So That Happened

My sister, Dokey, and I were walking (somewhat illegally) down the street on our way to see Sufjan Stevens at The Paramount Saturday night. Part of the road was blocked off for construction so there was no sidewalk. We were headed in the same direction as the traffic and when the light changed a bus starts headed towards us so we picked up the pace. We were walk/running and I started to panic and Dokey was all “well hurry up!” and I laughed saying, “I feel like we’re in Stand By Me and I’m the fat kid and you’re Gordie.” I was SO Vern in that moment.

You kinda had to be there.

The show was good- definitely more a performance art piece and at points, a sensory overload but still, it was Sufjan which is a good thing in my book.

*****

We carved our first pumpkin together. And by we I mean Mr. Darcy carved it. I pulled out the guts and roasted pumpkin seeds.

Our First Pumpkin

*****

On the fly I decided to dress as Velma for the office Halloween party. I had the skirt and the shoes and glasses. Luckily I found the turtleneck and socks (which fell down all day long) at Goodwill on my way home from work the night before. I also scored a small ceramic dog which Mr. Darcy painted up with black spots and a collar to look more like a miniature Scooby.

Velma Dinkley of Scooby Doo

I am on the F.U.N. Team at work which means we plan parties and happy hours. We created a “haunted hallway” in the office with fake ghosts and spider webs and even a fog machine. Unfortunately with the door closed and curtains hung we were trapping the smoke in that area which set off the fire alarm FOR THE ENTIRE BUILDING. Everyone was forced to evacuate and wait for the firemen to come certify the building was safe for re-entry. Luckily it wasn’t raining but I’m pretty sure the rest of the agencies in the building weren’t too happy with us.

Oops.

****

Two months ago I balked at the idea of holding half-handstand for 60 seconds and yesterday I managed to hold it, entirely unassisted, for 30 seconds before caving. I have, please note, held plank and forearm plank for an entire minute during these past 60 days. When I stop and think about it, I am rather proud of myself. I hope someday to be able to hold half-handstand for a full minute. Maybe even someday do a full handstand.

I went ahead and invested in my very own high quality yoga mat and meditation bolster. I’m serious about my practice and now with my daily mediation, I want to create a welcoming space to devote myself to. I’ve taken to getting up earlier to do some yoga before settling down for my meditation every morning and am already starting to feel the benefits. It’s a peaceful way to start my day and I am grateful for it.

18 thoughts on “So That Happened

  1. Seriously, you held that freakin 1/2 handstand like a goddamn steel structure for 30 seconds. You were steady and strong…I was impressed my dear. I can see your strength in your self and in your body increase like totally, dude!
    Mad props!
    woo hoo!!!

  2. I LOVE the costume and the pumpkin. I also love that you are so proud of yourself about your strength (as you should be). It makes me happy to see you feeling good about yourself and noticing the awesome that you are.

  3. OMG your Stand By Me reference made me laugh out loud. I’m totally picturing your sister yelling “Train!” in slow motion. I love it. I went to school with Wil Weaton’s younger siblings so I have a huge soft spot for that movie.

    I saw your Velma outfit on FB and meant to comment. You are so freaking cute. And dude – the yoga dedication – ah maz ing. Seriously, good work.

  4. I totally got the Stand By Me reference– I think that means I’m old yet awesome, right?
    When I saw your costume on Twitter I thought it was so cute! And I think your yoga dedication is awesome– please teach me hand standing?!

  5. You are the perfect Velma! I always think of you when I see her. πŸ™‚ And I am SO relieved that you got your own mat. I was about ready to mail you one.

  6. I continue to attend yoga thanks to my sizzle-inspiration! Someone in our class has a yoga mat with a naked troll doll on it, which totally reminds me of you and the Living the Laugh of Luxury story! A couple of weeks ago “our breath was our soundtrack” for the entire time. Ugh, I’m not that focused to tune out heavy-breather guy for an hour without music. (this comment didn’t flow very well, but I now consider you my virtual yoga buddy!) :o)

  7. This post made me laugh out loud. I’m *always* Vern! And, holy crap girl, I dressed up as Velma this year, TOO! What are the odds? You made an adorable Velma!! Kudos on the yoga progress – you totally rock!

  8. You made an excellent Velma. I am glad that I read the post though because I was looking through when I got home from my vacation at about 2:00 in the morning…I was wondering why on earth you were wearing those red socks…LOL In my defense it was very late for me.

Comments are closed.