I Am

Last night somewhere after 10pm something shifted. Inside myself, a switch was flipped and a light came on. And I remembered one of my favorite quotes:

“No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.” -Eleanor Roosevelt

I had spent the previous 24 hours feeling torn up about a situation that was not my fault even though the other party was doing their best to bully and guilt me into believing so. I had talked it over with trusted confidantes, my therapist, my bosses. I had listened to everyone else. . . but not to myself. And the moment I took action based on my own gut instincts, I felt better. It didn’t change the reality that I was in the middle of a shitty situation but what it did do is change how I perceived myself within that situation.

You get that? I changed my perception of myself.

I no longer felt afraid or like a victim. I shone my light on every single thing I was afraid could happen and was shocked to not feel paralyzed by my fear. Instead I remembered who I am. And I stood taller knowing that I have the power to define how I feel about myself. No one else.

And that, my friends, is no small feat.

37 thoughts on “I Am

  1. Cheering at the computer screen. I think you may have figured out the secret of life, right there. (Seriously. All hail Guru Sizzle. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Wahoo! ๐Ÿ™‚ I want a Like button, too! I’ve been struggling with something similar the last couple of days, so thank you for the fantastic reminder.

  3. That is awesome. Not only did you change your perception, but you allowed that perception to dictate your actions. So crucial!

  4. Rah rah … so very proud of you Sizz :-). I still get a little ‘happy shudder’ whenever I read about you and Mr. Darcy … just makes me feel all gooey. It rocks!

  5. A big part of what happens to us in life is how we perceive things and let them affect us. I’m so so glad that you were able to do this because it’s HUGE step. I hope the situation is resolved soon and you can “shelf” it away.

  6. i’m so glad you have finally figured out – you are good enough, smart enough and gosh, darn… people like me.

    okay, so i’ve said this probably 5 times now but i mean it!

  7. That’s why they say to Follow Your Heart. It won;t lead you wrong. If you are honest with yourself, you will have automatic peace in your own skin. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m proud of you, for your leap. How difficult it is, to attain these epiphanies!! How liberating, when you do!!

  8. i love that quote and yay for you!

    i love this one too from Buddhist monk, Brother Thay:

    Reality is neither pleasant nor unpleasant in and of itself. It is only pleasant or unpleasant as experienced by us, through our perceptions.

    of course reality *is* unpleasant for those in really horrific situations, but for those of us trying to work through our fears, i think it applies.

    and this:

    We are like an artist who is frightened by his own drawing of a ghost. Our creations become real to us and even haunt us.

    it took me a long time understand what the heck he was talking about!

  9. I have often turned to that quotation when I felt defeated or unjustly persecuted. What a gift she left us in that one sentence.

  10. Thank you for this.

    You have no idea how much I needed to read this right now. Last night, my sister asked me to babysit my nephew. I said no because I wasn’t sure how late work would go but anyway, I found out that she was asking me to babysit so that she could go hang out and drink with my other cousins. Imagine how hurtful it was to learn that they all made plans without me but thought I was good enough to babysit.

    Needless to say, I refuse to be the victim here and hurt anymore. Thanks for reminding me that I am strong enough to handle my business and come out on top.

  11. Probably one of the truest things ever said by Eleanor. The only thing that I, or anyone, can have unequivocal control over is perception. That is, one’s own perception. If I perceive things to be going badly, then they are. If I perceive things to be going well, then they are. ๐Ÿ™‚

    ~~~

    With Love and Gratitude,

    The Intentional Sage

  12. After reading the last post I was going to send those positive vibes your way, but by reading this, I realized you don’t need them. You ARE the positive vibe. You rock Sizz!!!

  13. I not really know easily agree with your submit here. Help you make a good point, I would not feel you might have actually given plenty of shown to the other side on this debate. Maybe I can perform a visitor submit or a follow-up, simply let me know.

Comments are closed.