Sister of My Heart

I first met her at the awkward age of 14 at Westmont High School. We had English class together. I would transfer to an all girls prep school while she stayed on to make friends with the boy who would eventually be my first boyfriend (the one and only Tomato). She has been an ever-present influence and presence in my life for over 23 years, if you can believe it.

Jenny Two Times, sister of my heart.

Yes, I am sticking out my tongue. And wearing a shirt I stole from her closet.

The last time she visited me we stood like we had countless nights in our past- waiting between acts, sipping a cocktail and people watching- at one of our favorite past times. Seeing live music. Martin Sexton to be exact. When Jenny got up and spoke at my good-bye party before I took my leap into a new life in Washington, she spoke out our connection, our sisterly bond, and how the thread that bound us through all those years was our mutual love and appreciation of music. And that night, on her last visit here, we made a list of all the shows we had seen together. Here’s a smattering:

  • Tori Amos (4 times)
  • Edie Brickell
  • Live
  • Pearl Jam
  • Liz Phair
  • Tracy Chapman
  • Blind Pilot
  • Martin Sexton (3 times)
  • Sara Bareilles (2 times)
  • Sweet Virginia
  • Vic Chestnut
  • Asylum Street Spankers
  • The Weepies
  • Stone Temple Pilots
  • Lenny Kravitz
  • Arrested Development
  • Blind Melon
  • Neil Young
  • Counting Crows
  • Dave Matthews Band
  • Peter Stuart
  • The Black Crowes
  • Howie Day
  • The Steve Miller Band
  • Morrissey
  • Garbage
  • Black Flag
  • Van Morrison
  • Social Distortion
  • Beastie Boys
  • Janes Addiction
  • Rage Against the Machine
  • Smashing Pumpkins
  • Poi Dog Pondering (3 times)

Can you tell we went to a lot of shows in the early 90s? We spent countless hours driving around, the windows rolled down, letting our worries be carried out by the wind, singing at the top of our lungs. No matter what we were going through- family dysfunction, heartbreak, teen angst or twenty-something growth spurts, we always had music and each other.

Sometimes a song will come blaring out my speakers and my first thought  is of Jenny Two Times. And I love that about her, about our friendship. She is that song that comforts me, lifts me up, makes me smile and dance and feel the most like myself.

Today is her birthday and we are not together so I am sending this one out to her.

Love you sisterfriend. So much. Happy Birthday!

9 thoughts on “Sister of My Heart

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Sister of My Heart « Sizzle Says -- Topsy.com

Comments are closed.