Cycle 2 Recap & Results

Today is my first day on Cycle 3 which basically means I get to eat carbs on a daily basis. I can even have a whole wheat pita if I want. GO CRAZY! I’m kind of looking forward to it because I found Cycle 2 to be a real pain in the ass.

On Cycle 2 you have to alternate Cycle 1 and Cycle 2 menus every other day. Essentially that means that one day I could eat a small potato or a bowl of oatmeal but the next I was back to all veggies and lean proteins. Rinse, lather, repeat for 17 days. To keep track of this I had to mark which cycle day it was in my calendar. I found it annoying and cumbersome. I get that the idea behind it is to trick your metabolism into not plateau-ing and continue losing weight. It’s just a hassle to go back and forth like that.

I’m trying not to feel discourage based on the results thus far. I feel like I have been very diligent in sticking to the diet give a glass of wine here or there (on vacation, at a dinner party). I have had exactly one square of dark chocolate to appease the PMS gods. I’ve all but eliminated refined sugar and white flour from my diet. It feels good to get back to that kind of eating. I really do feel better when I don’t eat sugar.

My digital scale has been wonky. One day it’s all “you’ve lost 15 lbs!” and the next it is all “you gained 5 lbs.” How is that possible given there were only 24 hours between weigh ins? I have no idea. But today my scale told me I weigh 207.4 lbs which means I’ve dropped 12lbs since I started this diet 35 days ago. That seems like not enough given how much I work out and how well I have been eating but thems the results.

Starting Weight: 219.4

Weight after 17 Day Cycle 2: 207.4

Measurements: 2 more inches around waist & hips

Once I hit 2olbs lost, we’re gonna have a party. That will mean I’ve hit my first goal of going under 200. I’m still going to see this third cycle of the diet out to its completion and then reassess. I’ve read the results of other people on this diet and they seem to have more drastic weight loss than me. I’m not sure if the fact that I have consistently been working out for an hour 5-6 days a week during all the cycles has done anything to impact this? Or if I need to add in strength training to my dance & yoga routine? I’m considering going back to the pool 2x/week for a different work out to keep my body guessing. Mr. Darcy and I keep talking about going on walks and so far, have gone on zero.

For the most part, I feel good. My clothes are fitting better. I can see parts of my body getting smaller. I am eating less and better. This is just the first leg in a long journey towards changing my body. 34 days is a good start. 12lbs and 3 inches total around my middle lost is progress. I’m not giving up.

(I promise this is not going to become a weight loss blog.)

 

12 thoughts on “Cycle 2 Recap & Results

  1. Blog about your weight loss as much as you want. It’s YOUR blog after all.
    I figured losing 12lbs in that amount of time is actually really good. I know it’s pretty bad to drop a lot in just a few days or eve a week. Also with the exercise perhaps you’re building muscle which weighs more and that’s maybe why you think you’re not losing as much as you probably are?
    I’ve heard all sort of good things about strength training (I, uh, have yet to do it). But it definitely helps you lose weight (over time) and you have to combine it with cardio. So alternate on different days. (I only know any of this because of Matt.)
    You are doing a hell of an awesome job!!

  2. Hey lady! I think 12lbs in a month is GREAT! It’s a little over average (10 lbs a month ish) and when you consider that you’re continually strengthening with your workouts, it totally makes sense. Don’t get discouraged! Plus, 3 inches is a lot!

  3. You’re doing awesome. A couple of years ago I convinced myself to start running, even though it felt completely foreign to me. I never lost a pound. Long story short, I gave up running after reading a few articles about how it can allow your body to actually hold onto fat (for some people, clearly me).

    Btw, even though your numbers may be different than other stories you are hearing, I PERSONALLY think 12lbs is amazing!!!

  4. My darling, 12 pounds in a month is AMAZING. I have to say, I think shows like “The Biggest Loser,” while inspiring, have given all of us really wonky perspective on what constitutes “progress.” 12 pounds in a month? That RULES. I’m so proud of you!!!

  5. Don’t be discouraged! My Doctor (and most programs like WW) say that an average weight loss of two pounds a week is healthy and sustainable. You’re doing awesome!

  6. Girl, you’re doing great! LIke Angella said — that’s a good weight loss pace. If you lose a lot of weight quickly, you’re more likely to put it back on. 2-3 lbs a week is the ideal pace. Celebrate the inches you’re losing! I know you know this, but working out = muscle = screwy stats on weight. You’re becoming stronger and leaner, and obviously you’re feeling better. That’s an amazing transformation, and one that is so hard to make.

    Don’t feel bad about blogging it either! I blogged my own weight loss journey, and it kept me honest and accountable. We’re here to help you celebrate the victories and offer encouragement when you’re feeling discouraged.

  7. I love reading your posts about becoming more comfortable in your own skin…they’re so relatable. So let this turn into a weight loss blog if that’s what’s happening with you right now; one of the reasons I love your blog is that it seems like it’s a genuine “you,” all the time. So if weight loss is the current headline in your life, so be it.

  8. I was just chatting with a friend over the weekend about how it’s so good to measure body parts because the scale gets stuck sometimes. I actually think it’s far cooler to see inches come off than pounds. And check you out with your shrinking waits and hips! That is seriously impressive.

  9. Congratulations and good job…if you can, I would add some strenght training. The more lean muscle mass that you have the more fat you burn. Please stop watching what other people are losing and only focus on yourself. At Weight Watchers, the people with more weight to lose, often lost more per week than most others. Most people on WW only lose 1 to 2 lbs a week and that is considered very good. You are doing very well…ACCEPT IT. šŸ™‚

  10. Hey Sizzle, I’m Urmi. I’ve been reading your posts for a little while now (I clicked through from Alida’s blog), but this is my first time commenting. You have an awesome blog.

    12 pounds and 3 inches? Them’s some amazing numbers! Congratulations! You are doing great – and are losing at a faster rate than I ever did, for what it’s worth. When I changed my lifestyle a few years ago, the weight came off fast at first, and then after the first month it was a pound a week, and some weeks, nothing. Please don’t be frustrated if the scale doesn’t always seem to reflect the hard work you’re putting in. Random spikes could be anything – the time of the month, how much water you drank, the last time you did a number two. I found it helpful to plot my weigh-ins on a graph. Over time it was easy to see that even with the little stops and starts, the general trend was down. Once you internalise that, you won’t sweat every little fluctuation. Of course, if the scale doesn’t move for 3 or 4 weeks, you probably need to shake things up. And pounds aren’t everything. Inches, body fat percentage, how your clothes fit, are all much better indicators of your progress than your body mass (btw – the commenters above were spot on about weight training).

    I’m not familiar with the 17 Day Diet. Do you have a plan for what you’re going to do after the diet ends to maintain the weight loss?

    I tried my best to keep this short but didn’t do great. Seriously, I could write a novel on this stuff. šŸ™‚ All the best. You got this!

    Urmi

Comments are closed.