Let it Rise

If you follow me on Twitter or Facebook you already know this news but I had to share it here too.

I made bread from scratch. BREAD FROM SCRATCH!

BEHOLD! BREAD!

Sorry to anyone who thought I was going to announce my engagement. PSYCHE!

I realize this might be a common occurrence to some and others might be all, “but you can buy bread at the store…” but to me, the making of this bread is secret wish fulfilled. I always wanted to be the type of person who could make bread from scratch. I’m pretty sure it all started back in grade school when I would visit a school friend’s house. She was one of many siblings- I think 8- and they were all squished into a small house (what house wouldn’t seem small with 10 people in it?). They were a loud, close Italian family and their mom would make bread from scratch. I found this out one time when I went to sit on a trunk covered in a blanket at the end of a bed and squished a couple of loaves. Oops. There was bread silently rising all around the house!

There’s something so simple and rustic about making bread with your own hands but I’ve always been afraid I would mess it up. I attempted to make pretzels once and it was basically a disaster though Mr. Darcy still ate a couple, bless his heart. This recipe was discovered thanks to Pinterest (love Pinterest!). The words “easy” and “no knead” were in the name so I figured it was worth a shot. While the recipe is simple, it is a bit time-consuming as you have to wait a while in between steps. This isn’t for someone wanting quick bread. I started the bread on the afternoon of New Year’s Eve and it was ready to eat for New Year’s Day crabfest at my sister’s house.

To break it down for you- you mix the yeast with warm water, flour and salt, cover that and let it sit for 12-18 hours. Then you fold it over onto itself 1-2 times then let it rest for 15 minutes. then you roll it into a ball and wrap it in a lightly floured, clean dish towel, putting cornmeal or extra flour on the bottom. You cover that with another dish towel and let it rise for 1-2 hours until it doubles in size. You pre-heat the oven about 20 minutes before the bread will be done rising and put the dutch oven in the oven while it pre-heats. Once that’s all done, you gently put remove the bread from the towel and put it in the pot with the lid and let it bake. Basically this bread is a 24 hour process but the recipe is really clear and the bread? IS SO GOOD! Seriously, everyone in my family ate some-  my nephew included even if it only lasted 2 bites.

I just ate the last of it this morning. It’s so good toasted with some butter. (Oh, why yes, I am not currently following the 17 Day Diet thankyouverymuch.)

If you’re thinking about making bread, try this recipe. I’m going to try whole wheat next and maybe one out of spelt flour. Right after I feed the chickens and milk the cows, that is.

22 thoughts on “Let it Rise

  1. Lovely! The smell of bread baking in the oven is divine. I love baking bread! Have you heard of Artisan Bread in 5 minutes? They have a Healthy version as well. You basically create a starter and keep it in the frig, that way you don’t have to wait for all the rising during the week. I recommend it.

  2. There is something really beautiful about homemade bread, especially when you can use the word rustic to describe it (love that word!). Over the holidays, I made homemade cinnamon rolls, which included homemade dough. Like your bread recipe, there were a lot of steps and quite a bit of waiting between some of the steps. I’m not sure I’d do that recipe again, but I’m glad I gave it a try!

  3. That’s a beautiful loaf! I try to make our own bread as much as possible, and every couple of months vow to make all of the bread we eat, but with two kids and working full time it doesn’t work out for very long. Still, it’s one of my favorite things to make! You should check out the Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day books. It’s so easy and you get a few loaves out of mixing the dough once. They even have a healthy breads book that’s pretty wonderful!

  4. This recipe sounds really familiar. I think we made it a few times a few years ago, and it was amazing. Now that you’ve got the method down, you can experiment with mixing up the flours, like half wheat and half white. Can’t really go wrong.

    OK, so you inspired me to floss my teeth last night, and now I want to make bread this weekend!

  5. It looks delicious. Ever since I got the bread machine and started making my own bread, I have been ruined for store bought. There is just something about freshly made bread that can’t be beat.
    Also, I could have told you that you’d be an excellent bread maker. Jeez.

  6. I recently made bread from scratch, too! Like you, I was super daunted by the whole idea, but really REALLY wanted to try it. When I found this recipe (given to me by my boss), I had to try it. So simple, so yummy! Glad you found it!

  7. Dude. That loaf is gorgeous. Seriously. Mr. W has made bread a few times now and his didn’t look like that. How was your density on it too? He can’t seem to figure out how to get the nice air bubbles inside that make it more like a good sourdough.

  8. I love to make bread, as does Mr. Mom, although we get lazy and don’t do it often enough. Congrats on success your first try — no small feat!

  9. Go, YOU! (If work didn’t block the Internet, this may have been old news, but NO!)

    I have a wicked buns (bread, not glutes) recipe if you ever want it. 🙂

  10. Your bread looks wonderful! It’s very satisfying to make bread. I, too, am dieting so I haven’t been baking breads for a few months. Because I will eat the hell out of them, cannot resist. Oddly, I can bake sweets and never touch them, but not so much when it comes to bread. Anyways, just wanted to share a rising secret with you, especially since you live in a damp climate. I live in Florida and our humidity can really screw with bread making. When you put it in the bowl to rise with the towel on top, put the bowl in your oven- with no heat on- just turn on the oven light and shut the door. Leave the light on the whole rise time. Creates a perfect environment for the bread to rise.

    I love the tradition of bread making. Wonder if the Italian family you mentioned has members that still bake bread like their mom. I keep and use a sourdough starter that I received from my mother-in-law that she has kept going since 1972. It would be one of first things my hubby would grab if our house was on fire. He adores what I make with it and is very sentimental about it.

  11. Have you ever tried the Artisan Bread in 5 minutes a day recipe? This sounds very similar, although you don’t have to wait 12-18 hours for the initial rise. If not, email me and I’ll send you the recipe. It makes a weeks worth of loaves and is literally fail-proof. The only problem is, you’ll end up eating a loaf of bread EVERY NIGHT!

  12. It turned out so beautiful. And awesome that it tasted wonderful as well!

    Making bread eludes me! It seems so tricky! But I like this no knead recipe! 🙂

Comments are closed.