A Little Get Away

Mr. Darcy and I left town for a night to meet up with one of his best friends and his girlfriend in Port Townsend. They were coming from Philly by way of Portland by way of Victoria, BC to Port Townsend. We had a much easier trip.

Leaving Seattle

We took the ferry to Bainbridge Island then drove about an hour and a half to Port Townsend. We stopped off in Chimacum to grab a drink at a gas station mini-mart which is where a woman asked us to help her find Arizona tea in apple flavor. It had to be apple because her son specifically requested it. Her son that was at home drinking tequila. She kept reminding us of that. Apparently apple is the only flavor that goes with tequila. She was not that old though time had not been kind to her. Probably having a son at home drinking tequila at 1:30pm on a Saturday didn’t help. Stay klassy, Chimacum.

Port Townsend is a quaint little town. No, really- it is small. We checked into a motel (definitely not a hotel) by the harbor then went into town for a bite. We were at that odd hour right before dinner where restaurants weren’t really open so after wandering around and getting hungrier and hungrier, I finally was like WE ARE EATING HERE when we came upon a restaurant that was actually open. I was about to rip off Mr. Darcy’s face and eat it. The food was totally overpriced but good. The potato & corn chowder was delicious. And I think that would be true still even if I wasn’t famished.

The views were pretty spectacular.

Once our friends arrived we already had a lay of the land and had scoped out places we could go. We spent the evening catching up and having some drinks in a cozy little bar and I crashed out at 11pm. I did go off my diet a bit and had some wine. I was regretting that around 3am when I woke up with a beast of a dehydration headache. It’s hard to travel and be on such a strict eating regime. Sigh.

Obligatory trip self-portrait.

The next day we were up early, so early that we had to wander the empty streets to kill time until the breakfast placed open at 10:30. Even most of the shops were closed still! We took some local’s advice and checked out Fort Worden.

We walked along the beach and admired the view.

We headed back towards Bainbridge and somehow managed to get on an earlier ferry. I was all set for a 50 minute wait when the line kept moving and there we were, on the ferry. We parked and a second later the boat was moving. Woo hoo! No long wait.

Oh Seattle, I love you so.

We decided to throw an impromptu dinner party for our visiting friends so I whipped up some beef chili and sour cream cheddar biscuits.

This recipe is delicious. Thanks Smitten Kitchen!

We all hung out until after 10 which means I am one tired girl today.

It was worth it though.

17 thoughts on “A Little Get Away

  1. Your rip-off-Mr.-Darcy’s-face-and-eat-it comment just made me laugh out loud at my desk. We had a similar situation in Venice. This is why I try to remember to carry power bars in my purse…

    Glad you had such a fun weekend!

  2. That getaway sounds fantastic, as does the food! Always love the photos of you two. I don’t remember Port Townsend from my visit to Bainbridge. Will have to look it up.

  3. I need a little getaway. Am I allowed to say that a couple days after returning from a little getaway? But, seriously, I need one.

    Your little getaway, missy, looks like it was so much fun. Though, I think I’d turn into the she-devil if there was no good food to be had on demand. You’re a more patient lady than I am!

  4. I really enjoy reading your blog — you always make me smile if not laugh hysterically. What a cute couple. YOU are gorgeous — both inside and outside!

  5. Love Port Townsend! We go there pretty frequently, as family lives near by. The famrers market on Saturday mornings (Spring-Fall) is the best.

    And what you experienced in Chimacum is pretty much par for the the course! πŸ™‚

  6. Catching up on life (ok, google reader) and realizing that not only am I woefully behind in life, but I love that return ferry trip back toward Seattle and haven’t made the trip in years. Years! Like I said, woefully behind on life. And on little getaways. Must rectify.

Comments are closed.