Sounds fun, eh?

Did I tell you Mr. Darcy and I are Vancouver-bound? We leave at the ripe hour of 7:40am tomorrow morning via the train. This is somewhat painful for Mr. Darcy as he is not a morning person. I’m pretty sure we’ll grab our seats and he will promptly fall back to sleep. It’s a good balance between us- I navigate the morning and he takes care of the night. And besides, between all the apps I’ve downloaded on my iPhone and my book club book I will have plenty to occupy myself while he slumbers beside me.

I have visited Vancouver once before many years ago with my sister. That was back when I was not even a Washington resident and Dokey and Double B were new transplants to Seattle. I am excited to go and see the city with new eyes, along with my love who has never been. We are staying near Stanley Park and plan to do a lot of exploring of the city. So far we do not have an agenda for the trip except for attending TequilaCon Saturday night at Steamworks Brewing Company. It’ll be a great time with some awesome bloggers- many of whom I already call friend. But for the rest of the time it’s about Mr. Darcy and I vacationing together. He’s been very stressed out about work stuff and I’m just over-worked period so we’re going to take the trip as it comes and just BE together away from obligations. If I don’t respond to your emails or texts despite the fact that I now have an iPhone just chalk it up me being distracted by romance.

Ah, love.

If you’ve been to Vancouver before, feel free to recommend any sites, restaurants or must-sees or give us any tips about the city. And if you’re going to be at TequilaCon, I’ll see you soon!

29 thoughts on “Sounds fun, eh?

  1. Do you feel like coming to a super cool African dance party tonight? It’ll be at the Anza Club, which is in East Van. It’s hosted by an organization that’s working in a slum in Mombasa, Kenya to work to bring a clinic that can distribute government-supplied medications to the community. 3 West 8th Avenue at 8pm! 🙂

    Other things to do: go explore Commercial Drive! I guess you could compare it to the U district but ten times cooler… Have fun!

  2. Yay! Can’t wait to see you! And meet Mr. Darcy!

    Kerri, Jen, Hans and I are planning on hitting Granville Island for brunch on Sunday. You two are welcome to join us – Granville Market is rad. 🙂

  3. This DOES sound like fun. And I like the Canadian “eh” in the title. I’ve never been to Vancouver but it’s definitely on my list!

  4. It’s been a looooong time since I was in Vancouver so I can’t really recommend any sites to see. I’m sure there are lots of Olympic stuff still up!
    I hope you two have a very relaxing trip.

  5. I love Vancouver. Haven’t been in forever, but I remember it being such a manageable city. I’m sure you’re going to have a blast. If I were you, I’d just turn off that iPhone for the weekend. =)

  6. I love Vancouver – we drove out there and back for our honeymoon, and it was by far my favourite place we stopped (other than perhaps Winnipeg, but only because it was my home way back when I was a child)…

    A walk around Stanley Park is a must. And since you’re staying near there, easily enough done 🙂

    There is an amazing Indian Food place on Broadway called Maurya. We enjoyed it. Or, my brother recommends Vij’s on 11th Ave.

    And if you like clothes (which I’m sure you do) there is a local designer plus size store called Bodacious that has AMAZING clothes for the curvy girl: http://www.bodacious.ca/ I bought my still favourite little black dress there. And it has held up well over almost two years of wear.

  7. Don’t forget your father was a Canadian born and raised so by birth you can call it home – I remember going to Stanley Park, there is a great Zoo too. Beware of the over friendly squirrels who will even steal your ice cream cone right from your hand. Count how many times they say ‘ay’ at the end of their sentences – used to drive me crazy with your dad!

  8. I was going to recommend Steamworks 😉 Awesome beer! My favourite is Coal Porter. If you’re a pizza fan you should also check out the Flying Wedge–there are a few locations downtown.

    Have a great time!

  9. I love Vancouver, but I’m sad to say it has been something like 6 years since I’ve so much as been there for an overnight trip. Last time we were there we stayed at a great little hotel that I’ve forgotten the name of, and stumbled across a lovely restaurant that I also can’t remember the name of. I’m super helpful! Stanley Park is always a winner though!

  10. Have a wonderful time! There is much to do, of course, but I loved taking the ferry to Granville Island and shopping around there (also some amazing desserts and other food in the market, if I recall correctly). 🙂

  11. Also, if you’re staying near Stanley Park you’ll be near Denman Street which is a great street for little shops and restaurants. There’s a British pub called Dover Arms (I think … definitely something Britishy) that has a great (cheap) breakfast. And there’s a Cupcakes on Denman. And a Vera’s Burger Shack. And there used to be a a little restaurant called Wild Garlic that does an amazing roasted garlic fondue but I’m not sure if it’s still there (it was at the Georgia end of Denman.)

  12. If you’re staying near Stanley Park, I’d suggest a walk around the Seawall in Stanley Park (it’ll take between 1-2 hours depending how fast you walk and how much you want to stop to take photos) – it’s an easy walk with gorgeous views! There’s a great new restaurant on Denman Street called Nook, it’s an Italian restaurant, good prices and GREAT food. Good wine list too. You should check it out! And definitely go to Granville Island on Sunday with Angella.

  13. Awe that sounds like so much fun! Mr. W lived there for 6 months while working on a movie…and may be moving back there for another movie later this year. Perhaps if he goes, you and Mr. Darcy can take the train again and come visit when I’m in town! Hope you have a great trip!

  14. My parents made us leave for every single family vacation no later than 5:30 a.m. Leaving at 10 is still one of the great joys of my adult life.

    When I visited Vancouver a few years ago, I had fun at the aquarium. The beluga whales are the awesomest fat dolphins you’ll ever meet.

  15. harbour centre take the elevator to the top and enjoy 360 degress of awesome picture time,

    have some poutine for me at NYFries at the mall for me.

  16. I feel like such a host that you guys are all coming up to my town! 😀

    As many already said it, Stanley Park and the seawall is a must. If you decide to walk the circumference of the park, it takes roughly 1 hour, just so you have a reference point.

    LOTS, and I mean LOTS of places for food. It’s all depends on what you’re aiming for. Sushi joints are EVERYWHERE, especially around Stanley Park area. Most of them are quite good so if you like sushi, you should give it a try. There’s also a Teppan restaurant call “Kobe” in downtown, not too far from where you’re staying. It’s slightly expensive, but the experience is kinda cool. So I’ll recommend that too.

    Can’t wait to meet you tomorrow!

  17. Oh me oh my! I love Vancouver. My favorite restaurant is the Tapas Tree. It is all foodie and local and delightful. Bit of a hole in the wall, but we’ve been there three times now and I’ve never had a bad experience.

    Yahoo for vacationing!

Comments are closed.