Pretty Things- A Chance to Win

I was recently invited to a local shop opening by my friend Chris. She just so happens to be a really awesome lady AND a business lawyer who specializes in working with social media/bloggers. This is the kind of person you want to know! Her firm, Short Cressman & Burgess PLLC represent the owner of Cameos & Crowns and threw the party. I would have never seen this little gem if it hadn’t been for her invitation. It’s located in the neighborhood of Madrona- which is the cool ‘hood nearest to my work.Sometimes my coworkers and leave cubicle land for lunch at a yummy Thai restaurant there.

I got to meet the owner, Lynette Vertoch, a seasoned business owner who relocated from Los Angeles to Seattle with her family. She never intended to open another shop (this is her 4th) but here she is with Cameos & Crowns. When I asked her how she chose what went into her shop she said, “It’s just things I love.” Lynette clearly has impeccable taste because the shop is full of beautiful things- delicious smelling candles, gorgeous jewelry, soaps, and lotions. It’s a perfect shop to get a gift for someone (even yourself!). There are letterpress cards which are my personal favorite. I need to go back and buy the one that had a picture of a donkey with the words, “I’m an ass.” I haven’t recently offended anyone (I don’t think?) but I want to send it to someone.

She even makes these really cool dish towels and generously gave me a few. She also gave me this amazing basket full of candles- Saint Parfum, Linnea’s Lights, Aquiesse, and Voluspa brands- plus lotion and Butter of London nail polish. I am such a sucker for candles. It’s one of those indulgences that I usually can’t justify spending my money on but I always want. Sandalwood scent is a particular favorite of mine. You just have to take my word on this but my house smells amazing thanks to these candles. Bonus: romance lighting!

Lynette and Chris have offered a gift bag of goodies to one of my readers. Lucky you! You don’t have to live locally. They will ship it to you.You just need to leave a comment here telling me what kind of pretty little thing you’d want if you were going to indulge yourself. A candle? Some perfume? New earrings? What?  Bonus entries for those who go and like the Cameos & Crowns page on Facebook.

I’ll announce the winner on Monday.

***

Chris is for hire. Check her out!

41 thoughts on “Pretty Things- A Chance to Win

  1. This comment is for Kerri (Anne) who wanted to talk in third-person, too. She’s a big fan of Chris and thinks there is probably no such thing as too many earrings.

  2. I have been dying for one of those Voluspa candles for ages. I hear such good things! What a fun giveaway on a dreary day, thank you!

  3. I just finished “liking” the Cameos and Crowns FB page and took a tour through the photo albums. What a beautiful little shop! I love to support small businesses…just wish Seattle was just a liiiittle closer ;). If I were to indulge on a few pretty things to spoil myself a little, my list would have to include a pretty scarf (I’m a bit of a scarf-aholic, truth be told); gorgeous smelling candles (I, too, am a huge fan of sandlewood scent); funky jewellery; flavoured teas; and, yummy-smelling lotions (who doesn’t like to smell like a cupcake?). Thanks Sizz for a fun contest – we all ought to indulge in ourselves more often!

  4. I’m not sure what is indulgent at the moment other than a magazine, a latte, and 2 hours to flip through it in peace 🙂 I took a tour through the Cameos and Crowns. I love the German Easter eggs – they remind me of the year that I spent in France, filled with small chocolate eggs. YUM.

  5. This is exciting! Their store looks like one I love in Philadelphia. I would go for some earrings because I see a lot of gorgeous ones on that table that are just what I have been searching for. Beautiful. I love finding gems like this in cities. 🙂

  6. For me, new earrings or an extra dark chocolate are laways the best mood boosters 🙂
    I like the C & C FB page as Lena Maxwell.

  7. I would definitely indulge in the candles! I used to have a big assortment of them, but now they I’ve moved in with 2 greyhounds, I use them up pretty quickly. My collection is almost gone! (the dog farts…PEEEEEE-YEW!)

  8. Cameos and Crowns is definitely on my go to list of shops when I need a little retail therapy. Love the smells and atmosphere of her shop. I like to indulge with buying myself a candle or perfume, the TokyoMilk Dark scents are especially divine. I also really love the Butter London nail colors. Always have the hardest time choosing just one…. or two. 🙂

  9. Her site definitely does look lovely. It is the kind of store I love to peruse in.

    Hmm… as for what I would want. Trick question! One of everything! I love the scented candles, soaps and lotions. The scarves are gorgoeus, though I don’t normally wear them.

  10. What I really want is a pedicure and a cup of coffee, neither of which is a *thing* exactly. I would love new earrings, which are the very sort of thing I never spend money on.

  11. Let’s see, indulging. How about one of everything???? I usually can’t resist in stores like that.

    I love the colorful earrings in your photo. That’s probably what I would pick.

  12. Thanks for introducing me to this cute business! I’m a sucker for stationary so would probably snag some cards and that fun wrapping paper in the pic. That is a cute donkey.

  13. Hmmm… I have to say the candles really appeal to me, too.

    (Now I have yet another fun place to visit when I move to Vancouver this year, because I’ll need a lot of things to furnish/decorate my new home)…. Thank you for suggesting it, and for hosting the giveaway!

  14. I love earrings. And scented candles. And pretty much everything in those photos! I work nearby in Leschi and must go check out this shop! Perfect, as I am always late picking out brithday presents!

  15. I love scented candles, and right now with 3 pets who have decided to spray their scent everywhere in my apartment, I need them more than ever!

  16. Is the pink fabric with Eiffel towers on it a dish towel? If so, that is so what I’d indulge in (Pink might be our new kitchen accent colour as a result). Lately my fun pretty indulgences have been mostly scarves. I’m getting addicted…

    (PS, love, love, love the new blog design!)

  17. Oh, this would be fun to go to after a lunch date with my girlfriends. I don’t usually read about local places online 🙂 I love to buy candles as an indulgence. It’s fun to change the scents with my mood and there’s just something comforting about watching the flame.

  18. I’m a sucker for a unique necklace. I honestly feel like my outfit is incomplete until I put on a necklace. Whenever I feel like treating myself necklaces are the first thing I think of. In fact, I just treated myself to a lovely bone and silver one today…

    I may have a problem since I have somewhere in the neighborhood of 75 – 100 of them…

  19. What fun stuff! I’d love to get a candle. Although I DO have a candle hoarding problem, so maybe I should opt for something else…. 🙂

  20. Well I now have a “must visit in person” shop in Seattle. Thankfully a close friend just moved to Portland and has been pestering me to visit since before he left. I love jewelry, but don’t change it often (the earring I’m wearing have been in my years since before Halloween). I think I’d probably get myself a candle or something else that smells pretty and Monkey a pair of those gorgeous earrings. 🙂

  21. I just “liked” Cameos & Crowns on FB. Oh my gosh, so many cute things! I need to start saving now to have a shopping spree there. *sigh*

  22. I’ll definitely be checking out that store; its exactly my kind of place. For my entry, I’d love candles or the dishtowels you mentioned. The placement of the merchandise in her store is beautiful as well.

  23. Pingback: Pinteractive 2 (plus winner announced) | Sizzle Says

Comments are closed.