That’s Just Shitty

It’s no secret that I am over being an apartment manager. It’s four years now that I’ve been doing this gig and I am tired of dealing with the bullshit. While I love the ability to save and have extra money, the hassle of managing people, dealing with bullshit, and picking up cigarette butts (disgusting!) is outweighing the benefits.

Like recently Mr. Darcy and I have both had to sidestep dog shit that is perfectly placed at the driver’s side door of our car. We park in a long driveway back to back- sometimes he pulls in first, sometimes me.He’s inadvertently stepped in it. Yesterday I had to kick it out of the way. Our driveway isn’t really THAT accessible unless you come around the back of the building where it stretches along the side of the building. I find it odd that a passing stranger would climb past our cars, over the rocks, to let their dog defecate right next to our car.

I have a suspicion that it is the Music Man. Or rather, it’s his dog that he is guiding next to our cars to go the bathroom. That is SO like him. He’s spiteful like that. He’s monumentally pissed that the landlords are trying to evict him (a very difficult process which could take years, honestly) and probably still mad about the time we called the cops on him when he was playing his music insanely loud during quiet hours and refused to open the door (jerk!). I called him yesterday under the guise of checking on an appliance delivery that was supposed to happen on Monday and snuck in this, “Oh and I wanted to mention that someone has been letting their dog go the bathroom on our driveway right next to our cars. I’m sure it isn’t you as you are more conscientious than that but since you’re the only tenant in the building with a dog, I wanted to let you know and if while you’re out walking your dog you happen to see someone over there, could you please let us know? We’d appreciate it. Thanks.”

If I were to straight out call him on it he would lose his mind and go off on me. Frankly, I thought I would have a slashed tire so I suppose dealing with dog crap is not as bad but IT IS GROSS. And rude. And well, like I said, I AM OVER THIS.

It has gotten to the point where I have emphatically told Mr. Darcy, “I WANT OUT!” and now we’re in the beginnings of discussing the how. Will we rent a house or buy a house? When? We’re signed up for a first time home buyer’s workshop later next month to give us some much-needed information as we’re both going into this whole thing as novices and it’s daunting. Our friends live in two camps- those who hate owning a house and those who love it. What is right for us? We’ll hopefully find out and be on the same page.

 

17 thoughts on “That’s Just Shitty

  1. I still say we could kill the Music Man. I have a great place to hide the body and I am sure I could find someone to take the dog.
    You know, if something were to happen.

  2. Number one pet peeve of mine about owning a house is yard work. If you hate it as much as I do, I suggest a condo or a house with a small yard. Also, something to think about is you are responsible for repairs which can be hard if you are “house poor” as they say.

    Good luck! I hope you find the place of your dreams.

  3. i’m with hotpinksox – i don’t own, but YEARS spent doing yardwork for my parents = i am extremely hesistant to be in charge of my own lawn / trees / gutters / you name it unless i have a really good reason. like kids who need space and a partner who will do most of it.

  4. Ugh, I feel your poop pain, my husband was walking our dogs and there was a big pile inside our locked courtyard. It was disgusting so he wrote a note on our condo discussion board about it. We’ll see if it works.

    As for owning vs renting it is dependent on so many factors, are you going to stay in the area or do you want flexibility to move? What is the market like, do you have extra money for the unexpected fixes that always happen when you least expect it. But the flip side, is that it is yours, you can paint, decorate, update, have a zen garden if you want

    You amen Mr. DArcy will make the right decision and trust your gut!.

  5. I love owning a house with E, but if I were on my own I would probably just rent. That way I wouldn’t have to fix toilets or furnaces or anything.

  6. I hope you find the decision that’s right for you!

    Personally, I can’t wait until the day Vahid and I can buy a condo (preferably the condo that I’m currently drooling over in Portland, le sigh.)

    But I’m sure you’ll both be much happier when you move!

  7. My parents had a freaky lady who lived on their street and would always walk her dog right onto their front lawn to poop. I wanted to run her down with my car.

    As a recent homeowner, I have to tell you that if you go that route – prepare for stress. Though I think home ownership is a great investment, it’s a tense process and then you always find a million things that need to be fixed or updated or whatever. I miss the days of just being able to call my landlord to take care of issues. But maybe you guys are not big whiny babies like I am and you’ll handle the responsibility just fine! 🙂

  8. As someone working in the construction industry, I have a few recommendations:

    1. Only purchase a house that you KNOW you want to live in for at least 3-5 years.

    2. If you aren’t sure (job stability, economy, etc), stick with renting.

    3. If you DO opt to purchase a house, I recommend buying one made in the mid 90’s or EARLIER. I recommend the 70’s. You don’t want a house built within the past 5-10 years, as they are assembly line 60-90 day jobs. While they may look decent now, the raw materials and experience isn’t what it used to be.

  9. I love being a home owner but I have big dogs and I love working in the yard. Previous comments are right, there really is ALWAYS something you need/want to do to a house.

    Go to the class for sure and if and when you do decide to buy a home interview agents to make sure you find one that will work with you to find you what you want not what they want to sell. I have been keeping up with market trends and Seattle is actually one of the places in the country that is now seeing some of the housing prices fall like they have been in other parts of the country for years now. Do your homework and you can probably get a good deal on a great “starter” home for you and the Mr.

    Also as a former Realtor and loan officer please, please get the home inspected. Some people will tell you it’s a waste of money but it can save you a huge heartbreak and or money in the long run. Good luck with whichever way you go.

  10. I’m so sorry! Although I love reading your stories, I couldn’t last as long as you have. I had a neighbor putting cat poop on my steps last year. Right in the middle of my walk. I still have no idea who it was.

  11. Esso and I are now in a condo, and to be honest, there are times when I miss my detached house with a yard. There are even times I miss my apartment from when I was in school.

    Condos are great for people who like the idea of ownership without the massive personal headache of repair and maintenance. If you DO go the condo route, it’s important you look into the condominium law in your state (if there is one), and ask A LOT of questions of your lawyer and (if possible) the manager of whatever complexes you look into.

    Regardless, definitely get a home inspection. It is NEVER a waste of money, and a good inspector will be able to recommend a timetable for maintenance and/or repairs.

    Good Luck!

  12. I say you pack up that poo in a bag, set it on fire, and throw it in his window. SO HORRIBLE.

    We LOVE owning our home. It’s a lot of work, with the space we have, but we bought it for that reason. Matthew loves to putter. 🙂

  13. Oh gosh, not to mention all the house-shopping you’ll get to do should you decide to go through with this. I wish you the very best of luck, no matter what you decide! 🙂

Comments are closed.