Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

I worked for ten hours on my feet Sunday. That’s how it is for a Day-Of Wedding Coordinator, folks.

If my recollection is correct, the only times I truly sat down were when I peed and when I shoved a few bites of lukewarm food in my mouth while the bridal party toasted the happy couple. So it pretty much goes without saying that my feet hurt at the end of the day. My feet, my knees, my back. I am such a desk jockey! I’m totally wimped out by running around in my Danskos. Sheesh! (Insert rolling of eyes at self here.)

Despite the fact that my body seems to think I am 80, I really enjoy handling the day-of logistics for events, in particular, weddings. And I’ve alluded to this in tweets or in other posts but. . . I am seriously considering starting a side business offering my services for payment. I’ve coordinated many friends weddings as a favor to them but Sunday was my first paid gig.

The photographer asked for my card and I sheepishly had to inform her that I was a newbie without business card or url to share. She was so impressed with my skills she wanted to market me to her brides. Holy Awesome Hook Up! So now I’m thinking, what the hell am I waiting for?

Here’s where you come in. You guys are endlessly supportive and I love how you always cheer me on. (Thank you!) Some of youΒ  might be all, AS IF YOU NEED ANOTHER JOB, WOMAN! But, listen, this is just a side gig and it’ll take some time to be up and running. Besides, the wedding season is almost over so I’m aiming to get gigs next spring and summer if I’m lucky.

But first things first! I need a name for my business. I don’t want to use Sizzle Says because I want my personal blog and my business to be separate (like potential clients need to read about my neuroses? I think, no). I’d be targeting the DIY bride and grooms who want someone to execute their wedding plan the day-of their nuptials. Someone that can coordinate timing, vendors, decorations, set up and clean up and problem-solve any issues that might arise so that they can fully relish in the day. Someone friendly, responsible, sassy, fun and affordable. Someone like me.

So hit me with some of your ideas for business names. Be creative! Be flirty! Be fun! And yes, there might even be voting if there are multiple good entries. And double yes, there is a grand prize for the winner.

Ready? Set? Go!

48 thoughts on “Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

  1. “Wedding wishes” as in “your wish is my command” type of vibe.. and/or maybe something to do with tieing up loose ends so the bride and groom can enjoy tieing the knot? I don’t know… just ideas. πŸ™‚

    Good for you… do what you love, and what you are good at. Sounds like this is the perfect opportunity for you!

  2. Peace of Mind Productions–
    that way it can be for event planning generally

    and I will gladly write a testimonial, dollface

  3. I would go with one of the themes mentioned above and just call your business “Wish Granted”. Or make it plural.

  4. I have no ideas for you right now unless you want something reflective of the theology paper I just put together.

    Yeah, I didn’t think so.

    If I come up with something amazing, I will definitely let you know.

    I can, however, speak to your abilities. When I was planning my wedding, you were a great resource and often kept me off the edge, even from halfway across the country. Please let me know if you ever need some form of testimonial.

  5. I think this is so awesome of you. I can definitely see you in this role too. I’m really happy to hear about you taking this on.

    How about ABC Wedding Planning & Stuff? I’m kidding. Maybe Emerald (City) Engagements. I’m a sucker for alliterations.

  6. First off LOVE THIS!

    Two words…

    ‘No Worries’

    Imagine answering the phone!’No Worries, we got you covered!’

  7. What about Weddings That Sizzle? Unless you don’t want Sizzle in the name then maybe something like Wedding Bliss or … yeah that’s about all I got! I think this is a such an awesome idea!

  8. I’m the wrong person to ask about creative things like name suggestions. But I would point out a couple of things. You might well have to find a way to turn down your sizzily goodness. It wouldn’t do for the grooms to keep asking themselves “where do I find a girl like the wedding planner?”. πŸ˜‰

    Also, this might well be the door to kicking one of your current jobs to the curb. If this thing takes off (and I’m sure you can be fabulously successful) perhaps this is a way to avoid dealing with those problem tenants. Just something to think about.

    TAG

  9. First of all, I LOVE that you are really considering this. I think it’s a total win-win and could potentially translate into a full-time gig, which what would be cooler than that?

    I really like Rhi’s idea, but I would modify it to be “Sizzling SoirΓ©es.” It’s you, but still new, and I just love alliteration.

    Oh, and also: If you need Etsy recs for great (affordable!) business cards, let me know! I can totally hook you up.

  10. I don’t have a name idea…I just am not creative like that! But I just wanted to add my 2 cents to the idea that fall isn’t considered a part of the wedding “season”. Oh hells yes, it is. It was my 1st choice as a season, and I had to book everything a year out here in Kansas City in order to have a good venue, caterer, and the church we wound up at was my 3rd choice, believe it or don’t. I think October, in general, is a very popular time for weddings across the country, so keep that in mind for future reference…

    …and GOOD LUCK with the new venture! I bet you would be absolutely AWESOME at it! πŸ˜€

  11. I love this! I would consider having “Coordinator” or something in the business name to help with googling and such. It also might add some legitimacy. Although I do love the Peace of Mind angle. πŸ™‚

  12. Oh, how exciting! I am not surprised at all that you’re good at this. πŸ™‚ I am betting you could even go beyond weddings and into coordinating other types of celebrations. Weddings are the hardest, so if you’ve got that you can do anything. I am going to have to think on names… anything I come up with on the spot is always stupid.
    Oh, and in the meantime there are a few cool iPhone apps that allow you to create electronic business cards as a temporary solution to your business card issue.

  13. After I got married, I secretly wanted to be a wedding planner. I still think about it from time to time. It sounds like it would be a great fit for you and I have no doubt you would be successful!

  14. Almost forgot some name suggestions. I like the Emerald City suggestion by another poster. I Do (Weddings & Events), Happily Ever After, Piece of Cake Productions (borrowing from Sarah’s idea), Celebrations by Sizzle.

  15. Okay – I totally thought you would be doing this, didn’t I? πŸ˜€

    I think you should use “Ms.Jones Productions” or “Me & Ms.Jones” (with a wink to that old classic song)… I love anything with Sizzle but understand about wanting to keep things separate.

  16. The Peaceful Bride
    Here Comes the Planner
    The Marry Godmother (OMG, I’m so proud of that one.)

    I don’t think I can outdo it, but if I do, I’ll let you know. At the moment, I’m loving The Marry Godmother: Have wand, have wedding. A wish, a wand and a wedding. Making all your dreams/wishes come true. Happily Ever After. πŸ™‚

  17. “Choose Your Own Adventure (or “Event”ure)” wedding planning!
    hahah you remember those books!!!

    “I Do” wedding planning…because you DO do! Of course mine would be “I Doo”.

    “I”conic Weddings

    “Takes the Cake”

    “Something Old, Something New”

    “Aisle Help” wedding planning..get it aisle = I’ll

    “Wham Bam Weddings”

    That’s all I got for now.

  18. I’ve been trying to think of names using your cast of blog characters. Turns out that isn’t so easy.
    Dashing Weddings
    Something about dotting the i?
    Dot-n-Dash Weddings (which would mean nothing to people hiring you, but I like the name!)
    Just as You Are Weddings
    Say Fini Events (that’s after Finn….and a play on C’est Fini…and if you have to explain it…sigh)

    Ugh, I really want to suggest something awesome and I can’t come up with anything. You’re so good a creating nicknames, I bet you’ll think of something cute and fun.

  19. That is VERY COOL. I have no names in my head right now, but if I think of anything I’ll definitely let you know. Keep us informed on how this venture goes.

  20. I’ve been brainstorming, but I think my brain may be broken. I keep thinking of something with class and sass, because I think those are two words that describe you. Maybe Class with Sass or something along those lines. Seriously, this baby is taking all of my brain power.

  21. This is such a great idea and sounds like a perfect fit for you. I love the idea of starting your own company, I hope this takes off and you make it your full-time job. Don’t know about names… the ones suggested with Sizzle in it sound cute, but you might want to take it a different route so it’s not associated at all with this blog. That said, I would hire you in a flash and I only know you through your blog πŸ˜‰

  22. Dude – this “side business” could turn into a big business before you know it. Clearly, you have the talent for it. You may end up being a professional coordinator full time lady! How cool would that be?!

    I need time to ruminate on names. I love naming challenges – we have to do stuff like this all the time at work. I’ll email you what I come up with. πŸ™‚

  23. Pingback: Tweets that mention Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained Β« Sizzle Says -- Topsy.com

  24. I actually think Sizzling Soirees or Sizzle Weddings are both great names, but if you’re serious about separating your blog from your DOC business, I would strongly suggest avoiding these kind of names as they’ll probably pop up right next to your blog on Google searches.

    A little secret for you: back when I was engaged and wedding planning, I loved it so much I actually had a full on business plan to become a wedding coordinator. But then my fiance dumped me and weddings all of a sudden seemed like a business I wanted nothing to do with, so I put the idea on hold. And now I’ve just become a financial advisor which is hopefully going to be a lifelong career, so I let the wedding business idea die. So, if you like it, you can have my business name. I was going to call it Flourish Events. To me, the name encapsulated everything I wanted to say about the business: I provided the finishing touches, the details, but it was still THEIR event the way they wanted it, and it didn’t limit me to just weddings (although you could call it Flourish Weddings). I liked the way the name sounded & flowed and I had the perfect font and logo all designed (in my head, I didn’t actually create the graphic). I thought it sounded beautiful. I’d be honoured if you used it but not the least bit offended if it’s not right for you!

  25. Pingback: Commercial Break « Sizzle Says

  26. such wonderfully creative readers you have!
    just throwing my two cents in:
    i would be the type of girl to hire a “day of” wedding planner because i’m not into the whole “wedding” to begin with. i would do most things diy and handmade and would really only need someone to coordinate the actual event so that i could actually, you know, get married, instead of hosting the party. that being said, since i think i fall into the market category you’re looking for, i’m just throwing out there the kind of name i would (or would not) be drawn to.
    i’m not really into any kind of name with ‘diva’ in it, nothing too snarky or kitschy or contrived. something simple. something that conveys a feeling of calm, of getting it done, of a stressfree day spent celebrating love.

    how about ‘darcy’…

    ‘darcy events’ —
    spend your wedding focused on the bigger picture, not the details.
    i am an all inclusive “day of” wedding coordinator.
    you show up, i’ll take care of everything else.

    something like that.
    then again, i only know you from silently stalking your blog so i’m really just hoping one of these amazing ideas listed above me resonates and helps to accomplish your dreams!

  27. Sizz, please do forgive me for the tiniest bit of rain on your parade.

    You love your life and your plans and your fun amd I speak from expereince when I say, getting involved in the wedding industry means you can never agian have your OWN fun. It means always working the best weekends of the year, it means missing the weddings of your friends and families to WORK the weddings of others.

    I think you will make an awesome wedding planner, and I wish you all the success in the world! Just be prepared to set boundaries so that you can still have your own fun. Only work two weekends a month, or something.

    (gah! I hate being the negative nellie! I just wanted to warn you! XOXO)

  28. You have some fabulous suggestions already. Taking from one of my all-time favorite movie lines, how about “You Complete Me”? πŸ˜‰ I also really like, “Ready. Set. Wed.”, that has been suggested a few times already.

    Best of luck in this new venture of yours — you’re going to be amazing!!

  29. Pingback: Name That Business « Sizzle Says

  30. Pingback: (Inter)networking « Sizzle Says

Comments are closed.