Who’s Yours?

My friends from work and I spent our lunch break yesterday discussing which actor makes us not see a movie or tv show.  Tom Cruise was mentioned multiple times which isn’t surprising.  Honestly, I never really got his appeal even in “Risky Business” or “Top Gun” but yes, I’ve seen those films and “Jerry Maguire”, etc. Mel Gibson got honorable mention. I posed the question on Twitter and Keanu Reeves to Andie MacDowell to Ashton Kutcher were mentioned among others.

I kept coming up with actors I don’t like but who I could be convinced to see given other cast members. For example, I don’t care for Cameron Diaz but I’ve seen “In Her Shoes” because I love Toni Collette and I own The Holiday because, hello!, Kate Winslet, Jack Black and Jude Law are in it. But according to “the rules” the actor has to unequivocally make you NOT see the film or show based on their presence in it. There can be no caveats.

So I am posing this question to you, my dear readers: What actor would keep you from seeing a movie or tv show? And conversely (bonus question!): What actor is a yes-must-see-that-film/show because of their mere presence in it?

For me it’s Nick Nolte. Gah! He bugs me! Can anyone even understand what the hell he is staying anyhow? And an actor that propels me to see a movie or show because of her presence in it is Emma Thompson. She’s just a class act and really stellar at embodying her character.

Your turn!

53 thoughts on “Who’s Yours?

  1. I pretty much won’t see anything with Kate Hudson in it–although I may be breaking this rule soon because my trusted movie companion will not shut-up about how amazing “The Killer Inside Me” is.
    One of my must-see (and there are probably a lot–also directors, do they count too?) actors would be Gary Oldman–that man can be/do anything! It’s so amazing!
    -K

  2. I’ll set aside time to see anything with Robert Duvall. I was the same way about anything featuring Paul Newman (who wasn’t, though?)

  3. I am pretty much over seeing any movie with Brad Pitt in it. I don’t think he’s a good actor and I don’t think he’s good-looking either. Don’t know why people love him so much. Same goes with Angelina Jolie.

    Love (!) all movies with Jeff Bridges!

  4. I’ve got a pretty lengthy list of actors whose movies I refuse to see. Topping that list is Alec Baldwin (sorry 30 Rock). I think he’s such an ass and refuse to support anything he’s in. Next up, Kevin Costner, snore. I also won’t see movies starring Ashley Judd, because they usually suck. And I’d second not seeing movies with Tom Cruise or Mel Gibson. I’ve got a pretty low tolerance level for how actors lead their real lives … and if there’s something that really bugs me, then it’s easy for me to not support their movies, too.

  5. Nicolas Cage. He lost me after Valley Girl. I can’t watch him. I love Ashton Kutcher when he is calm and goofy (like That 70s Show). But I hate/hated Punked when he was all hopped up on caffeine. I love, love, love Alec Baldwin in just about anything. As far as the girls, that is a little harder. I hate Courtney Love but I can’t think of any movies she is in. I do love Tina Fey. That girl is funny! In a sea of women who fall short in the funny department, she always makes me laugh.

  6. I refuse to see anything with Hayden Christensen. He was disastrous in the crappy Star Wars prequels and horrendous in “Jumper” so I just can’t do it any more.

    As for must-see… probably Morgan Freeman. Even in the crappiest movie, he’s brilliant and worth watching.

  7. I can’t watch Ewan McGregor. He just irks me in every role he is in. I think Leonardo DiCaprio and Johnny Depp will almost always get me to spend $11 to see their movies in theater. And if Heath Ledger were still around… He’d be on that list, too. These guys are just so versatile and bring a lot to their roles. It’s obvious they are dedicated actors.

  8. Two words: Kevin. Costner. Terrible, terrible actor, who actually brings down any movie he’s in where he’s not playing the “humble-pie, downhome good guy”. Seriously, try to get through the drama of “13 Days in October” without busting out at his horrible Boston accent.

  9. Kevin Costner.
    Bull Durham was great, but mostly because of Susan Sarandon.

    Mark Harmon REALLY bugs me.
    Stealing Home was wonderful, but again mostly because of Jodi Foster.

    Charlie Sheen. UGH. Blech.

    Flipside: Meryl Streep, William Hurt, John Cusack

  10. I won’t see any Mel Gibson or Angelina Jolie movies. Totally based on their personal lives and not at all on quality of movie or acting ability. I am petty…but at least I’m not a bigot or a homewrecker!

  11. I can’t think of anyone in paticular that would make me not see a movie, but actors who will make me watch a movie even if I’m not particularly interested: Robert Downey Jr. (I love him) Johnny Depp, Leonardo DiCaprio & Senn Penn. I don’t really pay attention too much regarding their personal lives. We all have our demons. Whatever!

  12. I loved Tom Cruise in the Top Gun decade, but yeah crazy in real life makes me less likely to go crazy for them on-screen. Which is why I really don’t think I will ever watch a movie starring Mel Gibson ever again. He wasn’t really ever my favorite anyway, and now I just find myself repulsed by him.

    Actors I am over: Cruise; Gibson; Pitt; Julia Roberts; Angelina Jolie (though I will forever watch her in action movies); Pacino; Anthony Hopkins (He was great in Silence of the Lambs, but everything else? Meh); Laura Linney (something just bugs); John Travolta (what HAPPENED to him?).

    Who I will watch in (almost) anything: Joseph Gordon-Levitt (of course!); Seth Rogen; Jesse Eisenberg; Jay Baruchel; Emma Stone (I’m newly smitten with her, though I loved her in Superbad and Zombieland, too); Woody Harrelson; Bill Murray; Milo Ventigmilia; Nicolas Cage (take that all you haters!); KEVIN BACON; Dustin Hoffman; Kate Winslet; Jennifer Garner; Mark Ruffalo; Greg Kinnear; Anne Hathaway; Timothy Olyphant; Michael J. Fox.

    OK, and I will stop now. #movienerd

  13. I will watch ANYTHING with Meryl Streep, Kevin Spacey and (like you) Toni Colette. I will not watch anything with Demi Moore; she gives me the creeps.

  14. I don’t really have deal-breakers. I have people I don’t really like, but if there are other good people in the movie I’ll watch it. Emma Thompson and Colin Firth are must sees for me. Also Helen Mirren and Johnny Depp. It’s a rare day when I don’t like a movie they’re in.

  15. Well, you know I cannot stand Denzel Washington. And usually Cameron Diaz and Tom Cruise but… I really liked that movie they were in this summer! 🙂 And I don’t like Jude Law that often, but keep seeing movies he is in 😉

    I will watch anything with Natalie Portman. Love her. And Ewan McGregor. 🙂 Liked them both before Star Wars. And Kiera Knightley. Like her. And Leo DiCaprio.

    Steven hates that girl from Bridget Jones. But loves Alec (sorry, Nilsa).

    Oh, the “T” is missing from Top Gun 😉

  16. I’m surprised by some of these answers! FUN. 😀

    My absolutely will not see it person is Paul Giamatti. I recently made an exception on that rule for a movie my husband picked out, and it solidified my decision all over again. I just cannot fucking STAND that guy! (Paul Giamatti…not my husband. I like him just fine. :))

    And I’ll see anything with Cate Blanchett in it. I love her! Or George Clooney…you know, if we’re being even with the sexes, here.

  17. Nick Nolte is mine too! He just makes my skin crawl.

    Also, for the record, I despise Jerry Maguire. 🙂

    I will see pretty much anything with Kate Winslet.

  18. Helen Hunt is the least actor I would like to see in a movie. I generally avoid movies with her in them. Only one movie comes to mind that she was bearable in – As Good As It Gets.

    As for the must view – John Cusack, with Philip Seymour Hoffman being a very close second.

  19. I can’t stand to watch any movie in which Madonna tries to act. It’s just… painful. Also Renee Zellweger. She’s so squinty and puckery. She’s nauseating to watch.

    I think my must watch list includes Sean Penn, Al Pacino, and Edward Norton. I don’t really have any favorite female actresses. I think? Hmm… I’m sure I will wake up in the middle of the night and think of someone.

  20. Ohhhhh I adore Emma Thompson. Ever since The Remains of the Day (one of my favorite books!) I’ve been drawn to her. I love Kate Winslet, too, so of course Sense and Sensibility is one of my favorite movies – plus it has Alan Rickman! Swoon.

    I tweeted about Jennifer Garner, but I didn’t mention Scarlet Johannson. I have seen movies of hers, but my god she bugs me. Her voice is like nails on a chalkboard.

  21. no no = david caruso (i mean, it’s painful, isn’t it? the sunglass acting.)

    yes yes = samantha morton, leonardo dicaprio, cate blanchett. also david morse and jk simmons win my vote for the most underrated actors around.

  22. I don’t know my actors well enough but hate Christian Bale (as if that ego wasn’t enough.) Enough that I’d skip a movie in its entirety. Billy Bob Thornton — he was good in sling blade but wow… fucked. Up. (Ditto the usual suspects here.

    Love love Matt Damon (silly I know) but his stuff is usually good and he’s just fabulous. Also have a thing for George Clooney. I say this, but I’m breaking the rules because I’m so damned fussy with movies. Shrug. I like weird independent shit.

  23. I won’t see anything J-Lo does. And I’m not a fan of Nichole Kidman anymore. Those lips are just awful.

    I will see anything starring Meryl Streep, Stanley Tucci, and probably Zac Effron… 🙂

  24. Can’t stand Hugh Jackman. And Mel is getting high on the “no thanks” list as well.

    Love Meryl Streep, Cate Blanchett, Robert Downey Jr., and Matt Damon. I was going to say Mark Wahlberg but dear god, even he couldn’t get me to see The Happening. :p

  25. oh i loved when you posted this yesterday but i couldn’t really think of anyone. however if heidi montag was to ever be in a movie there is no way i would see it. same with david caruso? does he do movies? i don’t even know but every time i happen across csi:miami i want to vomit, haha.

    however my MUST see a movie person is definitely joshua jackson or sandra bullock, i just adore them both.

  26. No likey: Katherine Heigel

    LOVE: Well, he’s not an actor, but anything Judd Apatow does I will see and I am obsessed with James Franco.

    And I have to ask . . . even Nanny McPhee?!?! (although I am currently watching Stranger than Fiction at this exact moment)

  27. Put Martin Short, in a movie to keep me away from it. Plenty of people think it’s funny but I think he’s just plain annoying.

    Robert DeNiro is a must-see! Also a fan of Morgan Freeman and Kevin Spacey.

  28. I call them the manboys, but Adam Sandler, Will Ferrell, Jim Carrey and Rob Schneider all seem to make films that only 12 year old boys could truly love.

    Please also send Madonna and Nicole Kidman the memo that it is time for them to sit on the couch and enjoy their millions – spend it on the kids, instead of trying to drag us to your mediocre movies.

    I do enjoy Maggie Gyllenhaal, Colin Firth, Kate Winslet and the occasional Julia Roberts.

  29. I loved all the answers as we all have such a different view on actors/actresses.

    NO: Adam Sandler, Martin Short, Tom Cruise, Vin Diesel, The Rock, Cameron Diaz, Jessica Alba, Demi Moore.

    YES: Dustin Hoffman, George Clooney, Will Ferrell, Leo Dicaprio, Merryl Streep, Kate Winslet, Cate Blanchet.

    There is a lot of hate for Tom Cruise. Is just for his crazyness or people really consider him
    a bad actor?

  30. Nicolas Cage will kill any movie for me. Cannot STAND the man.

    Not too many actors will make me want to see a movie exclusively because they’re in them, but Maggie Gyllenhaal and Kate Winslet can do that for me!

  31. I don’t have any use for guys who look like they could use a hot bath… Kris Kristofferson, Harvey Keitel, Mickey Rourke. I like the cleaner-cut preppies like Hugh Grant. My favorite movies include Out of Africa, Notting Hill, Legends of the Fall, Indochine, Room with a View… a weird mix. The actresses I don’t care for include Juliette Lewis and Chloe Sevigny.

  32. I’d have to agree: Tom Cruise makes me want to run away from a movie! I will watch anything that Joseph Gordon-Levitt is in though 🙂

  33. Deal Breakers: Leo DiCaprio is the first that comes to mind. I saw him in “Basketball Diaries” years back, and that did it for me. Sadly, I think he played the part TOO well. He’s probably a very nice guy; I just can’t get past that movie. [I am the only woman left on earth that has never seen Titanic…I REFUSE.]

    Must see: Sly Stallone, Jason Statham, Alec Baldwin and Bruce Campbell. What can I say? I love a man with a meaty head.

  34. Find Tom Cruise films off putting because they are about making him look like an amazing cool guy.
    Haven’t seen all Angelina Jolie’s films but the ones I have I didn’t like; they seem showy, all action no plot no real emotion.
    Jack Black is annoying. No fat girl would ever be allowed to be in that many films or play a romantic part, as in The Holiday. So until that happens…

    I like Reese Witherspoon, Heath Ledger, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Meryl, Morgan Freeman, Vigor Mortenson to name a few

  35. I refuse to watch anything with Nicolas Cage in it. He gives me the creeps. I absolutely loooove Robert Downey, Jr. and will rush to the theatres to watch anything that he’s in.

  36. I don’t go to the movies anymore and I don’t rent movies anymore. Not due to any philosophical or moral objection to them. I have 2 small children and that explains that.

    However, if I did still go to the movies, my one and only “hell no” movie person is Woody Allen. Used to love him and then he took naughty pictures of essentially his step-daughter, left them out for his essentially wife to find. And it was over. That is, my willingness to ever participate in anything Woody Allen related. Have to say that I’m starting to feel the same way about Mel Gibson.

  37. Hmmm, I don’t like Jim Carrey, but I have seen bits of his movies and I liked the Truman Show. The one’s I do not miss are Kate Winslet, Meryl Streep, Susan Sarandon and Emma Thompson (like you), as for men I’d have to say Anthony Hopkins (although sometimes he’s so good he scares me).

Comments are closed.