Aftermath

You know when you work really, really hard on something and a lot is riding on it and it goes off without a hitch but you can’t feel the awesomeness because you are exhausted to the bone? That’s pretty much where I am at right now.

The fundraiser was a huge, massive, awesome success. At least that’s what everyone is telling me. And if wrangling over 1,100 guests and raising more than $833,000 (way over goal) doesn’t tell me it was a success, I don’t know what will. Even my boss, who we know isn’t the greatest at giving positive feedback (she’s been working on it), has been calling me the unsung hero and the heart of the event. My co-chairs gave me a gift and keep calling me a rock star. Mr. Darcy even came, donated more than we had agreed upon because he was so moved, and when he found me after proclaimed how proud he is of me. I was like, SEE?! This is why I have been out of my mind and working crazy hours.

There were the minor hiccups- People showed up claiming they were registered when they were, in fact, not. Some people tried to squeeze 11 guests at a table that fit 10 guests tightly. One of the power point slides did not have all the correct names of donors. And yes, someone kind of missed their cue but maybe only I noticed (and those in the front row who saw me scrambling towards them and gesturing semi-wildly to hurry the F up). And yes, our diva was very diva but also very real and funny when she ventured off her script- a script that was faxed to her about 30 minutes prior to her speaking which was pretty obvious as she held the paper up close to her face wearing her sparkly rhinestone reading glasses while standing at the podium. She did not get the name of the organization wrong. But when she sang? She blew the roof off that place. Let it be know that Ms. LaBelle has serious pipes.

Oh yeah. Patti LaBelle was our celebrity guest. And sheΒ  hugged me. And her piano player kissed my cheek.Β  SO THERE. Her whole crew was full of lovely people and while it was insanely difficult to get information out of them prior to their arrival, they at least arrived on time and delivered.

So now I am trying to do all the stuff that is required of an event planner post-event- like thanking everyone and entering all the gifts and making reports and debriefing with people. We got one email that had used an exclamation point at the end of every single sentence. And the email was 4 paragraphs long! It sang the praises of the event from start to finish and basically said that other non-profits should take a cue from us on how to run a successful, inspiring event.

Well I’ll be.

And now my life can resume some semblance of normalcy. I can go back to my regular work outs, cooking dinner and eating it before 9pm, seeing my boyfriend for more than 30 minutes before falling asleep, reading blogs and actually writing on my own. But first, a celebratory lunch with my coworkers and then a massage. Because, goddamn, I earned it.

 

33 thoughts on “Aftermath

  1. Congrats! I know what a great feeling that is — to raise that kind of money in these economic times is even MORE of a statement about the power and success of YOUR event! Go get that massage!

  2. I am so goddamn proud of you.

    Not just for the planning of an amazingly successful event.

    But for how dedicated you are, even when it’s frustrating.

    And for having integrity, for being passionate and learning to celebrate the (small and huge) victories for YOURSELF.

    xo
    J

  3. You are so amazing! Although I don’t “know” you, I feel proud just to know you. That non-profit is so lucky to have you!

  4. Wow, this is incredible. Congratulations! I cannot imagine the amount of work that went into your event. I’m helping to raise just $100K for charity here at work and it’s like pulling teeth! But I do relate to the late dinners, not seeing your man for more than 30 minutes, and missing exercise.

    Enjoy every second of that massage. You more than deserve it!

  5. Heck yes you earned it!

    (And the part about Mr. Darcy showing up and donating more and being so proud of you? Totally made me tear up a little. So sweet, you two.)

  6. I knew it would be great! Congratulations! Even if the work isn’t over, I am glad you’re basking in the success a little anyway. πŸ™‚

  7. CONGRATS! You should be very proud of yourself! Sounds like you should celebrate big time! Check out Ms. LaBelle’s recipe for mac and cheese. It’s the bestest EVER! My very favorite reward or thing to make a shitty day better. Have a stellar weekend!

  8. Congrats, Sizz!!! I know how hard you’ve been working on this, well, at least I have a sense of how hard you’ve been working on this. I’m thrilled your efforts paid off so well. Way to kick some event planning ass! πŸ˜€

  9. Congrats on the successful event.

    But wait… did you say normalcy would now return to your life? Since when is anything in your life “normal”? πŸ˜‰

  10. Aww, sizzle! I am so so proud of you!!! It takes A LOT to be organized and you worked really hard. You deserve all of that praise! And more! πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.