Honoring My Dad

Last Friday would have been my father’s 85th birthday. It sounds so odd saying that. EIGHTY-FIVE? Where has the time gone? He’ll forever be stamped in my memory as younger – a boney man with an unsteady gait, soft brown skin creased by time, gray eyes behind glasses that became unnecessary when blindness struck, weathered hands that smelled of cigarettes, and a surprisingly deep voice for a man who was under 5′ 10″.

I’ve been wanting to get a tattoo to honor him for a while now and have been ruminating on one in particular- his name in Braille dots. After pondering placement (I wanted to avoid a freckled area which on me is hard to do) and talking it over with friends, I decided to finally get it on his birthday. I like symbolism and symmetry and all that jazz. My sister came with me for support and to photo document it.

Happy birthday, Dad. You’re always with me.

11 thoughts on “Honoring My Dad

  1. Love it so much! And great pics!

    Totally unrelated, and this might just be me, the more your hair grows out, the more you look like your sister.

  2. Sizzle,
    Yesterday would have been my dad’s 86th…gone for almost 19 years and I still miss him every day.

    I hope for you the good memories will help to overcome the memory of the loss.

  3. LOVE IT! My dad died almost 2 years ago and I am trying to find a very personal way to honor him myself. You have given me ideas!!

    You, Sizzle, are such an AMAZING person! I hope that you let yourself see in you what everyone else see’s. Beautiful. Amazing. Woman!

  4. I appreciate what you’ve done but especially the way you’ve done it. So very sweet and such an interesting combination of a public display with private import. Those who know what the dots signify, know, but for the rest of the universe those dots represent something very special and private and intimate. Thanks for sharing it with us.

Comments are closed.