Holidays Up In Here

I managed to pack in some holiday cheer this weekend despite feeling like I am fighting off a cold.

I attended the Figgy Pudding Caroling Contest and got to see/kiss on the cheek the lovely Pantsless in Seattle (she was wearing pants though, actually cute stripped tights). Their group, The Carol Brunettes, were my favorite and that’s not just because I love her blog.

Our 1st Christmas Tree

Mr. Darcy and I got our first tree together. We managed to pick it out, cart it home and set it up with nary a disagreement. Poor Mr. Darcy did have to screw, unscrew, then rescrew to right our crooked tree but besides that, it was a breeze. Of course, true to the Jones Family Way, I had to rearrange the furniture to accommodate the tree. The new set up will do until we host Christmas Eve festivities at our home. We like to just sit and look at the tree all lit up. Fills me with Christmas warm & fuzzies.

We went to the South Park Art Under $100 sale in support of my sister and friends. Those of you who have been around a year might recall that I participated in this event last year selling my handmade felt pins. I opted out this year knowing that I did not have the time to make enough goods to sell. My sister slaved away and managed to sell most of her handmade books. Hurrah! While waiting in a very long line to get in, Mr. Darcy and Supple drank contraband beers and we sang along to the busker as he busted out “Sweet Caroline”. I ran into an old co-worker who happened to be with someone I had never met who a) almost had my sister as her wedding photographer and b) reads my blog (Hi!). It’s a small world.

I heard “It’s a marshmallow world that we’re living in…” song for the first time. How have I lived 37 years with no knowledge of this song? I mean the Rat Pack sings it! And how does my own mother know it and I don’t?

I went to book club where in we spent more time talking about our lives than the book (typical, not complaining). We read These Is My Words: The Diary of Sarah Agnes Prine 1881-1901 Arizona Territories by Nancy E. Turner. Despite that lengthy title it was a quick, engaging read. I also read Zeitoun by Dave Eggers and highly recommend it. The book is the story of the Zeitoun family’s experience of Hurricane Katrina.There was a lot I didn’t know went on during that time and it is appalling how people were treated. The parts about the dogs left behind broke my heart.

We helped my Mom decorate her tree with the family. They went out to a tree farm along with our adopted family member, Supple. Mr. Darcy and I opted to support a local non-profit with our tree purchase. I remember one time my family went to cut down our tree. My dad left the saw somewhere and we wasted a lot of time wandering around searching for it because we couldn’t leave without returning it. Finally my mom found one lying on the ground and regardless of if it was ours, took it so we could get the heck out of there. (Good thinking, Mom!)

I took yesterday off because all weekend I felt run down. On Sunday I slept from 10pm til 7:30am then fell asleep on the couch til 9:30am then got back in bed and slept until 10:30am. I briefly woke up to eat an egg sandwich then fell back to sleep til noon. I NEVER SLEEP THAT MUCH. I’ve been pushing extra vitamins, drinking lots of tea and juice, Zicam-ing and taking my “placebos” as Kaply calls them. If it helps me to believe I am getting better and that is merely the power of positive thinking “healing” me then so be it. I don’t want to be sick. Who has the time? I certainly don’t. Besides, I got a flu shot. I thought that meant that after the injection I was in an invisible fortress of health. WTF?

Next weekend is crafting and holiday baking and a nephew date.

Is it the weekend yet?

 

17 thoughts on “Holidays Up In Here

  1. The Carol Brunettes is an awesome name for a singing group.

    I was nervous about picking out and decorating a tree for the first time with the Modern Love Machine, but fortunately he didn’t complain about my tacky colored lights ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. We also had to move some furniture to set up the tree. Just one armchair had to be dragged from living room to family room, but still. Especially with me being enormously pregnant, it was a challenge! However, we also did not have any disagreements while selecting and setting up the tree, so that was lovely.

    Your tree is gorgeous!

  3. So I picked up the book again after you guys left and couldn’t put it down. I am now pages away from being finished and taking my time because I don’t want it to end.

    Hope you are feeling rested and the sickness didn’t get any worse!

  4. Yay for your pretty tree! We are also a family of rearranging furniture to make a spot for the tree. It must be done. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Hope you’re feeling better soon!

  5. Congrats on getting the tree up without argument. My ex and I had a fake tree and before I even got it all the way up I remember threatening to stab him with an ornament hook if he told me it was crooked again. Feel better!

  6. I’d like to see some caroling action and the Carol Brunettes is an awesome name! Makes me want to start up a group here. Take care and hope you are feeling better in no time. xo

  7. So did you get to eat actual figgy pudding? I’ve never tried it, but I love all puddings (well, maybe not blood pudding or other weird non-dessert puddings eaten by English people). As curative placebos go, it seems like a good one.

  8. Beautiful tree! How I miss mine. I’m leaving on the 15th so it doesn’t make sense to have a tree this year, but I know what you mean by sitting and staring at it and getting all warm and fuzzy. Enjoy!

  9. Ah Christmas tree! I need to get my decs up. It’ll be Christmas by the time I remember.

    Was it weird meeting someone who reads your blog? I’ve never had a stranger say “Hi, I read your blog” before!

  10. i don’t have a tree since i have Evil Cats, but i was sorely tempted to get a FAKE tree this year…. except that i don’t know where i’d put it. i’m not sure there’s enough rearranging possible to fit a normal-sized one in my place!

  11. Might I recommend the movie “Trouble the Water” if you want another dose of Katrina stories? I watched it recently and it was pretty fascinating (and had some uplifting parts!)

    Congrats on the first tree together! We just experienced that too. It’s fun (even if it is a little bit of a pain getting it straight).

    I hope you feel better soon. Sounds like all your holiday hustle and bustle is what wore you out!

  12. We loved having you! And if you and Supple want to join us next year, I bet we could find you a spot. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Yay for the rest of your festive weekend. I hope your placebos help and that you feel much better very soon. Hearts!

  13. I have had a cold for months now and can’t seem to get better. I am going to say that since I had my flu shot too, there is just some monster sneaky virus that got us both and just doesn’t want to leave us.

    I hope you feel better soon! Hopefully all the sleep made you feel lots better.

    Your tree looks awesome! I love it!

Comments are closed.