A to Z

One N Jen saw this A to Z meme over at A Girl and a Boy and since I think they are both swell and it’s time for some frivolity around here, I decided to play along.

***

A. Age: 38 (I will be 39 in two months. NOT THAT I AM PANICKED.)

B. Bed size: Queen sized dreaming of a King.

C. Chore that you hate: Taking out the trash & recycling. Luckily for me, Mr. Darcy does it.

D. Dogs: Someday! Mr. Darcy and I really, really, really want a dog (though don’t tell Dot & Dash).

E. Essential start to your day:Breakfast, preferably involving a protein and some black tea.

F. Favorite color: I’m always drawn to red but lately I love yellow, green and aqua.

G. Gold or Silver: Silver but I have warmed to gold and wear it frequently.

H. Height: 5’3″

I. Instruments you play: I took guitar when I was 10. I was pretty good except I wouldn’t make time to practice. I really want to take lessons again – 28 years later. I have an acoustic just sitting in my living room taunting me.

J. Job title: Event Manager for a non-profit that helps foster kids, Apartment Manager, soon-to-be owner of Jubilation: Wedding & Event Management.

K. Kids: I just got engaged! Give me a break!

L. Live: Seattle, WA in the Capitol Hill neighborhood.

M. Mother’s name: Mary Kay

N. Nicknames: Sizzle, Sizz, Jonesy, etc.

O. Overnight hospital stays: Zero (knock on wood) but there was that one emergency room visit when I cracked my head open.

P. Pet peeves: Drivers who don’t grasp the concept of merging. People who don’t hold the door for you. Not washing your hands after going the bathroom. Not RSVPing to an invite. Tardiness. Phrases like “awesomesauce” or “obvi” and the like. (PLEASE MAKE THEM STOP.)

Q. Quote from a movie: “BABY FISH MOUTH!”

R. Right- or left-handed: Right

S. Siblings: Younger sister, older half-brother.

T. Tattoos & Piercings: I have a tattoo of a butterfly on my upper hip/butt from when I was 19 or 20 plus the word “Be” on my right wrist. Considering getting my dad’s name in braille dots on my left arm (he was blind) and also still want the bird tattoo I’ve been dreaming of for over 3 years. My ears are pierced (they once had double piercings but I’ve let them close up).

U. Underwear: Yes I wear them. There was a time when I didn’t and my mother said to me “Your vagina is going to catch a cold.” (direct quote)

V. Vegetable(s) you hate: I can’t really think of one I hate…I don’t love tomatoes unless they are really ripe (mealy tomatoes are the grossest) and I HATE pickles but those aren’t vegetables technically. I love veggies!

W. What makes you run late: Changing my outfit. Being on the internet.

X. X-Rays you’ve had: I once twisted my ankle because I was doing dance routines in my bedroom and probably had to get x-rays then I think. I broke my collarbone as a toddler when I fell from a trunk. I had climbed up to open the blinds or something because my sister was awake. Or I wanted her to be awake to play and was waking her up. Either way, I was clearly being a troublemaker.

Y. Yummy food that you make: My nephew thinks my pancakes are the best. I make all kinds of yummy stuff.

Z. Zoo animal: The zoo kind of makes me sad. When I do visit, I always want to go see the gorillas and the meerkats.

14 thoughts on “A to Z

  1. “Drivers who don’t grasp the concept of merging.” <— This, so much. I've been thinking of Seattle drivers lately and I'm pretty sure that 90% of my gripes of them would be solved if they learned how to merge.

  2. Obvi you are just too uptight, because I am awesomesauce (sorry! Couldn’t resist).

    I wish Seattle drivers would both learn to merge *and* learn to only pass in the fast lane. Makes me crazy!

  3. You are swell and I love you. Even though I say ‘obvi’ ALL THE TIME with zero hints of irony and 100% because I love that word. Love it.

    But also I had a dream about John Cusack last night. That’s not that weird. I dream about John Cusack a lot. The weird part is how I woke up and was all, “I dreamed about John Cusack! SIZZLE!” And then I was all how did that “happen.” Because it’s like a new word association in my brain. Maybe because you got engaged post-Say Anything? Also in my dream I was quoting SA, especially all the air quote parts.

    Obvi.

  4. I was in a public restroom the other day and a woman exited without washing her hands. I had to bite my tongue from saying anything. I so wanted to scream, “For the love of god woman, wash your hands!”

  5. OK, so people don’t know how to merge in Seattle either? I thought it was just MN! Maybe bad drivers are… EVERYWHERE.. Gah.

    And your mom’s name is Mary Kay? I can only imagine she’s absolutely darling.

  6. Baby fish mouth is a close second to “is one of us supposed to be a dog in this scenario? I am? I am the dog. I am the dog”

  7. Ha! My sister’s and I always thought it was so gross that my mom and aunt didn’t wear underwear to bed – they would say “You have to let it air out!”

Comments are closed.