Take Me to the River

Remember number 32 on my 37 in 37 post?

Of course you don’t. Even I had to look it up. It states:

32. Go white water rafting

Saturday I did just that along with a group of six friends, including Mr. Darcy. We traveled a couple hours to a small town on the Wenatchee* river called Monitor to hit the rapids. Lucky for us we had the most perfect summer day. Finally! I was about to lose my everlovin’ mind if I didn’t get some sun.

When we arrived they fed us bbq which was tasty though the steak was more like beef jerky. I wondered if eating a hearty meal prior to rafting down a river was such a bright idea. What if I hurled? (I did not hurl.) After hurriedly racing us through getting our wetsuits on- THERE IS NO WAY TO HURRY WHEN STUFFING YOUR BODY IN A WETSUIT- they piled us on an old school bus and off we went.

At the launch site one of the guides gave us an overview of safety. I found him to be a real tool- obnoxious and barking orders. I was already put off by him because he was the one tooting the bus horn as some of us were frantically trying to snap ourselves into wetsuits and attempt to find a life jacket that would, you know, actually fit. I thought that if we got stuck with him as our guide for 2+ hours I would surely “accidentally” hit him upside his huge head. Luckily, we got a really mellow dude who was guiding officially for the first time that day. (Gulp!)

Let it be known that I have rafted before. . . probably ten years ago at least. Back in California where the water isn’t frigid and you can wear your swimsuit. Where falling into the river couldn’t potentially cause hypothermia. Hence the need for the sexy wetsuits. From the moment we got into the boat my friends were putting money on me as the first to fall out. I’m like I have done this before! But they know I am a klutz and if anyone was going to fall into the river, it’d be me.

If you haven’t rafted before here’s a little run down- the two people positioned at the front of the raft on the left and right side set the pace for paddling while the guide sits perched at the back of the raft calling out when to paddle, what direction to paddle and announces different areas of the river and their sometimes scary and sometimes funny names. Like Gorilla or Granny or Poop Chute. Or, our personal favorite, Snow Blind.

Why was it called Snow Blind? Because when you hit it there is so much white water crashing at you that you feel like you are in the middle of a snow storm. It’s white, white, white everywhere and you are paddling but catching no water and you think MAYBE I AM GOING TO DIE. But then you don’t and are glad. When we hit Snow Blind I was like hoooollllyyy sheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet. I was second behind the front right paddler and I thought, this is it. This is when I am going to bite it. We hit the first big crest and my friend in front of my flew back onto me, knocking me from my perch. We landed, sprawled, in the raft (thankfully!) and tried to get our footing as to climb back into paddling position. Have you ever tried to push yourself up on a slippery, rocking boat? It’s damn near impossible. Meanwhile everyone else is trying to paddle while laughing their asses off.

It was epic. I loved it. Total adrenaline rush.

I would like to go on record that I only fell INTO the raft twice, never out. SO THERE.

If you haven’t ever rafted, GO! It’s a blast. I’d definitely go again. Maybe even sooner than in another ten years.

*The first time I come to Wenatchee and Dave2 is out of the country. Boo!

(There are no photos yet because I didn’t have a dry bag to seal my camera in and the rafting company takes awhile to post them on line.)

27 thoughts on “Take Me to the River

  1. Eee. Sounds terrifying. Not sure it would be my cup of tea. Glad you enjoyed yourself, though! Also, a first-time guide shouldn’t ANNOUNCE that it’s his first time. At least not til you’re all back safely on dry land.

    • Jess- He didn’t technically announce it. We asked how long he’d been guiding and cornered him into it. He was great though! And they have to go through a lot of training before taking out a boat full of paying customers. I didn’t think I’d like it but the adrenaline and beautiful scenery are awesome.

  2. I loooooooooooove white water rafting! I haven’t done it in years but thank you for reminding me how much fun it is. I think I will put this on my list for this summer as well. πŸ™‚

  3. I’ve been white water rafting … a number of times (though, none recently). It’s a total rush, but so much fun. Glad to hear you only fell into the raft … sounds like that’s something to be proud of!

  4. I totally remember having the I AM GOING TO DIE thoughts the first time I rafted, which I also think was just about ten years ago (rafting twins!). And I just found out at the end of last week that I get to go rafting in August with Rhi & Co. and I am SO PSYCHED. I’m really hoping it’s at least hot enough that day to warrant me being happy about being soaking wet.

    Three cheers! for awesome weekends.

  5. I went white water rafting for the first (and so far, only) time a few years ago on the Deschutes in eastern Oregon and absolutely LOVED it, even if I was ragingly hung over the entire time. Glad you got to go and had such a great time!

  6. oh man, i went once – MORE than a decade ago at this point, i think – and LOVE LOVE LOVED it. i’ve been eager to go again ever since then. i think we’ve got some rapids-y rivers out in west virginia that should work..

  7. Whhheeee! Good for you! So cool. And I am impressed that y’all elected to go early in the season, when the water is higher and more rough. Way to go, bad asses. πŸ™‚

  8. I’ve only been rafting once, back in junior high. It was so much fun, similar sounding wet suits for Alaskan waters! For a good decade, our family’s photo was on the rafting company brochure… me in all my 1987 hair glory. EEK! I’d love to go again one day. Thanks for the reminder!

  9. I will make it a point to go. My brother lives in Virginia and we’ve talked about meeting up in West Virginia to WWR.

  10. How fun! I’ve been wanting to try this for years, but never took the time to plan a trip. I too would be nervous about falling out of the boat – I’d much prefer falling in πŸ™‚ Good for you for checking another number off your list!

  11. Glad you had such a good time. You make it sound cool. Don’t think there are any suitable rivers for it around here, but if I come upon one, I’ll keep it in mind.

  12. Awww, wasn’t the area gorgeous? I just love that place. I’m glad you had fun – I’ve never been, but it’s on the life list! And this inspires me to make it happen sooner than later.

    PS I didn’t even THINK of the need for wetsuits. Aren’t they fun? :/

  13. Ha, Wenatchee! My Grandma lives there, as does my dad. I used to get sent there during the summer months. Ouch. In fact I was forced to live there during a short stint in 7th grade. Double ouch.

  14. I did once when I was in high school. It was a summer camp thing my parents had signed me up for that was in Colorado. It was this big group of us, and I was paired with this really cute guy in an inflatable KAYAK, as opposed to the big raft. By the end of the trip, I was a mess, but oh my gosh… you’re right! What a rush! It was incredible.

  15. I’ve been whitewater rafting about a half dozen times in some serious rivers with serious cresting (Colorado River, Chataqua (sp?) River, among others) and we *never* used wetsuits. Only time I’ve been in wetsuits was scuba diving.

  16. Pingback: That’s Just Beachy « Sizzle Says

  17. I went rafting last summer, it was my 2nd time. The first time I fell in once and one of my brother’s friends had to jump out to bring me back in. The 2nd time I went I did not fall out once, so proud of myself. It was SO much fun!

Comments are closed.