Mini-Break*

“What brings you to Salish?”

“ROMANCE!”

As we were waiting in line to check in we kept hearing the front desk people ask guests that question. I whispered to Bachelor #4, “When they ask us that, I’m going to say ROMANCE.” And I did. Because it made him laugh and I love to make him laugh.

The hospitality clerk was amused and laughed along with us. She joked in a conspiratory tone that it was too bad it was not Valentine’s Day weekend as apparently you can walk through the halls and hear the babies being made. “We’re known for baby making here.” Cough! We’re not in hot pursuit of that particular outcome thankyouverymuch.

A few minutes after we had arrived in our (gorgeous!) room, the phone rang. It was the front desk girl checking to make sure we’d made it there and that it was too our liking. “Someone wants to menage a trois with us,” I said giggling.

There was a gigantic fluffy bed, a fire place, a bottle of sparkling white wine, and a tub fit for two. We got dolled up and shared an intimate late dinner in The Dining Room. We ate breakfast in bed in our robes. We sucked the marrow out of every decadent minute and it was bliss.

The falls were pretty spectacular too.

Perfect getaway weekend.

Though they should sell a shirt that says, “I went to Salish Lodge and came home with a boyfriend.”

*As defined by Bridget Jones, a mini-break is a romantic weekend holiday. Could it be that I have found my Mr. Darcy?

I'm teaching him about the art of self-portraiture. Lesson #1: try looking at the camera.


64 thoughts on “Mini-Break*

  1. Well Played Sizzle,Well Played! I think I speak for all your readers by saying We are ALL delighted to hear you are in a relationship with, what seems to be a sweet,smart & funny guy! Please tell him I am and have been a reader of both comics and Graphic Novels, so I am his target audience!Anyway, Congradulations!

  2. Mini-break success is being toasted here on the East Coast. And I see nothing wrong with giving him the nickname Darcy…but I’m a hopeless romantic. Huzzah and congrats…you deserve it 🙂

  3. I’ve been wanting to go there for years, but just haven’t managed to make it happen. This post made me resolve to go there for a mini-break as soon as our budget allows for it. Or I should say as soon as I can make room for it in the budget! Also, loving the cute hair! I wish short hair worked for me, but I seem to be destined for boring shoulder length-ish layers.

  4. Aww, yeay, Sizz! Sounds much better than (my) over night in a yurt in November, haha!!! 😉 (OK, it was at the ocean and nice, but still…) XO!

  5. You are absolutely adorable. Mr. Darcy looks a little camera shy but he is very cute cuddled up to you. Congratulations!

  6. I can’t think of anything clever to say, so I’ll just go with letting you know that I can’t help but smile when reading this and seeing your pictures.

    (I am so glad you had a good time!!)

  7. It is a bit rediculous how happy I am for a stranger on the internet. After a really rough yesterday, I’m so so happy to read this. You deserve it!

  8. Pingback: Remembering the Start « Sizzle Says

Comments are closed.