Finnology 2

This is an inadvertent guest post from my Mom.

Finn is a Super Hero. (Please excuse my messy office cubicle. But hey, at least I have capes lying around!)

She picks up Finn from school and most days will email Dokey, Double B and I some tidbit he’s shared. It is usually hilarious because my nephew, as well as being freaking adorable and smart as a whip, is a total crack up. Please keep in mind that Finn is not yet four years old.

So yesterday she emails us this:

Today I picked up our happy little man Finn who was seen hugging and kissing in the playground with his girlfriend Nadia. Actually, he was trying to sweep with a broom just his size as one of the teachers was sweeping the leaves off the walkway and Nadia kept hooking him with her arm around his neck and kissing him until he gave up and laid down on the sidewalk.ย  She followed and they both laid there in the sun shine smiling up at the sky. Priceless moment for a Grandma.

When we got in the car and had our usual conversation which went something like-

“How was school today?’

“Ok. I got a cookie today but it didn’t have sugar in it.”

“Did you see any birds today? I saw a hummingbird last night at dusk right before it gets dark. They must like to eat before they sleep.”

“Well actually they are probably nocturnal.”

I laughed and said, “Do you know what that means?”

He said, “It means that they sleep during the day and are awake at night!”

I said ‘very good Finn’ but I am actually thinking “Holy Crap! This kid is smart!”

But then we somehow get to the topic of penises.

(INTERJECTION: This happens to me all the time. Penises have a way of cropping up in conversation. Clearly this is genetic.)

I told him I got the pictures out of our trip to the Trek and there is a picture of the black bear he liked sleeping. He said, “I saw his penis.” I inquired, “How? He was sleeping.” And he said, “It was sticking up in the air and he put it on the brown bear’s vagina.” **

I am not making this stuff up honest!!! I don’t think you will need to have the birds and the bees talk with him you guys.

**I’m not sure if this is a typo of my Mom’s or if Finn really said the penis was ON the vagina, not IN. Because if he thinks you put it ON then Doke & Double B do have some explaining to do. But maybe later. Like when he is at least 5.

20 thoughts on “Finnology 2

  1. You realize that Finn is theeee cutest little man that ever walked the earth, right? I’ve got a three year-old niece named Olivia that would be a perfect partner in crime. She’s even got the cape to prove it!
    Kids are so rad. And awesome.
    Being an Auntie is the bees knees.

  2. For some reason the picture is not loading for me, but I already know Finn is adorable and I can imagine he is only 3x more! adorable with a cape.

    I still remember the day I figured out animals have sex. It was while watching two birds “jumping” on one another, and when I figured out they weren’t so much jumping as humping, I’m pretty sure I turned eight shades of red.

  3. This kid is so, so cute, Sizz. And so clever! I love this: โ€œWell actually they are probably nocturnal.โ€ ๐Ÿ™‚ And yes, there will have to be a straightening out of the birds/bees at some point.

  4. Thanks for my Finn-update. I was just thinking about him the other day and wishing you’d post something about him. And the photo of him as Super Kid is adorable!

  5. I love this! I remember when my kids were little and we had the same kind of conversations. I also remember having to tell my daughter how babies were made when she was about 3 because she asked so many questions and was so confused by it all that it seemed much more simple to just tell her the facts than to let her wonder out loud and think ridiculously untrue things.

    He is adorable! Can you maybe freeze him at this age so this never goes away?

  6. ACK! He is so cute. My 4 year old has been asking me a lot of tricky questions lately. I really hope I’m giving the right answers…

  7. Pingback: Heartbreaker « Sizzle Says

Comments are closed.