Such is the life of an event planner.

Last night was my new fundraiser. Like first time ever doing it- conceptualizing and planning it from the ground up- and after a year of slaving over it, it’s over. And I think it was successful! People seemed to have a blast and we raised more money than I expected to (that is, after I shifted my lofty aspirations). We’ll see when the money is all counted and the participant surveys are completed but all in all I’m happy how it went. I’m exhausted to my bones but happy.

What they don’t tell you about event planning is that the day after the event? There is just as much work.

“You’ve worked so hard! You should take tomorrow off.” Yeah. No. It doesn’t work like that in fundraising. The day after is the day you unpack your filled-to-the-brim car, count the money, send thank you notes, and generally clean up the mess of what used to be your cubicle because in the last two weeks it looks as though a tornado hit it.

So if you’ll excuse me, I have work to do.

15 thoughts on “Such is the life of an event planner.

  1. From what I know of you, you did a kick-ass job at your event last night and will clean everything up to make it look like you were never there (figuratively speaking). Keep on rocking out and then ENJOY this weekend. It’ll be well-deserved!

  2. Boo for no immediately relief after such hard work! Not acceptable. Maybe shuffle papers just a little bit today to steal a tiny bit of relief?

    And I like the tag “working it.” πŸ™‚

  3. Congrats on a successful event. I know exactly what you mean. I chair a huge fundraising golf tournament and feel like death the day after. I giggled at your car/cubicle comment. I end up with left over tee prizes, signage, the raffle ticket spinner and a million other things crammed into my car and cubicle.

  4. Congratulations! I know what you mean about the time off. I have an event that runs the week of August 9 and I wanted to take Monday/Tuesday (16/17) off, but I know I’ll end up working those two days, so I’ll aim for the 18-20 off.

  5. Well done you! Success is a good thing! (Of course, with you planning it I’m sure they knew it would be great.)

  6. This post is triggering my PTSD twitch. I did special events in a previous job. NEVER AGAIN. Ever. But I know exactly where you are. Hope you get some rest soon

Comments are closed.