Meet the Parents

I met Mr. Darcy’s parents on Sunday.

It should be noted that Mr. Darcy has never, up until this point, introduced anyone he has dated to his parents.

Let’s pause and absorb that.

Much like after meeting his sister, I am convinced he is dating an amalgamation of his mom and sister. Except, I’m  his age and don’t share any genes. Within the first 15 minutes of meeting his mom she said something like, “He was really an asshole.” Then she looked at me and said, “Excuse me. But sometimes that word is appropriate.” And I replied something like, “Oh I agree. I use it all the time.” Then later over dinner we were sharing stories and I said, “He’s an asshole.” Then I looked at her and said, “This is one of those instances where that word is appropriate.” She’s a firecracker. I think we’ll be two peas in a pod. Or three if we squish his sister in with us.

His dad is more soft-spoken but still has his share of tales. He served in the military for many, many years. At one point during dinner he looked up from his food and said, “My father was blind.” But then he looked back down at his food and took another bite full. I was curious if that was the entire story or if there was more. “My father was blind too,” I said to him hoping to fill the space and also connect. He finished chewing and plowed back into this story about his father. It’s interesting for me to be around a dad. I don’t spend time around men that are over 50. I never really got to have regular conversations with my Dad. It feels a bit foreign to me to just chat like normal people. There’s a part of me that has always wished I had an older male figure in my life to look up to or lean on. So, I feel a mix of trepidation and nostalgia meeting Mr. Darcy’s father.

All this is to say that they are wonderful people and we had a relaxed, enjoyable time together. So much so that they invited me out to dinner again on Thursday and this time inquired if I would like to bring my Mom along. My Mom, upon asking her to come along replied, “I secretly hoped this would happen.” My Mom is a big fan of Mr. Darcy. I mentioned that his parents seemed to like me since I was apparently the topic du jour at lunch the following day. To which my Mom replied, ” Of course they are raving about you! They can see too that you both are MFEO.”*

Why yes, my Mom has seen “Sleepless in Seattle” one too many times.

And yep. The parental units are meeting.

*MFEO = Made For Each Other

47 thoughts on “Meet the Parents

  1. Your mom is awesome.

    And, holy balls, parents meeting? Good for you!

    We’ve been married two and a half years, together nearly seven, and our parents have never met. That we know of. And if there’s a god, that meeting will NEVER HAPPEN.

  2. Congrats! That’s so awesome and I like the you paused for a sec so I could soak in the gravity (wrong word because I mean positively) of the meeting. Super exciting. Justin’s dad can’t even remember my name. We’ve been together for over a year.

    I agreed with your mom, of course they love you, you’re awesome!

  3. How lovely. Sounds perfectly fab.

    And you’re cracking me up with the appropriateness of curse words. I’m in your camp on this totally.

  4. Meh. Parents, schmarents. I knew things were serious when you brought Mr. Darcy to Tequilacon. One doesn’t expose a relationship to one’s blogger friends twice unless they’re in it for the long haul! 🙂

  5. im so glad to hear that your meet the parents meeting went so well and that’s so exciting that you got a meet the fockers meeting coming up! im doing the same thing this weekend- the parents meeting, after almost two years!

  6. What exciting news! I’m glad the visit went so well.

    Remember how I told you I’ve never seen Sleepless in Seattle? That “Made for Each Other” thing still sounded so familiar. I kept wondering where I’ve heard it before. Then, just now, it hit me. I took off my wedding band and sure enough, that’s what we had inscribed in them.

  7. I love this blurb!! Thanks for it! I love love love my parents in law and my MIL(a firecracker, like myself) an I call eachother by the acronym most times in emails and cards or in person when appropriate, we sound it out as if it’s a word. I’m DIL she MIL.

  8. My hope for you is that this relationship is as healthy as it sounds. Well done, Siz. You deserve to be in a good relationship.

    Now, just ditch those cats and your life will be perfect.

  9. Ah, the dreaded meet the parents scenario. I remember meeting my girlfriend’s mum back in 2008 and was absolutely pooping my pants with nerves as we walked up to her front door. Like having some kind of out of body experience or something.

  10. Sizz, if we were friends in real life, and you shared this story with me over a glass of wine, my reactions would have been as follows:

    *tear in my eye* Dads.
    *big smile* assholes and moms talking about them.
    *clapping hands, jumping* YAY!

    And then, we would high five.

    *air high five!*

  11. I secretly hoped this would happen. That made me cry. Because not only do Mr. Darcy’s folks think you’re great, but they want to meet your people. And your people think highly enough of Mr. Darcy that they want to meet his people. And that just makes me overjoyed for you!

  12. This is so, so great. I love it! It makes such a difference when you mesh well with the parents, and when the parents on both sides mesh with each other. It took over a year for our moms to meet! But now they’re great friends. 🙂

  13. i’m so happy for you!

    and i wish i could say the same about my MIL but I can’t. You are lucky. The father really intrigues me. Soft spoken but has something to say. I like it.

  14. Yay for the parental meet and greet. Loved the whole a-hole thing…but then again, I enjoy cussing through and through. I’m so happy that you all gel so well, makes it so much easier.

  15. That is adorable. You’re already ahead of me. The Modern Love Machine’s mother hasn’t met my family. Part of that problem is they’re in two different cities and the one time we’ve tried to make a meeting happen, a major natural disaster got in the way. But still, MFEO — YES!

  16. Perhaps you should get a manicure in the not so distant future, hmm? Your fairy tale just keeps getting better and better…*hugs*. Thanks for sharing it with us all 🙂

  17. YAY! I cannot express in words how cool I think it is that you are clicking with his family like this and that you want your mom to meet them.

    Liking your significant other’s family can make a HUGE difference in your relationship. I often wish I had in-laws that I wanted to spend time with (like how Steven wants to spend time with my parents).

Comments are closed.