Edible

Things I shouldn’t buy because inevitably they will spoil before ever eaten:

  • yogurt
  • eggplant
  • cottage cheese
  • cucumber
  • tomatoes

Things I shouldn’t buy because inevitably I will devour all of it and I shouldn’t:

  • chocolate
  • bread
  • beer

Things I always need to have on hand:

  • eggs
  • milk
  • tea
  • peanut butter
  • black beans
  • sharp cheddar cheese
  • spelt or brown rice tortillas
  • almonds
  • pistachios (Mr. Darcy is a fiend for them)
  • iced tea (again, Mr. Darcy’s drink of choice)

Things that make me feel not-so-good when I ingest them:

  • sugar
  • white flour
  • super spice
  • coffee
16 thoughts on “Edible

  1. This gave me a craving for Nutella on soft, fresh bread. Which makes me feel not good when I eat it. Mr. Darcy and I are same/same on pistachios. Yum.

  2. Things I shouldn’t buy because inevitably they will spoil before ever eaten:

    *parsley / cilantro / lettuce / spring onions / anything that i don’t use the ENTIRE BUNCH for one recipe!
    *big cartons of juice
    *more potatoes than i need for 1 recipe

    although for me, on the list of things i inevitably devour are cottage cheese, tomatoes, AND cucumbers πŸ™‚

  3. Not a fan of eggplant…it wouldn’t get eaten in my house either. You should try those green bags. I can’t think of who makes them but they sell them at Whole Foods. Their baggie technology keeps your produce fresh for a much longer time (critical when you’re a single gal).

  4. This reminded me I need to be better at grocery shopping.

    I haven’t been eating any diary (at least not consistently) for awhile now, but back when I did, I would always buy yogurt and it would always always spoil. Finally I had to realize I’m just not a yogurt girl. And now I’m just not a dairy girl, and my tummy is much happier for it.

  5. I swear chocolate will be the end of me. My mom brought Lindt chocolate with her when she came recently. I’ve had to basically remove the boxes from my sight so I would stop consuming them.

    However I could live off of cheese, tomato and coffee. But you probably already knew that. πŸ˜‰

  6. I have so many things I shouldn’t buy because they’ll just spoil! Almost everything! When one does not cook, one’s kitchen tends to resemble the Smithsonian. I know fresh, “real” food is where it’s at, but I need a bit of preservatives in mine or I’m doomed.

Comments are closed.