Work It

My life is basically all about work right now.

I’m five days away from our biggest fundraiser of the year. A luncheon that has over 1,200 guests (compared to last year when we had about 750) that is slated to raise $700,000 (compared to last year where we raised roughly $525,000). Needless to say, the pressure is on and my focus is there. Even when I am at home, my mind is running through my event checklist. I suppose I can thank my over-active mental state to the fact that I remembered JUST IN TIME that we didn’t include the lead sponsors on the thank you card. Three separate people reviewed the proof and none of us caught it. I scrambled and called up the printer saying, “Stop the presses!”

I’ve always wanted to say that.

Have you ever tried to manage a guest list of 1,200 people? It’s basically mind bending. If you’re into that kind of thing, I highly recommend it.

Lately, when I walk in the door of my apartment I just want to collapse. I’ve probably been at work 10 hours minimum already and worked the weekend. So no real reprieve. I want mindless TV and a glass (or 3) of wine. But of course that’s not what I’ve been getting. More like psuedo-panic attacks at the thought of the mountain of stuff I am not getting done around my home, around the building and in my personal life. When you’re already operating in overwhelm, it doesn’t take much to push you over the edge.

Or maybe that’s just me.

I had to give a tenant a three day pay or evict notice. I do not like doing this one bit. He’s decided to move out which means he’ll narrowly avoid getting thrown out for insufficient rent payment but that also means I have an apartment to rent. During my busiest week of the year. And Mr. Darcy and I are planning to escape to Portland next weekend for a much needed togetherness time in a nice hotel (thanks for the hook up Kerri!) and so he can see one of my favorite places and meet some of my favorite people. I don’t want to cancel this trip so I can sit around hoping people will want to view the unit.

Except, that’s kind of my job.

Besides that, other building things have cropped up- a door off its hinge, again with the pot smoker/dealer dude, a discovered leak under a sink, and painters who park in my driveway without notifying me which as we all know already really, really ticks me off. And insult to injury- the painter dude insulted me saying he “fixed” the vacuum and that he ran it because the floor was filthy. That guy is a liarhead. He should be glad I did not punch him in the face. I do not keep a filthy building! But like I said, it doesn’t take much to throw me over the edge right now.

Five more days.

Then it’s show time.

20 thoughts on “Work It

  1. Just remind yourself you’re an old pro at this stuff. Seriously! Focus on work, because that’s what should be your priority for the next week. The other stuff? If it can slide a few more days, let it. No one died from a slightly dirty floor (otherwise, I would’ve kicked the bucket years ago).

    xoxo

  2. I know this has been so tough for you, in new and unique ways even, but I also know that you’ve done great work and it will be great in turn! Hang in there! Everything else will be fine waiting in the wings.

  3. Ugh. You’ll get this stuff done and I hope you can enjoy an awesome trip to Portland without work stress getting in the way. Good luck with the event!

  4. Maybe the floor was so filthy because dude made a mess trying to fix it. I bet that’s what it was.

    I think you should go on your Portland trip, regardless. You don’t want to wind up wearing yourself all the way down. All work and no play makes for meanyheads- and you aren’t a meanyhead. I can tell. So, you should go play for a day or two.

  5. I hated handing out those eviction notices. So awkward…
    I hope you and your fella have no problem getting away. Sounds like you need it!

  6. I say you should ask the painter guy if he can come back and do the same thing every Tuesday and Friday for the next 3 months. And in return, you’ll avoid kicking him in his groinal region. Seems like a good deal to me! 😀

    I bet the fundraiser is going to be freaking AWESOME. Hang in there, Siz! You’re almost there!!!

  7. you are one busy lady, my friend. you always seem to get it all done, though – you can do it again! keep that trip to portland, darn it..

  8. Is liarhead a Finn saying? Cause I’m stealing it!
    Hey, if in the midst of romantical weekend and meeting up with all your other Portland peeps you’ve got some down time, I’ll be up there too!

  9. What a rude painter guy! What the hell does he care if the floor is filthy anyway? What a git! I hope you didn’t let him get away it.

  10. You’re so close! 🙂 And it sounds like you are handling things the best you could, even though it’s all so crazy! I hope you do get to escape to Portland next week!

  11. I can’t believe it’s only 5 more days until the big event! That came up quickly! I usually strive for balance in all things, but every once in a while, shit just needs to wait and all energy goes toward one thing, like the big event. You’re totally going to make it, Sizz.

    And that painter guy is on my last nerve. That guy is a dick.

  12. I feel your pain. I am too swamped with work and in a crunch for time. But I do hope your Portland trip doesn’t get canceled. It’s always useful to rest a bit before we set off again. Hang in there Sizz!

  13. What others will flub gloriously, you always pull off with such grace. Have a great event! And I really hope you and Mr. Darcy have your getaway. 🙂

Comments are closed.