It’s Moving Day

Today is The Day.

Last night after packing for upwards of 8 hours (interspersed with a trip to our house and subsequently breaking our back door knob), I lost it. As in I broke down crying while attempting to help Mr. Darcy roll up a rug.

Seeing our apartment boxed up, the curtains taken down, the dust bunnies the size of Dash, shook me. I dislike chaos and miss the comfort of my routine. I spent 4 years making this apartment into a home and the prospect of starting over in a bigger place that we own is daunting. Eventually I will hopefully just feel excitement but right now I feel sad and a little lost.

I know it’s time to move on. Just like when I lived in The Cruz and decided to move here. It was hard to leave and I felt many mixed emotions but it was the best choice of my life. Look it where it led me? To this- engaged to a sweetheart, buying a house together, and planning our wedding. All my dreams are coming true. I’m so immensely grateful even while I am completely freaking out.

16 thoughts on “It’s Moving Day

  1. That’s our human state (or our female state perhaps) . . . we freak out while our hearts are completely full. Congratulations! This is a big moment. Savor it in between the tears. Life is sweet-salty that way πŸ™‚

  2. Moving, like weddings, does funny things to people. It’s ok to mourn the loss of your apartment. Good things happened there. Just remind yourself there will be many more good things that will happen in your new home and new life with Mr. Darcy.

  3. I know exactly how you feel. It’s tough, but just like any other time (and just as you said), it’s something new that you will get use to again, build a life together in your new home. Give it some time, and before you know it, this place will be home! (I’m still getting use to mine. It’s going to take some time.)

  4. Of COURSE you’re freaking out! This is a huge change, on top of several other huge changes. Give yourself permission to feel a little bit sad – burying that because you “should feel happy” never works, and usually makes it bubble up. This is a happy time, yes, but it’s also OK to mourn letting go of something. Love you!

  5. “All my dreams are coming true.” Man that is a great thing to read!

    Good luck with all the chaos. It will sort itself out soon. Excited for your new chapter. Have a nice little carpet (or hardwood?) picnic with crappy appetizer food and wine or something celebratory. These are the days, lady. Big changes, but big memories.

  6. Congratulations! I am very similar to you in that I get very sad and sentimental when I leave a home I’ve lived in, especially when I’ve been there for a long time. I relate. I love your new house! Enjoy this time – and my best to you and Darcy!

  7. If overwhelming gratitude didn’t freak us out it would mean we weren’t taking the time to be grateful in the first place. And, yeah, owning a house is dreamy and daunting– equally, I think. Roll with it the best you can, and know you deserve all the good stuff.
    And I, for one, am really looking forward to seeing what you do with your new place, because I know it’s going to be lovely!

  8. There there there Sizzle, it’s going to be alright, (said as I pat you gently on the back) better than alright even. Going to be awesome. Don’t rush it, take your time, enjoy arranging your new life together. Yay.

  9. Congratulations! Leaving your old familiar place can be sad and stressful. Soon you’ll look forward to creating a home together with Mr. Darcy. It’s a new and exciting chapter. I hope it’s full of good luck and happiness!

  10. It’s OK! Goodbyes are hard, even if you are moving on to bigger and better things. I think it just means you acknowledge how important that part of your life is/was to you. Then you clear out all those sad feelings to make space for the awesomeness that is about to ensue.
    Also, moving will bring the toughest mother to their knees. Because it’s pure hell.

  11. Crying is exfoliation for the heart, time to fill up your heart with new beginnings! Thanks for sharing all this excitement for someone who is approaching 16 years of marriage and various episodes of home-ownership it is so.very.exciting!!!!

  12. I’ve been keeping up with your statuses on FB, but haven’t been able to catch up on your blog until now. This is so exciting!! To see all of this coming together!! The house, the wedding, Mr. Darcy, everything! πŸ˜€ Ay chica, how truly beautiful life is!

Comments are closed.