Chaired

I was scouring the internet for weeks, checking Craig’s List daily when we finally decided to bite the bullet and just buy a brand new chair from Macy’s. It matches our couch in style though not in color. The blue does not match the blues in the rug but I’m going to pretend that doesn’t bother me.

It's a soft blue though the photo doesn't do the color justice.

And this? Will be our last big purchase until we move because we’re getting serious with an aggressive savings plan. We decided this over dinner at Poppy, a pricey restaurant in our neighborhood.

Do you have any budgeting tips that help you save? We’d love to hear them!

This chair is Cat Approved.

20 thoughts on “Chaired

  1. I use coupons and shop sales to buy all my groceries and house stuff. It usually allows me to save 40% to 60% on those bills. It takes some planning and a commitment to cooking, but for me, it’s worth it. I eat better this way.
    That chair is so pretty.

  2. It helps to make double-batches of meals and then freeze half of it, it’s convenient and the less time you’re at a store, the less chance you have making unnecessary purchases.
    If you want to treat yourself to something (be it fancy coffee & pastry or a good date night) put an equal amount of money into your savings account; this way you can get something nice every now and then and not feel guilty for spending the money–because fun is important too!
    -K

  3. The only thing that has worked for me is writing down EVERY expenditure, from a coffee-on-the-run to gas for the car to charitable donations I get hit up for by friends. This includes sitting down with the grocery receipt and writing down every item to justify it’s purchase. Try it for a week.

    After a time, you think about the need to write it down, the cha-ching deduction from your bank account, and in the process you might realize you don’t really want this or that. In the long run, your life won’t be improved by that purchase, so you put it back on the shelf, or drive on past that shop, or extract yourself from the line at Starbucks, and save yourself money.

  4. I, too, keep track of every penny I spend in a spreadsheet. I am aware of what I spend and ‘where’ my finances are but still trying to figure out hoe to save more!

  5. I started using mint.com to budget and I love it. It’s user friendly and has some great tools that give you a clear picture of where your money was going. I spent about a month or two gauging our averages, then figured out where I could cut most easily.

    Also, each time I get paid the first thing I do is transfer what I think is the max amount I will be able to save for that two week period. I usually get pretty aggressive since saving is my goal lately. Then, if I need the money I can transfer it back into my checking account, but honestly — I usually end up looking hard and fast at the necessity of that purchase because I don’t like taking money out of savings. It has really helped curb my impulsive spending.

    I realize this is all very simple advice, but it’s been working for me, so I thought I’d share!

  6. I am trying so hard to be better about saving money. I am trying to use coupons but I do find that sometimes they actually make the thing more expensice (if you buy generic with no coupon it is most of the time cheaper than name brand with a coupon).

    The chair is pretty! And I’ll be reading the comments to see if anyone has some good tips because I would love to know them too!

  7. What Michael and I always did, and what we tell clients is this: have 4 (I know, it sounds like a lot) bank accounts. Basically, there should be 2 individual spending accounts. Mutually agree how much you should each get per paycheck. Have that money go directly from your paycheck to that account. The rules for the individual account are: this is your own personal spending money. If you choose to blow going to Starbucks everyday, that’s your choice and the other person can’t get mad. Basically, you can do whatever you want with that money, no repercussions.
    The other account should be your bills account. Each puts in their half of all your bills. Pretty simple. Bills only come from here.
    Finally, the 4th account is for savings. Any extra money you can put in here, do it.
    OH. And. We moved to cash for our grocery and entertainment budgets. We literally took cash out and put it in envelopes once a month. Once the cash for the month was gone, it was gone. It forced us to be more prudent with how we spent the cash. We really saved a TON of money when we started doing that.

  8. Mint dot com, baby. It has completely changed my relationship with money. And you can set goals for yourself, and it recommends what to do to reach the goal amount by a certain date, and then it tracks it for you. On a pretty chart. And who doesn’t love a pretty chart?

    It takes a while to set up initially – you have to go through and categorize all your transactions, etc – but once you’re rolling, it is totally addictive.

  9. Haha two out of two professional felines endorse the chair. I love it. I’m not a methodical saver, but I know that my friend followed Suze Orman’s program for saving – where you put a cash budget in different envelopes each month and the rest of your money into savings. She and her husband got out of $15k worth of debt and bought a house within a year. So I think it works!

  10. Bring your lunch to work. Make your own coffee at home. Don’t go out to eat except once every couple weeks or so, then go for lunch or breakfast – cheaper. Get books at the library. Get as cheap an internet service as you can, shop around for it. Reduce your cable service – we pay ~$14/month w/Comcast Limited. Watching TV is bad for you anyway. Get DVD’s to work out instead of a gym membership – you can rent them at the library to see if you like them. Make as much of your own food as possible – learn to make you own versions of favorite packaged food, that’s healthier too. Switch to a cheaper grocery store – Costco, Albertsons, & Top Foods are the cheapest places IMO.
    Buy clothes at Goodwill, shoes at Target or Payless on the BOGO sale.
    Garage sales too.

    Is that enough? I’ve done all those things and more so we could live on one income and I could stay home with our kids.

    btw- so many coupons seem to be for a lot of processed foods so I rarely use them.

  11. bulk buying and cooking all meals in. All lunches packed! Drink at home more times. Buy less clothing. Only buy make-up twice a year. do grocery shopping with list and CASH. Stretch hair appts a coouple more weeks- hats baby! Um… do yr own pedicures and such. xoxoox

  12. I want to snuggle your kitties! I miss having pets.

    I know Vahid swears by Mint.com. When we were crazy broke, only one of us employed and very part time at that and living on pretty much what my parents sent me for school money, I stopped doing fun things. It sucked but we didn’t become homeless. We stopped going out for drinks, every week, that went to once a month and really it was just Vahid so he could see his friends. Movies became redbox only and only once a week. Things like that. Sometimes it’s the little things like instead of going out to eat make dinner and put that money in savings that really saved us.

    Although this could all be totally wrong for you but it did work us when we needed. Now every paycheck we put some in savings. I try at least $40 which doesn’t seem like a lot but I’ve gotten some pretty shitty paychecks the past month.

  13. Love love the chair! The cats haven’t gone all crazy on it have they by scratching it?
    Food is always the most expensive part of our budget. Whether we go grocery shopping or out to eat. It’s just too damn expensive. Ok I’m not being of any help!!

  14. I have money directly deposited into two savings accounts one for me and one for my two grandsons. One paycheck a month deposits into my account and one paycheck deposits into theirs. I think documenting everything you spend probably would help a lot, but I don’t do that. :-}

  15. Three words – okay, kind of just two given that one is hyphenated: Gail Vaz-Oxlade.

    She’s our Canadian Suze Orman, but way better in that everything she tells you is in layman’s terms. See if you can find “‘Til Debt Do Us Part” online and watch, watch, watch some more. She’s incredible. Strictly cash diet (no plastic – not debit, not credit, nada!)

  16. Ok, this sounds a little crappy, but the truth is you will never buy a house by skipping a latte. Do you know how many lattes you’ll have to skip to make that happen? And the other crappy thing is coupons. All the time and energy I could put into clipping coupons and scouring sale sheets is time and energy I could put into work – getting paid.

    I do three things.

    1. Get out of debt. Completely out of debt. Set up a handy dandy spreadsheet and list every single thing you owe – high dollars at top, low dollars at bottom. Now, everyone up top gets the minimum payment. Stop gasping and hang on. ALL extra money in your bill budget goes into the littlest one. Once that one is paid off every dime you were paying to the little one goes into the next one up. Once that one is paid every dime that went into the first two goes into the third – along with its minimum payment. And so on. It sounds incredibly simple – because it is. And it works.

    2. When you have everything paid off put every dime you were putting into that debt in the bank for the next six months. When you have your car paid for keep making car payments to yourself. Figure out how much mortgage you can afford between the two of you (or by yourself – that’s up to you two) and anything that is over the rent you currently pay GOES IN THE BANK! Why? Because it will show the bank that you can actually afford the mortgage you are asking them to give you.

    3. If there is any money left from a paycheck you didn’t need it, put it in savings. This does not apply to money that you take from two paydays to cover a bigger bill like the rent. This is genuine leftover money. It doesn’t happen after every paycheck, but even the now-and-thens will help.

    I know that all looks harsh, but here’s the truth – I owe exactly 1200 bucks on my house and 1600 bucks on my car because of all of this. A little austerity for a few years goes a LONG damn way.

  17. I love the bold colour of the cushion 🙂 Your cats are gorgeous, too, by the way. Good luck with the saving. I find you just have to set your mind to saying no to things you’d usually just go and buy without thinking about it. I find once I say no to pretty much everything I find it a lot easier and then I slowly re-introduce the less expensive things 😉

Comments are closed.