My Week

It is so like me to use my week off at home from work to not relax but instead tackle a lengthy to do list. I made an initial list on Monday and subsequently have made 3 more lists after things had been crossed off and the list looked messy. Yes, I am that type. And yes, I sometimes write things on my list that I already did just for the satisfaction of crossing it off. What can I say? I like to look accomplished even if I never feel it. How can I when I keep making a new list?

Truth is, I took this week off to get shit done. We have a building inspection on Friday and every year after the landlords come out for this I get a list of things I need to do better or differently. I’m prepared for it despite having cleaned for hours this week. Yesterday alone I vacuumed 4 flights of stairs and all the stairs/landings, wiped down all the banisters, dusted every apartment door (that’s 29 for those who are counting), swept the balconies of nasty cigarette ashes, cleaned out ashtrays, empty the laundry trash, dumped a bunch of pamphlets some asshat keeps dropping off in the foyer- all in 1 hour and 40 minutes. I was a sweaty mess at the end. And there is still more to do! Thankfully Mr. Darcy pitched in when he got home so the list is shorter. I’ve left wiping the entry doors down and the laundry room for last because people will totally mess it up if I do it in advance. My life, it is very glamorous.

Besides all that second job stuff, I’ve done some projects around the house- little fixes here and there- and a deeper cleaning since our cats keep shedding and sometimes when the fans are on full blast (because it’s finally hot in Seattle) I worry we might accidentally eat a furball that’s flying about. Ew. I’ve got errands to run today and then tomorrow, TOMORROW!, is my day of rest and play. I’m certain to suck at it but am going to give it my best effort. My best effort includes- dance class, massage, mani/pedi, a chick flick, and maybe Thai take out.

I have not missed work one iota all week. I thought I’d spend some time contemplating my next move but I feel like staying at the job for the time being is the right choice for me while I focus on getting my side business up and running. Why yes, I am still working on that. I am actually 95% sure I am signing up for an on-line course about starting your own business to kickstart my lackluster progress into action. I have lots of ideas and no movement behind them. Hopefully focusing on getting it up and running will give my work life that jolt of energy and creativity I am currently lacking.

 

**Happy ending to the iPhone debacle: I got a new iPhone 3G for $80 under a battery malfunction clause which holds me over until the 5 comes out. When it does Mr. Darcy will use my 3 and I will get the shiny new one. We all win!

12 thoughts on “My Week

  1. I am the exact same way. 90% of the time when I take time off my to-do lists end up being a mile long!
    PS – I can’t wait to hear about your business — totally exciting potential new chapter!

  2. You know, even though it sucks to take vacation time to do work around the building and in your life, it’s going to feel so good once it’s all done. I hope you feel accomplished … and give yourself at least one day to play tourist in your own city!

  3. I am so excited for you to take a new class to learn about beginning a new adventure. How exciting!

    I add stuff to my to do list just so I can cross it off. I will never finish my real one so at least I don’t feel as bad when I have a lot crossed off.

  4. You are WAY more productive than I am. I’m so jealous!
    Also can I join you for that massage, mani-pedi, restful day you have planned? Because that sounds so much more fun than sitting at my computer and doing work.
    And yay about the side job!! You can do this!

  5. See if you can find the book “Quitter” by Jon Acuff. It’s about staying at your day job while you build up your side/dream job and not leaving too early so you are successful. I would definitely recommend it!

  6. My husband takes a day off and completely enjoys his time. I take a day off and clean the house from top to bottom. Or run all those errands for which I don’t have time otherwise. I need to take notes on his method.

Comments are closed.