Sure Hope You Mean It

I woke up to a text from my boss asking me to log into my work email to check for something. Bleary eyed and vacation-brained, I attempted to type my password SIX TIMES to no avail. I texted my boss saying I would try again later because it wouldn’t let me in and that’s when she told me she had my password changed. A tidbit of information that would have been useful earlier! Not that there is anything bad in my email but I feel kind of violated that they can check it.

It’s really only day three of my vacation but I’m already staying up late (woo hoo! midnight! paaaaarty!) and getting up late (woo hoo! 8:30! wild woman!). I’ve spent two full days at Bumbershoot listening to all sorts of great music with friends. New loves include: Carrie Rodriguez, Elvis Perkins, Matt & Kim (you are SO right about them, Dave). Rekindled loves include: World Party and De La Soul and RAPHAEL SAADIQ. His was the best set I saw. It is impossible for me to hear his music and not dance. At one point, I had to turn around and tell The Fella that I could hear HIM singing louder than Raphael. That about sums up how much we think his music rocks.

One thing I did learn is that in my “old age” I am not fit for two whole days of crowds, standing and battling long lines. I’ve totally turned into that person who prefers an intimate venue with sit down seating. Le sigh. There seemed to be an inordinate amount of young people at the festival. Like during the De La Soul set when they asked the audience if we remembered what we were doing in 1989 (they were celebrating the 20 year anniversary of their first album 3 Feet High and Rising) and I looked around and realized that more than 75% of the crowd probably wasn’t born yet. Add to that the fact that the majority of them had zero concert-going manners. And while I’m bitching about them, what is with kids these days rolling joints or chugging 40s out in the open? At least when I was their age we employed this thing called DISCRETION.

I saw Inglorious Basterds which was brutal but funny and well done. Plus, we went to the theater that serves booze which is TOTALLY the best way to watch a flick. Today I am meeting up with Kaply for a little girlie time- mani/pedis. I might do some thrift store shopping. And then I better get my act together and do some laundry and pack because tomorrow is Los Angeles. Yes!

I could seriously get used to this.

32 thoughts on “Sure Hope You Mean It

  1. Have fun! I totally get the large crowd thing with Bumbershoot, my patience was minimal. But I have rolled a few spliffs at these events. Sometimes you just need a toke! Or I did when I was younger anyway…I guess that is where the ‘younger’ etiquette comes into play.

  2. …aws! …we are going to miss you sizz! …i am glad you had such a great time at the shows over the weekend 🙂

  3. If you ever come to Austin, I will take you out to Alamo Draft House (drafthouse.com) where not only do they have beer, but a full bar and a very awesome cinema-inspired menu (Fried Green Tomatoea? Absolutely). They took out every other row of seats and replaces with tables so you could order and eat/drink through the movie.

    Dinner and a show on steroids.

  4. oh man, i SO turn into a Crotchety Old Lady around The Youth Of Today, which is especially apparent at concerts. i start getting all huffy about how their mothers let them out of the house looking like that, and how trampy and rude they all are… then i go puff grumpily on my cigar and ask someone to help me to my rocker.

  5. Now THAT is the way to go about your life.

    They have movie theaters there that sell booze?! Can you say traveling RT job to Seattle after graduation? Cause I can.

    Have fun in LA!

  6. I’m a little uncomfortable with your boss changing your pw. I mean, I get it, but, come on.

    I totally get it with the music fest. I am, sadly, way to old for that shit. I went to a show on Sunday and it started at 10. I was like, wha . . . ? I almost didn’t go just because I didn’t think I could take it.

    I hope you have a great vacation! (I know you will.) Have lots of fun and save up great stories for us 🙂

  7. Sounds like an awesome way to kick-start your vacation. I’m with you re. kids at concerts. I like to think *we* were better behaved … though I’m probably fooling myself. Big big sigh. Hope the tootsies look great and may you have safe travels to la la land!

  8. Your boss texting you to check your email, just so that she could tell you that she changed it, sounds like a real penis! When you get back, you should ask her why she felt it was necessary to interrupt your vacation; then ask her if it’s OK to call her in the middle of her vacation to tell her that someone left the lights on in the office. . .

  9. I loved bumbershoot when i lived in seattle. back when I first when in ’95 the lines weren’t nearly what they are now. it was really fun and mellow and there was no need for wristbands and you didn’t have to wait in any lines. it was awesome. i’m like you now though. I like assigned seating and sitting down and relaxing between acts. I used to be the girl would get right in there and fight for the front row. Ahhhh, not so much anymore. 🙂

  10. I find it weird that your boss can change your password. Is that normal, and I’m just naive? Don’t answer that until after you get back from your vacation, though. Have an amazing time, and if our paths cross while you’re here in lalaland, that would be awesome.

  11. Can’t stand the kids at concerts. And I say we’re not “old” they are just “wicked immature.”
    Have fun in LA!

  12. Watching a movie while someone brings you drinks and food is the best. It has spoiled me so much that for me to watch a movie outside my house, these are now requirements. Otherwise, I’ll wait for Netflix.

  13. I give you credit for braving two days of Bumbershoot in our weather last weekend. We didn’t go for the very reason that you mentioned — we can’t stand the crowds, lines and dealing with idiots and no one was playing that we liked well enough to tolerate it.

  14. My god, I grew to old and cantankerous for Bumbershoot many years ago, but I have many fond memories of great shows seen during the festival.

    We saw Inglorious Basterds a few weeks back. I surprised myself by absolutely loving it. So incredibly well done that I barely minded all the gore.

  15. I am cracking up about your stuff about concerts and kids these days. I was at the park with my kids last night and thinking the same thing about how when I was that age, I wouldn’t have dared to be so open about things I was doing. But maybe we weren’t quite as discreet as we thought we were? Maybe kids (some, not all) these days are just spoiled brats who think they can do whatever they want? Either way, it sounds like you are having a great time and I am so happy for you!

Comments are closed.