I’m the Bride

For as much planning as I’ve been doing for the wedding, I haven’t spent too much of that time feeling like a bride. I’ve been too distracted with the cancer stuff. Even as we check things off our master to do list, I’m not 100% in the moment of wedding bliss. For as excited as Mr. Darcy and I are to be married, it’s difficult to not acknowledge the current place we are in. I’m pretty sure the last few months have aged us. I see more gray in Darcy’s hair and much bigger bags under my eyes. I had such different priorities when we got engaged and now all I can think about is clear margins and what ifs.

But yesterday, amidst all my worrying and recovery, my Mom and sister threw me a lovely bridal shower brunch and for the first time in months I was able to just be Sizzle the Bride.

I’m getting married in 6 weeks. Eek!

My mom and sis outdid themselves with the spread. It was so nice to just sit around a table with some of my best girlfriends and laugh.

I’m lucky that I work with awesome women whom I call friends.

At first I was against having a bridal shower. I didn’t feel like I needed one more party, especially when we were already asking people to come to the wedding, buy us a gift, and attend a bachelor/ette party. Besides, many of my dear friends live out-of-state. But after some cajoling, I agreed to the shower on the condition that no one could bring me a present but instead everyone would bring a candle and we’d do a gift exchange. That way everyone went home with a little something.

I happened to get an owl candle which is perfect for our guest bathroom (there is an owl theme emerging in there).

My sister outdid herself with the little matchstick jars. When you unscrew the lid there is a place to strike the match. It says “A Perfect Match”- how cute is that?

My sister, Little Miss Creative. Somehow I didn’t get a photo with my Mom. Probably because she was in the kitchen making the deliciousness happen. I was very distracted drinking peach bellinis and blackberry gin fizzes.

It was such a treat to spend the afternoon with wonderful women. I’m so very lucky to have great girlfriends. Thank you to all my sweet friends who came to celebrate with me!

21 thoughts on “I’m the Bride

  1. What a sweet little owl candle. Totally fits you, bathroom theme or no.

    I am thrilled you had a chance to be the bride and JUST the bride. Here’s looking forward to How Will Sizz react to the Actual Wedding Jitters being the biggest question on the horizon.

  2. Loved the owl candle! Loved your sister’s match thing too … but she has such a cute face, why did she pick such oversized glasses to sport???

  3. I love the candle idea!! (and the perfect matches!) I’m so glad you were able to just sit back and enjoy a day with your friends. I had a hard time allowing that to happen during our engagement, but every time I gave in I ended up being filled with joy.

  4. Seriously, if you need any help AT ALL for your wedding, let me know. I had a small wedding (30 people) and I could not have survived without my friends’ help. I handled all the big stuff, but towards the end I felt like I couldn’t do one more task, so please…if you just need me to drive you around or make phone calls or anything, I totally will. I know you have lots of people to ask for help, but I’m just putting this out there. xoxo

  5. That sounds like a perfect shower. I love the no-gift/candles and matches idea. Nice!
    Thinking of you, Sizzle the Bride! πŸ™‚ xo

  6. Every bride deserves to feel special. I’m glad you allowed yourself to have a shower, to be showered with love and to spend time with those people who probably are supporting you most during this crazy year.

  7. I am so happy you had a chance to be the bride! What wonderful friends and fam you have. You’re all so beautifully stylish!!!

    And that owl candle? I cannot wait to see the owl themed bathroom!

  8. What a great idea for a bridal shower! (This is why you are going to be an BAD ASS event planner.) Well, I mean, I think you already do that in you day job — but you know…when you go out on your own! I may have to steal this idea when I get to that phase of engagement/wedding-ness. The thought of people showering us with gifts when we have lived together FOREVER always makes me feel a little uncomfortable. Such a good solution! πŸ™‚

  9. 6 weeks? Holy shit!
    Hooray for you and girlfriends and relaxing!
    I am sooooooo lucky that I have not yet had the responsibility of helping with a bridal shower. I am terrible at planning those sorts of things. The few showers I’ve been part of, usually my friend Heather would do the hostessing and I would do the games and photography. Since Heather moved away, no one looks to me for showers. Heh.

Comments are closed.