Fashion Forward 2

I frequent a local thrift store a couple blocks from my house. It’s hit or miss but when I hit, I hit it hard. That store must be the drop off for women who wear my size because a lot of other thrift stores only seem to have polyester plus sized clothing (ew!). I usually bee-line first to the dresses. I was attracted to the color and pattern of a dress and when I pulled it off the rack was disheartened to find it was long and definitely ’80’s inspired. I tried it on anyhow because I figured if it fit, I could just get it shortened. And besides, it had pockets. YOU KNOW HOW I FEEL ABOUT POCKETS IN A DRESS.

Needless to say, I bought it and thanks to my Mom, it’s now wearable.

Frump-a-lump to Sass-a-frass

This dress is super comfortable. I can pair it with flats or boots or heels, change up the belt and the jewelry to dress it up or down. And it was under $10. SCORE.

24 thoughts on “Fashion Forward 2

  1. I LOVE THAT. I love how you have so much style sense that you knew exactly how to mend it and what accessories to add. I’s love some fashion sense like that. And I rarely have luck when I thrift, which is why I never do it anymore. But now? You have inspired me. You look adorable, Sizz.

  2. Awesome find! I probably wouldn’t have thought of getting it shortened and left it at the store… good for you for trying it on and making it your own ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Holy crap Sizzle’s mom! That looks so awesome! I wish I could do that sort of thing, take something and sew/cut it into something nice. It’s almost like sewing is becoming a lost art (which I hope it NEVER does). This is friggin’ fantastic. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. You are so inspiring! I never would have thought to do that to that dress! It looks so modern after you shortened it.

    AND POCKETS!!! YAY!!!

  5. Adorable! It’s amazing what a little snip and stitch can do to an old piece of clothing. I turned a dress into a top this year after I got my sewing machine and felt like a whole new world opened up to me.

    Love the dress and love even more that you snagged it for $10!

  6. i can’t believe the change the shortened hem makes!! nice eye for seeing it, and nice skillz sizzle’s mom for making it happen!

  7. Adorable. Amazing what changing a hem can do. I’m impressed you took the dress home and new it had potential. Now we all just need to borrow your mom.

Comments are closed.