Crossing the Water

Mr. Darcy is going to take his first ferry ride tomorrow when we embark on our trip to Friday Harbor on San Juan Island. (Remind me to tell you the story of when I first said the word “ferry” to Mr. Darcy and the conversation that followed it. In fact, he and I should just do a vlog and share it with you first-hand.)

We decided last year, in the middle of the night after being woken up by the sounds of drunk revelers from Gay Pride and the endless throbbing techno versions of songs from the likes of Madonna, Cher and Xtina, that there was no way we would stick around for that torture again. We live in the heart of the “gay neighborhood” and on a day-to-day basis I enjoy it but the weekend Pride hits it’s too loud, too crowded, too TOO. And so I will celebrate Pride from across the waters at a quiet little hotel in a big bed with no cats to bother me (bonus!).

I’m excited to stay at the Earthbox Motel and take them up on the use of free beach cruisers. Mr. Darcy has agreed to ride bikes with me! Maybe we’ll pedal out to a winery for a little tasting or just coast along checking out the town and the water. It’s a change of scenery either way and I am desperate for it. I’m sure to return with tales of our travels and photos to make you jealous.

14 thoughts on “Crossing the Water

  1. That sounds blissful! I’m actually right in the middle of Boystown here in Chicago and will be going to see the parade on Sunday… it might be my first and last, we’ll see.

  2. Have a wonderful weekend! I felt the exact same way about Pride when I lived up there. I usually escaped to another neighborhood.

    Enjoy the San Juans! I was just up there last weekend – it’s where we’re getting married! On Orcas, though, not San Juan.

    I hope Mr. Darcy enjoys the ferry ride 🙂 It’s such a beautiful trip.

  3. Sounds beauuuutiful!! Enjoy your weekend getaway! By the way, I totally saw your tweet on twitter, and thought you were on your way to Washington for some oddball reason. Now that I’ve read your blog post, definitely have a better idea of your island escape. Have fun. 🙂

  4. Sounds like an excellent plan! Reminds me of the senior who lived across the hall from me freshman year of college. He’d blast Madonna at volumes I never could have tolerated without 2 doors between us. At least I liked “Vogue.” 🙂

    Fleet week and Chinese New Year were the killers for me when I lived in SF. So loud with the jets and gunfire-like firecrackers people would put on the cable car rails. Do not miss that.

  5. 1. I want to hear/see this Vlog. (Also: That’s an amusing word to me. Vlog. Vlogggggg.)
    2. I LOVE ferries. They remind me so much of my childhood and week-long trips with my family to Port Ludlow and Port Angeles.
    3. Your pictures totally made me add Friday Harbor to my list of “want to see!” places.

Comments are closed.