Splitting Hairs

(UPDATED: I HAVE ADDED PHOTOS!)

I have to break some news to you. Are you sitting down?

Okay. Good.

Let me just spit it out: I am chopping off my hair.

There. I said it. PHEW! I feel better.

It boils down to this: Despite enduring months and months of the in-between-hair-growing phase, receiving many compliments on my longer locks, and even liking the look of it myself, I have come to the conclusion that longer hair is just not me.

It’s quite a revelation, really. To be able to recognize what is oneself. To feel like you know yourself that well. I do not feel like me with longer hair. It’s that simple. I don’t regret the time spent growing it out because I needed the process to arrive at this place of knowing.

I don’t feel like I failed. I said I wanted to try having longer hair and I did. And now I get to cut it off and go back to being the true me- a woman who feels more feminine, more attractive, and sexier with less hair. I realize we are a rarity and well, that’s even more reason to rock the short ‘do, right?

Pictures forthcoming.

Chin length to. . . no length!

It’s not EXACTLY what I was going for but my hair grows like a weed and well, change is good. In person it looks a bit 60’s inspired.

38 thoughts on “Splitting Hairs

  1. I think women who look fantastic with shorter hair, should embrace it. You’re on of them!
    I could never pull it off!

  2. YES! I grew mine out before my wedding – just to have options – and I decided the week before the wedding that my option was to cut it off. Here’s to your sexy, short-haired self!

  3. I totally hear you on this! I’m the opposite, in that short hair is so not me (AT ALL)(I have photos to prove it) and so I stick with long hair.

    You, however, are a sexy woman with short hair.

  4. I’m SO EXCITED for you (and for me). Most of my friends (myself included) have long hair. I revel when I see women who can really rock out a short look and wear it with confidence. You are definitely one of those women, so I celebrate this time with you!!!

  5. Good for you! I love it that you know what’s right for you and didn’t buy into the chicks must have long hair bit. I keep my length a bit beneath my chin and you can’t even believe how much flack I get (especially from men at work) every time I get it cut. Like you, I feel so much sexier with it shorter. Length has NOTHING to do with how feminine I am. Drives me nuts how people get stuck on their hair. It’s just hair, it will grow, it’s not even alive, so they need to get over it.

  6. i definitely envy your short-hair-ability… i don’t have the bone structure (or the balls) to cut mine off. can’t wait to see after pics! 🙂

  7. I wish I could find someone to give me a short hair cut that still looks feminine but a little edgy. They always want to give me old lady hair…

  8. I’m excited for you! You really are someone who ROCKS short hair. Why try to be someone you’re not? If long hair isn’t you? Fuck it. Chop it off! (and post photos of your new cut!)

  9. We live in a place where we are free to do whatever makes us feel good when it comes to appearance. To not act on that feeling would be so wrong. You go!

  10. My mom has had short hair her entire life; it totally works for her too. (And my dad always thinks the chicks with the short hair look the best.) I rocked the Dorothy Hamill haircut, but stopped looking cute with short hair by HS and had to grow it out. :o) You, on the other hand, look fantastic with the short hair/cool glasses look!

  11. LOVE! It’s SUPER cute!

    (I’m a short-hair girl, too, and in a moment of “why can’t it be spriiiiiing” chopped off several inches of what was a chin-length bob and dyed the front peroxide blond. Whew – I’m back!)

    Enjoy that sassy new ‘do, gorgeous!

  12. CUTE!!! I think you look awesome with short pixie like hair. I got 11 inches cut off in November and now it’s finally past my shoulders again and I can put it in a pony. Embrace your new look. Relish in int. Take charge Sizzle! You rock!

  13. You look crazy adorable no matter what. It does look awfully cute on you. I wish I had the balls to go that short. Oh hell, I should just do it anyways.

  14. Hey, you gave it a try. Good for you! Besides, if you do end up having to think about what to do with your hair for a wedding, that sassy short do would look SO CUTE with a big flower or feather. 🙂
    I was trying to grow my hair past my chin, but I think chin-length might be my limit, especially since the change in weather is making the curl come out.

  15. I don’t know how you do it, but you rock that short haircut. Always looks absolutely fabulous on you. 🙂

  16. I love how you look with short hair so I am actually happy you cut it. It looks great both ways, but to me you look more “you” with short hair.

    And since I have only met you in person once, this may not mean anything. But you definitely look beautiful both ways.

  17. I, too, am one of those people who like my hair short. Super short actually. Sharon Stone of several years ago. But everybody else in my life says how much they like me in longer hair. It’s a drag. But I think it’s our hair and we have to wear it how it feels right to us. I’m off to the salon to tomorrow for a chop, myself.

  18. I hear you! I’ve tried going shorter because I think it’s just sassy and fabulous, and have realized that long is just more…me. Which I definitely wouldn’t have known, had I not tried (more than once) chopping it.

    Also, you look fab.

  19. a) I love your new hair b) I think you and Mr. Darcy are beyond cute and I am ready for you to start planning your wedding. Speaking of weddings, did you move forward with your wedding planning business? I might be really behind here. I think with your event planning experience you’d be a super success! And I know you had some great business names in mind.

  20. Very cute! As a fellow Seattle-it who is admiring your eyebrows as well – where do you get ’em done? I’m having a hell of a time finding a good place. Or for that matter, a good haircut.

    • I get my brows done at Cake in Upper Queen Anne. Tell Katrina I sent you!

      I also get my hair cut by D’Arcy at Emerson Salon in Capitol Hill. I think she does great work and is super affordable.

  21. I envy you!! I’ve chopped my hair off twice in the past four years (from boob-length to mid-neck length both times) and I just can’t pull of having short hair – I don’t know what to do with it, other than braiding it when it’s hot.

    Lookin’ good Sizzle!!

  22. I am in the exact same boat. I’ve been growing my hair out, but now I feel the urge to chop it off again. Clearly, I am meant to have short hair. And you look adorable!

  23. I totally understand! My younger sister is the cutest with short hair like yours. She’s tried growing it but she always ends up cutting it 😉 If you feel like you with shorter hair then that’s all that matters 🙂

Comments are closed.