Happenings

I am popping in to say- I miss you.

I am up to my eyeballs in work. This is the start of my crazy busy season. Back-to-back Sunday fundraisers (last Sunday, this Sunday) and preparation for The Big One that hits in March. And then all the other little asides which aren’t really asides but they don’t raise $750,000 so they get lowered on the Must Do NOW List.

A fundraiser that is split between two Sundays is a special kind of brutal. You get to work 4x as hard that week in between. I laugh when people ask, “Why aren’t you taking time off since you worked over the weekend?” Haaa ha haaaaaaaa! Oh silly, the post-event work is just as much as the pre. There are people to be thanked and reports to be made. But with this one I get to do that and prep for the next Sunday. At least any errors made with the first one can be remedied for the next.

Bright side, people. I’m finding it.

And in the midst of my week where I am so busy some days I am unable to take a lunch, my work throws in an all day staff retreat. I was grumbly and pissy about having to give up a day to attend thinking I deserved special treatment since I am trying to raise $140,000. But no! And then I walk into the room with my grumpy attitude and the trainer busts out reciting one of my favorite poems and wins me over. I got so much out of the training. Oh Universe, you clever trickster. Thank you for making me remember that even supposed obstacles are gifts and to not forget the lesson. (I want to tell you more about what I learned when I have time. I was reminded that I have much work to do on empathy. We’ll talk about it next week.)

Meanwhile there are tenants who need keys or have leaking bathroom light fixtures and a laundry room that needs cleaning. There are repairmen to schedule and stoops to sweep and filing to be done. There is a boyfriend that I like spending time with and family and friends I don’t see enough of. There is a week-long trip to Jersey looming and a party at our pad next weekend.

There is life happening.

More soon.

13 thoughts on “Happenings

  1. I have to admit I thought you were going to say the trainer busted out in Kumbaya or something of the sort.

    Best of the luck with the fundraising! I can only imagine is a heck of a lot of work. Hope you get a break from it all soon though.

  2. Well for what it’s worth, you sound like you’re handling it all in stride. And that’s what’s important, right? Seeming like we’re doing well, even if we’re half dead. 🙂 Hang in there, super woman.

  3. “There is life happening.”

    I love that. Here’s to finding moments of peaceful respite amidst the crazy awesome madness. And I’m sure your fundraisers are going to be UHmazing. Because, well, you are.

    xoxo!

  4. Miss you, but glad that life is happening all around you. Best of luck with your work stuff and continued positive thoughts towards some great yoga sessions. Go get em’ Sizz!

  5. I tend to look at a busy season at work as being job security. So good on you. We don’t really have much of a down season at my job. Especially not since we’ve been RIF’d from seven people in our department to just four with little to no service cuts. But I like that the day flies by.

  6. A week-long trip to Jersey? Wow! That’s something to look forward to. And don’t forget about the stuff you learned that you want to tell us. That sounds good. 🙂

    Miss you! Hang in there — you’re doing great work!

Comments are closed.