Fitting

I went over to my Mom’s on Saturday to pick her up and our conversation went something like this:

“What’s going on here?” I say pointing towards her boobs.

“Oh this bra is old. It doesn’t fit very well.”

“I’ll say. We need to get you sized for a proper fitting bra.”

“No. I’ll just buy my usual.”

“No, we’re going to stop at the store and have someone measure you. The right sized bra can be life altering. It could make you look like you’ve lost 5lbs!”

“I already lost 5lbs. I don’t want to go.”

“Congratulations on losing 5lbs. It could make you look like you’ve lost 10lbs then! We need to go.”

“I don’t want to.”

“Why?”

“Because I don’t want to.”

“That isn’t even a reason. You don’t even have to get undressed. They just measure over your clothes around the circumference to figure out the right size.”

“How do they figure it out?”

“I don’t know.Β  It’s math. I don’t like math. You need a better bra and I am going to buy you one.”

“I’m not sure. . .”

“Listen, Oprah says that over 75% of women are wearing the wrong size bra and you’re apparently one of them. Look, you just made me invoke Oprah and you know I don’t even like her! We’re going.”

“Well, okay. . .”

We never made it to the movie we intended to see because we were too busy buying bras and underpants. Isn’t that what you do with your mom? Here I am at almost 37 years old taking my mom bra shopping when twenty-something years ago she did the same for me. Funny how the tables turn as we get older.

The good news is my Mom is now wearing the right sized bra. Hallelujah!

P.S. Mom? I’m sorry for writing about your bra and boobs on my blog. Well, sort of. Consider it a public service announcement. πŸ˜‰

35 thoughts on “Fitting

  1. See, Men NEVER have these same moments! We don’t take our Dads Underwear shopping! I’d be Jelous, but that would be Wrong! Anyway, I’m Happy to hear that all the undergarments are fitting well, Generation to Generation! πŸ™‚

  2. Bra shopping – my worst nightmare. They either don’t have my size or have horrible fitting bras.

    Taking your mom is both fabulous and priceless!

  3. i did that for a friend after she’d had her first baby. she was MUCH smaller than she thought she was. all because her mom didn’t know how to shop for bras for her more well endowed daughter. my mom took me to penny’s. the old lady came in my dressing room, left the door open, had me remove my shirt (thank goodness for training bras) and measured me. embarrassing, yes. proper bra size, priceless.

  4. Jeez, what’s with our moms not wanting to wear a proper-fitting bra? My mom buys her bras at Ross and Marshall’s without trying them on, then if they don’t fit (and they usually don’t), she just throws them away or tries to give them to me. I think I need to have this fitting intervention with my mom the next time she’s here, or I’m there. Yikes.

    Also: I’m due for a fitting now that I’m pretty much done nursing. I have no idea what’s happening in my chest region these days. Double yikes.

  5. I agree, a proper bra fitting can be SO important.
    And my mom and I have bra conversations, too. Except they’re more like:
    “Mom, you need to be wearing a bra.”
    “Why? I’m just running to the store.”
    “Mom!”

    She is one of the lucky few that doesn’t necessarily NEED a bra because she’s a small, skinny woman (God knows why I didn’t inherit that gene) but in my eyes, ALL MOM’S NEED BRAS ON AT ALL TIMES. πŸ™‚

  6. I had my very first bra fitting a couple years ago, and found out that it wasn’t the fit around my chest I was getting wrong, but my cup size. I wasn’t the C I thought, but after having my two kids, had gone up a size.

    My bras fit so much better after that. I should do this with my mom sometime, if I could convince her to let me buy her one.

    Sounds like a fun time. And the movie will still be there!

  7. Getting a professional bra fitting changed my life. I had been guessing at the incorrect size for years and was shocked to learn my actual size. But finding the right size & style for me has made my clothes fit better, improved my posture, and actually made me no longer dread bra shopping. Although what really blew my mind was when I bought a new bra this past fall and as the sales clerk was ringing me up she told me how to store it & how not to store it. Um, who knew there was a right & wrong way to store bras? And that I’d been doing it wrong for the last 20 years?!

  8. I’ve never been fitted and I’m pretty sure that I’m one of the women wearing the wrong bra size. I hate bra shopping. I don’t even try them on – I go into a store, eyeball a bra, and buy it if it looks like it’s in or around my size.

  9. I love that you guys had this conversation and then went and did it! She’s gotta feel like a new woman now. I know I did!

    Also, the comment above me? I wanna grab Hillary and take her to a fitting And then for drinks and laughs. Where is that girl? Let’s get her! πŸ™‚

  10. β€œWhat’s going on here?” I say pointing towards her boobs.

    best line ever!

    bra “shopping” with my mom consisted of her giving me her little-worn bras. needless to say, i was uncomfortable, on multiple levels, for many years.

  11. My mom worked at Nordstrom in the lingerie dept. She’s retired now, but she still helps me with my bras. I’m very fortunate! (Although if she ever sees me wearing a bad or ill-fitting bra, she’s all over me.) A good bra that fits right can change your life.

  12. Because of my *ample* chest I only ever go to decent lingerie stores for bras (and buy $20.00 shoes to compensate). It’s a miracle- I’m a different size bra in every brand. And the right size really does make you look awesome.
    Good job for making her go!
    xo

  13. It’s true–I used to work in a store that sold lingerie and I can’t tell you how often I encountered women wearing the wrong bras size. Most were in a cup that was too small and a band that was too big. Also, most bras lose their “oomf” after 6-8 months so the majority of women need to replace their bras more often.

  14. Getting the right bra ROCKED MY WORLD. I told my mom about it, and she went in… and decided that she “didn’t want to be her correct size.” So she is still wearing the wrong size.

    Sigh.

  15. i hate my bras 😦
    I will have to go get measured because for some reason i’m wearing the wrong size. Not that anybody’ll notice thou…

  16. Here is what I want to know. Where does a person even go to get measured???? I think I’m wearing the right size bra, and lets face it, even if I’m not it doesn’t make any difference at all since there is nothing to support. You know, I guess a bra for me is like emotional support or something. But anyway, I’d hate to be wearing the wrong size of a useless bra, you know?

  17. I gotta agree with everyone here–wearing the proper fitting bra is a life-altering experience! And I have also had trouble getting my friends to go with me. One friend went with me, and found out she was a much bigger cup size than she wanted to be, AND that because of her frame, she should probably have at least one underwire bra in her collection. She got mad at me. She’s still wearing ill-fitting sports bras everywhere.

  18. I miss bra shopping with Mom, mainly because that meant she would pick up the tab.

    But your post did remind me that I need to get re-fitted since I’ve put on some weight.

  19. That’s a much better shopping trip than the first and last time I went bra shopping with my mom. I was 13 and pretty developed. She took me to that Secret place to replace my long-outgrown training bra that my stepmother still had me wearing. We got in the dressing room, I took my shirt off, and she hollered out, “Jeez, I wasn’t even that big when I was pregnant with you!” I think it’s an understatement to say I was mortified.

  20. As someone who has worked in a lingerie store for years I thank you for taking care of your mom’s boobs like that! So many many many women wear the wrong sized bras, and have no idea how much better they can look wearing the right sized ones. I had to drag my 80 year old aunt kicking and screaming into a store that sold her proper size (38 E – she was wearing a 36 C and refused to admit she was larger), at least I could measure her at home so she didn’t have to open herself up to a stranger measuring her.

  21. Wow, that would NEVER happen with my Mom but we don’t have that kind of relationship. When I got to be about thirteen my Mom went out, bought a couple of training bras and gave them to me in a brown paper bag and told me to start wearing them and shopping for them. I’m sure that I’m another one who is probably wearing the wrong size bra but I don’t know exactly how much it matters since I’m so flat chested I’m practically concave. πŸ™‚

  22. I don’t think I could ever go bra-shopping with my mom again. She took me the very first time and become very pissed when at twelve, I already had bigger boobs than her…

  23. I’m always being measured for the right sized bra because I have… um… the large kind of boobs πŸ˜‰ There is nothing worse than have a cracked back and bad posture because your bra ain’t anchoring them into place!

  24. I consider bra shopping to be a very personal form of torture.
    When I was 17 I was thrust (against my will) into the arms of an overzealous Afrikaans Jockey employee for sizing. It was incredibly damaging to my psyche.
    Beyond this, I am convinced that no one makes my ideal size.
    99% of the time I find that I’m relegated to the old lady, fat chick aisle (yes there’s only ever one aisle) where it’s all about muted beige, nude and skin tones with two inch wide straps and minimising abilities.
    What I would give for a plus size push up bra.

Comments are closed.