The Devil is in the Details

Amidst all this house buying and job changing and moving plans, we ARE still making progress on our wedding plans. Once we had all the big stuff decided about our wedding, it felt like we could take it easier. But last night Mr. Darcy finished designing our invitations and they are SO AWESOME. Trust me. And no, there are no robots on them.

I haven’t written much here about our plans because I’m not sure what you want to know. What do you want to know? I’m happy to tell you!

I’ve already written about my dress and our honeymoon destination.

We’ve selected Skillet as our caterer. It’s the place we dined the night Mr. Darcy asked me to marry him (sentimental) and the food is delicious (smart). We’ll be doing heavy appetizers instead of a sit down dinner instead of calling it a “buffet” we’ll have “food stations” which will help with the flow of the space and allow for more mingling. Since a lot of Skillet’s food is seasonal, we’ll be doing the tasting and deciding on the menu later in the summer. We are hoping they can come up with some East Coast and West Coast influenced bites (I’m thinking fish taco and Philly Cheesesteak sliders) to go along with our whole theme.

We will not be serving cake. GASP! But instead we’re going to have ice cream from Half Pint and pie from A La Mode Pies. Why? Because, yes, cake is delicious, but I love ice cream and Darcy loves pie. And pie and ice cream go together so well! This way people can have both or one and the kids will probably love the cones. Oh who am I kidding? I WILL LOVE THE CONE. I haven’t been eating refined sugar, grains, or dairy for over a month now so our tastings for these delights will be a treat. An interesting treat (that will hopefully not make me sick).

Our photographers are a lovely couple behind One Love Photo. We spent a couple hours hanging out with them at a coffee shop and it was just so easy and fun. We’re looking forward to spending our happy day with the two of them and their amazing artistic eye. We just scheduled our engagement photo session with them. We’re hoping to return to our neighborhood, the one where we fell in love, and capture shots of us in our old haunts. And no, I’m not already worried about what I will wear. (That’s a lie.)

When we were in Portland weeks (months?) ago and I happened to find my wedding gown, Mr. Darcy and I also had a big talk with Jenny Two Times. She is one of my oldest and most dear friends and I really wanted to include her in the ceremony somehow. We’d gone twenty rounds about who should perform our ceremony. In the end, it was Mr. Darcy who suggested we ask Jenny Two Times to marry us. We took her out for a drink and Mr. Darcy was starting to set up the ask when I had to nudge him under the table with a “hurry up!” look because I could tell she was getting confused and concerned. He finally blurted it out and she looked at us stunned. Then she cried. Then we all got weepy. And she said yes. We’re so excited to have such a dear-to-us friend perform our ceremony.

We’ve hired a friend that I work with to be our day of coordinator. I figure that if I want people to hire me to do this for them, I should put my money where my mouth is! We also hired a band for our ceremony and cocktail reception. My favorite local band, The Local Strangers. I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT THIS I MIGHT BURST. I also secured my hair stylist and a make up artist- both casual friends that I will enjoy spending my morning with. They are sure to help alleviate my nerves or pour me a drink.

I did buy two pairs of shoes that are currently on their way to me. One pair is teal t-straps, the other is gold glittery with a small bow. I figure I can always return the pair I don’t like but I had to make a decision so I can take my dress in for alterations. We also bought the Maid of Honor dress and depending on how it looks/fits, I can move forward with searching for the little extras for the guys who will be wearing tuxes (even Finn, our ring bearer!) but who will get a little funk in the form of socks.

What else do you want to know?

13 thoughts on “The Devil is in the Details

  1. Reading posts like this, it’s hard not to compare to my own wedding. Or not really compare, but to think about the similar decisions I had to make. What I love about reading posts like this is that your decisions dramatically differ from some of my decisions, but I KNOW your wedding is going to be gorgeous and perfect and so very you, just the way it should be!

  2. Sounds like so much fun!! Yay for Jenny Two Times and a Band and pie and ice cream! We had pie at our wedding, and people LOVED it (I think people get tired of cake at weddings).

  3. I’m all giddy and smiling – you’re making remember our wedding planning. 🙂
    I can’t wait to see how it all comes together!

  4. I would like you to tell us EVERYTHING. It’s so much fun to read about all your details – and they all seem so YOU. I think it’s awesome you’re doing ice cream and Philly cheessteaks. This wedding is going to be Sizzle and Mr. Darcy all the way. Can’t wait for the pictures!

  5. Your wedding sounds like it’s going to be amazing. I can’t wait to see the pictures!

    Also, congratulations to Mr. Darcy on his new job! I so wanted to comment on that post when I read it yesterday morning, but I was on my phone and didn’t have time to dink around with it.

  6. Please post all of the details!! I would love to see the invitation… please post it… you can black out the details of where the wedding will be so that you don’t have stalkers/wedding crashers show up.

  7. I love hearing all the details! Especially that you are having a friend do the ceremony! We had a close family friend do ours and it meant SO MUCH to us!!! 🙂

  8. i LOVE the details! share them all! 🙂 (another vote for a view of the invites here, too!)

    i cannot WAIT to see everything come together – i totally envy your style and know this day will be awesome & classy & unique & beautiful 🙂

Comments are closed.