8. I don’t think I have ever been to Los Angeles. In fact I had to look at your title to make sure I spelled it correctly because it always looks wrong to me. Anyway, have a great time! I wish I could hang out with you again!

  9. My best friend and I planned ahead for our junior year photo.

    “Don’t smile,” we cautioned one another.

    We wanted to look serious, oh-so-very-serious.

    It was 1987 and we wore all black to show how serious we were about being serious.

    Seriously. I mean it.

Comments are closed.