Scenes From a Weekend

Bird & Rae Rae were here for the weekend. (HURRAY!)

gussied

When the three of us get together there is no shortage of conversation. Bird and Rae Rae, who met in graduate school, often lose themselves in conversations that have to do with race, class and gender intersection/dissection/some sort of section. They use big words and sound very smart (because they are). Meanwhile, I’m singing along to the radio or lost in a day dream. (Maybe it’s a good thing I never went to grad school?)

Unfortunately for them, I had raging PMS so there were a few moments where I. . . how do I say it? Lost my effen shit. Like when we were waiting on the street corner for a cab (a CAB not a john) already late to our dinner reservation and I realized that I left the theater tickets in the apartment. GAH! As we hurried back I think I said something like, “I don’t even want to go anymore.” I am such an asshole sometimes. Luckily, we’ve been friends for so long we know how to manage each other’s episodes. Exhibit A:

Me: I feel better.

Bird: Good. Because before you were being a fucking snatch.

Ah, I love my friends.

Other highlights include: getting beat up during an awesome $29 massage (my shoulder blades still hurt), sharing our life lists over dinner, laughing our asses off at a vibrator tutorial video, toe-deep in toilet water while actively plunging an over-used toilet with Rae Rae while Bird slept through the entire disaster (convenient!), sleeping next to Bird who wraps her head in a black garment as to block out the light but to me looks like a prisoner of war (at least it keeps Dash from eating her hair while she slumbers), laughing and more laughing.

The apartment is too quiet without them.

P.S. I will be co-hosting The Baub Show with Tomato tonight, 7pm PST.

20 thoughts on “Scenes From a Weekend

  1. Snatch?! Oh hell that is funny! I haven’t heard that word used in forever.
    I love friends who call you out if you are being a shit. I don’t have enough of those.

  2. I more to comment on, but then you said “awesome $29 massage” and all my thoughts went out the window. SO need that right now.
    Love honest friends!

  3. You definitely had a great weekend. And I love hearing your “I don’t even want to go anymore” comment. We all get whiney now and then, don’t we? It’s nice to be around friends who can outlast it.

  4. ah. good friends are those who will tell you you’re being a snatch, and not hold the snatchiness against you.

    (HAHA. how dirty does that sound? “she held the snatch against me.” SNORT.)

  5. I’m glad you had such a great time!

    I do that thing “I don’t even want to go anymore”. Ugh.

  6. aww sounds like you had so much fun šŸ™‚ It’s sort of sad when they go home and you’re all alone again isn’t it? I loved my last stay-over visit from friends šŸ™‚

  7. You know how I’m always complaining (that might not be the right word) how I never do anything interesting. Now I can casually mention that Granny and I went to a club in Hollywood on Sunday night. No big thing. Just hanging out. At a club. In Hollywood. Yes, me, Gramps.

    Everybody else had vodka cranberry. I had beer.

  8. Pingback: Seattle’s Newest Edition « Sizzle Says

Comments are closed.