Show Time

Thanks to One N Jen’s awesome ticket buying skills we had sixth row seats for the Ray LaMontagne & David Gray show on Sunday.

It looked a little something like this:

He always stands on the right side. Note to concert-goers: don't sit on the far right side if you want to actually see him.

David Gray: A Real Life Bobblehead

I’ve seen Ray LaMontagne before and while he’s quiet – he says “thank you” or “thank you very much” but that’s it, no musician banter or chit-chat with the audience- he pours his soul out through the songs. It was a boot stompin’, chair dancing, rockin’ set. Then David Gray came on with colored lights and a bassist with facial expressions that made me think that was what his “sexy time” face looked like and, well, that was all I could think about whenever I saw him fondling his bass. I was surprised how many David Gray songs I knew. I used to listen to his album White Ladder years ago. It took me back to a time when I was still in my 20’s and depressed. (Man, I’m glad I’m not in that place anymore.) David puts on a really great show- he’s got a ton of energy and really takes over the stage. And yes, he bops his head around like a real life bobblehead or a mix of Joe Cocker and Stevie Wonder.

There were two middle-aged ladies sitting in front of us who were clearly very into David Gray. One lady had her cell phone out the ENTIRE concert. She essentially experienced the show THROUGH the phone. She was calling some people and holding the phone up during a couple of songs. The real kicker though, the part I found fascinating, was that she took video of practically every song. BUT! She would still be swaying her side-to-side chair dance (only one rhythm for this lady) while holding the camera so her video was all wonky. Hell, half the time it wasn’t even aimed at the stage. She moved it around so much I’m pretty sure watching those videos back could be used as a torture device on her enemies. I get taking photos or videos during a show but there’s also a part of me that missing the time before such devices were common and readily available. Like when we went to a show and actually had lighters to hold up instead of the lighter app on our iPhone. Like when we didn’t have a distraction from the show itself- live tweeting it, photo documenting it, recording a garbled version of your favorite song. Are our memories totally digitalized now?

{End old lady rant.}

There’s always that one (or 10) person who has to yell out to the musician, isn’t there? Someone inevitably will cry out, “PLAY FREE BIRD!” Some will chuckle, others will roll their eyes. I don’t really get the yelling out because most of the time the musician can’t hear you or you are annoying other concert-goers. But I suppose people like to be involved. . . and some are just regular old loudmouths. It’s just that people usually yell out stupid stuff. I did that once. I was 13 and at a Richard Marx concert (oh yes, yes I was) at Great America. I mustered up courage and yelled out, “I LOVE YOU RICHARD!” And then he played “Hold Onto the Nights” and I probably got a little teary and swoony.

Look, I wasn’t always cool, okay?

12 thoughts on “Show Time

  1. The 2nd to the last time I saw Ray was at the Hollywood Bowl, and he barely said a word beyond his songs. While I enjoyed his amazing live performance, I was a little annoyed that I felt like I was just listening to his CD. The last time I saw him, though, he was much more chatty, which made me happy.

    Glad you had a great time! I also don’t understand people who spend their entire time at a concert taking pics/videos instead of enjoying the performance.

  2. I went to a thing (an NPR deal, I think– good thing I’m not a journalist) here a few weeks ago wherein they interviewed musicians between songs… very weird. Ray was one of the musicians and it was actually kind of weird to hear him talking. He clearly wasn’t too comfortable and I kinda felt bad for him. But, the music was incredible and thankfully no one around me yelled anything.

  3. This is one of the reasons I do not like taking photos or video when I go places. I always feel like I am removed from the actual experience instead of experiencing the actual experience.

    Also, it makes me feel like I am working.

    That said, I was real real glad there were people to take pictures at the wedding because that all went by in a blur…

  4. Hey, my first concert was The Osmond Brothers. And I went with my parents. Because my cool levels knew no bounds. And, fwiw, The Osmonds put on a great show.

    Glad you had fun.

  5. They were in Portland the night before this and I wanted to go SO BADLY. But, our flight came in at 6ish and that might have been cutting it a bit close.

  6. “Hold onto the Nights” was a quintessential teenagehood song. I SO remember slow dancing to that. Now I’m jealous. I commend your yelling at Richard.

    I’m really bummed I didn’t go see Ray and David down here. They played the Greek Theater and I couldn’t decide whether to go see them or Sheryl Crow and Colbie Caillat. I chose the ladies because the men were playing on my Dad’s birthday…but I think I may have chosen the wrong concert!! šŸ˜¦ Glad you had fun despite the crazy ladies in front of you.

  7. I was there too! Given your vantage point, we must have been VERY close to each other. I think I was row H on right side…

  8. I went in Boston and it was an amazing show!!! I totally agree that David Gray is like a bobblehead – to funny! It was crazy…I thought his head might pop off at one point. Love both of these guys!

  9. hilarious! first off, i laughed out loud when I read the bobble head comment. I saw him on SNL once and thought the same thing. And second, my sisters and I screamed “We love you James” and at James Taylor concert once and repied, “I love you too”. We thought we might die. Not because he loved us back but because I think we blew out the eardrums of the guy next to us. ooops.
    PS. i loved Richard Marx once too. back when I saw him rock the stage at Knott’s Berry Farm.

Comments are closed.