Home Away From Home

After five days off, it’s hard to face returning to work today. Plus, it’s going to be 80 degrees in Seattle. YOU HEARD ME. Instead of sitting in a cubicle, I should be near a lake or pool, reading a book and eating watermelon. Sigh.

I took a quick jaunt to one of my favorite towns this past weekend for a solo getaway. Portland is an awesome town. Every time I visit I daydream of living there. Such cute houses! Awesome neighborhoods! Cool vibe! Friends!

Had a lovely breakfast with the lovely Kerri catching up and swapping tales at Gravy.

Met up with the beautiful Long Story Longer for mani/pedis and an afternoon of chatting. I have the best time just lounging and talking to her.

And of course, a visit to PDX is not a visit without time with my BFF Jenny Two TImes.

That last photo was snapped in a backyard where we were hanging with her girlfriend, drinking wine. Let me come clean: WE DRANK 3.5 BOTTLES OF WINE. Just me and Jen. The two of us. How did that “happen”?! And yes, we took a taxi home. And yes, I had a hangover from hell. I woke up with a start in an unfamiliar bed and a sore knee thinking WTF happened?! Then I looked to my right, saw Jenny fast asleep next to me and started to piece together how it all went downhill. Oof! Needless to say, I will be avoiding wine for a while. I drove back to Seattle in silence. The entire 3 hour drive- no music, just the windows down, and me and my lingering hang over.

But man, I love me some Portland. That is a wicked cool city.

18 thoughts on “Home Away From Home

  1. We just got back from the Bend area last night and are headed to Portland this weekend. I spent much of the 8 hour drive yesterday plotting how we can move to Oregon. It has become my two year goal.

  2. Such a great getaway! I miss my all girls time with friends, if only they all didn’t live so far away 😦

    Glad you had such an awesome time. And wine, yeah, I’ve been there with wine too.

  3. I hear such great things about Portland. Sweets and I were just talking about that city the other night. Your write-up is not helping me ignore it. ha.

    Sounds like you had a great trip and a very well deserved hangover. My guess is you’d do it all over again!

  4. Are you cheating on our fair city????

    I love Portland. We are going in the Fall and already my list of places to go is unmanageable.

  5. Sounds fanTAStic. The third act of a great girls weekend *needs* to include more wine than is necessary. Or prudent. Or responsible….not because we need to have drinking problems, but because everyone should have sisters that they can cut loose with and still be safe/happy/friends with the next day.

    Cheers to the quiet ride home!

  6. Everyone needs some girl time! Can you tell me how you make your photos so cute? Like a little poloroid instant thingy…xokh

  7. Glad you had a good weekend and got to see your friends! 🙂

    Friends really are the best. I hope I get to see mine sometime this year. (Not going to lie, trying to drag them up here, heh.)

  8. those kinda weekends are fuel pure. i always feel completely new born after girls’ weekends like that. minus the hangover. unfortunately that seems to be part of girls’ weekends a lot..

  9. I was just talking to a coworker this am who jsut got back from Portland! He loves it too. I hope to visit the west coast someday… but skip the 3.5 bottles of wine part 🙂

Comments are closed.