Cycle 1 Recap & Results

Today is my first day on Cycle 2 of the 17 Day diet which means I can introduce some whole grains, starchy vegetables and legumes into my meals (thank god!).

Cycle 1 was. . . a challenge. I ate a lot of taco salads (without any tortillas), salads in general, chicken, cauliflower pizza, kale and poached eggs, non-fat plain Greek yogurt (my favorite is Fage- I did a taste test), berries, clementines and grapes (other fruit is allowed but these were what I gravitated towards). I drank 3 cups of green tea a day and 8+ glasses of water (the water intake is normal for me).

Being on a limited menu like this requires a lot of pre-planning. You have to know what you are going to eat at each meal because you also experience hunger differently. Without all the carbs and sugar to distract my metabolism/digestion I could tell when I was hungry- often because I was becoming spacey or bitchy (sorry, Darcy). The worst is being caught without any snack to eat to stave off a meltdown. It’s not that easy to find approved food on Cycle 1 when you are out and about. Needless to say, I kind of avoided going out these past 17 days. It was just easier to control my intake.

Plus, with the restriction of no alcohol, going out seemed even more difficult. A lot of socializing centers around drinking. I miss my occasional glass of wine (or 3), I’ll admit it. I think the thing that was the hardest was no grains. I am looking forward to having some quinoa and some oatmeal. I’m also excited about beans. Beans and quinoa, people, that’s what is making me salivate. What has this Cycle done to me?! I’m not really missing sugar which usually is true for me after a couple of weeks avoiding it. I feel 110% better when I avoid refined sugar and processed foods.

I kept my normal workout schedule of 1 hour of dance 5 times per week plus added in 20 minute workouts at home on the days I didn’t go to class. This cycle said to do 17 minutes each day but I didn’t want to do less than what I already had been doing for months. I’m going to add in some pool time in this next cycle now that my tattoo is healed.

I told myself I wasn’t going to weigh in until the end of the Cycle but I lied. I had a few meltdowns about the whole process, wondering if I was doing the right thing, if it was going to work, feeling like I was going to be a fat failure forever (I’m dramatic, ok?) and so I hopped on the scale once or twice during this cycle. Today, I recorded all my numbers and in the interest of full disclosure I’m going to put them here.

Starting weight: 219.4

Weight after 17 Day Cycle 1: 213

Measurements: lost 1 inch around hips, waist, bust, and thigh

Now I move onto Cycle 2 which allows me to alternate Cycle 1 with Cycle 2. So every other day I can incorporate whole grains, beans and other meat and fish options. I’m giddy with the possibilities. I’ve got a bunch of recipes I’ve been holding for this part. The hard part might be alternating between eating those things one day and being back on Cycle 1 limited diet the next. I’m committed to going through the three cycles to see how this all pans out. I already feel better about  my body have just dropped that inch around and those 6 pounds.

20 thoughts on “Cycle 1 Recap & Results

  1. Lurker comment – Nice work! It sounds like you’re feeling good. I’ve been thinking about your post from a couple of days ago where you mentioned that your co-workers were commenting on your food. So obnoxious. I think that many people who would be considered slim eat this way most of the time (vegetables, fruit, beans, chicken). Those who say they can eat anything but still keep their weigh down? They’re either lying or they’re in their early 20’s. 😉

  2. Congratulations! Is there something you can guide me to on the internet to take a look at what you are doing? I have been trying to eat raw type foods, however I still get pulled in by fast food every once in a while. What can i say, I like it!

  3. When I first read “clementines,” I thought you were eating a lot of those little French cookies that Proust loves, and I was like, “Wow, I’ve got to try this diet!” But then I remembered those are madeleines.

  4. I tried to do this this week and failed because of poor planning. You inspire me to reset and plan plan plan. I will blog my experience for accountability. Go you. Go us.

  5. Awesome! Cheers to quinoa and oatmeal, I understand the cravings. I’m amazed at your workouts, I just didn’t have the strength to continue my longer workouts the first go around. You are a rock star. 16 more days until a glass of wine, you’ve got this!

  6. Well done missy! I find it challenging too, FWIW. (Maybe support knowing other people are out there.) It’s nice to see noticeable result too.

    On getting caught without a snack, can you have almonds? I usually keep them in my purse, I find about 5 or 6 does the trick.

  7. I’ve read up on this diet, after reading Foo’s posts as well. I’m just not sure how to do it vegetarian wise, I know that they have some ideas on their website… I think I am holding out until what I am doing isn’t working any longer. (I joined WW) I am so glad that it is working for you! You and Foo are inspiring! Good luck and enjoy those added grains!

  8. *Chest bump* Yay you!! I’m very excited about your success! I did great the first couple of days and then the weekend arrived… which involved a trip to our favorite Mexican restaurant and too many Tres Generaciones margaritas. I hate being so weak 😦 But I have started back on it this morning determined that I CAN do this and your blog is just what I needed to give me that added boost of motivation! Keep up the great work!!!

  9. You are doing a really awesome job. Don’t think otherwise! By the way for snacks, can you eat things like healthy trail mixes? I get these small trail mix bags from Trader Joe’s (y’all have Trader Joe’s in Washington right?) and take one out when I’m a little hungry (I put them in my drawer at work). Definitely helps! Also maybe you can put a fruit in your bag? Usually apples will do the trick for me.

  10. your willpower is OUTSTANDING. i’m so impressed – that sounds extremely difficult (but obviously well worth it)! i could definitely stand to do a bit of a “metabolism reboot” to stop craving ONLY sugar and empty carbs…

  11. After reading your post, I went right out and bought the book. (Ok, I downloaded it to my Nook, but still). I’m on day 4 and you are right, it is a challenge. However, being a nurse, this is the first diet that made healthy sense. Good luck and thanks for introducing your readers to a great program. 🙂

Comments are closed.