I’ve got my mind on my money & my money on my… wedding

We’re 23 days away from the Sizzle & Darcy wedding.

CAN YOU BELIEVE IT!?

You can’t? Me neither!

As the day draws closer we are knee deep in details. Ok, to be honest, I’m about elbow-deep in details but I like to get my stressing out of the way so I can enjoy big events. Ask anyone who has seen me in action on the day of an event I’ve planned. I’m cool as a cucumber, even when raising close to a million dollars is on the line. I can be that way because I’ve planned in advance. This time I’ve gone one further and hired my proverbial ace in my pocket, my friend Amy who does day of wedding coordination (among many, many other skills she has. . .she also makes a potent yet fancy jello shot). Everyone keeps asking me incredulously, “Are you really going to be able to not be an event planner on your wedding day?” And the answer is, “I’m going to do my best not to.” I truly want to just be the bride and that’s why we hired Amy. I trust that she will take care of everything I’ve turned over to her and even think of stuff I’ve missed. I’m meeting with her this morning to talk over the plan and get her expert opinion on my wedding timeline. I’m currently worrying I haven’t timed things correctly. I’m too close to this event (um MY WEDDING) to have an unbiased eye.

I’m hopefully picking up my dress today and it will be the last time I ever have to step foot into that sad David’s Bridal alterations area. Whether they have fixed it or not, I’m taking the dress with me. I bought a pashmina that I may or may not wear. I’m still looking and thinking on the whole cover up issue (thank you to all of you who sent me links and offered to make me one- I have the nicest readers/friends!).

I’ve had to come to terms with the fact that I’m not going to have a wedding you’d see in a bridal blog. I sheepishly had to admit to myself that I was holding that ideal in my head so it’s no wonder I was stressing. I put a lot of pressure on myself to get this just right because I am an event planner by trade and I wanted some attention for the details we dreamed up. Since confessing that this was driving my perfectionism, I feel better. Like I let myself off the hook a little. Our wedding will be amazing because WE ARE GETTING MARRIED and our closest friends and family will be there supporting our union and hopefully dancing their butts off. Absolutely nothing else matters except the fact that at the end of the day, I will be married to Mr. Darcy.

Reality checks are good.

Here’s a mini-checklist of things we are working on:

  1. finalizing menu
  2. decoration making (girlfriends are coming over next weekend to assist)
  3. vows & ceremony writing (along with our officiant, Jenny Two Times)
  4. hair & make up run thru
  5. ring bearer pillow sewing (I wanted to make at least one thing)
  6. day of poster designing (so as to not waste trees- Mr. Darcy has got this)
  7. first dance practicing
  8. marriage license getting
  9. confirming honeymoon plans
  10. flower purchasing & bouquet making (thanks to my sister this is handled)

I’m getting excited!

11 thoughts on “I’ve got my mind on my money & my money on my… wedding

  1. Yay! I’m so excited for you 🙂 I got married in March this year and in the run-up I was a bit of a stressball about all sorts of things and particularly remember getting upset because I didn’t like the way they did my hair at the practice and there was no time to book an alternative. I so get what you mean about pressure from looking at too many bridal blogs.

    But on the day itself, it somehow didn’t matter anymore. These are the things I especially remember: (1) the ceremony room doors opening and seeing my fiance standing at the other end, looking so handsome and smiling at me as I walked towards him, and (2) glancing at the assembled guests at the end of the ceremony and somehow being surprised and delighted to see all my old friends/family faces looking out at me (weird, because, um, we invited them so it’s not like I didn’t know they would be there.. but I was still all “Oh, look, there’s Ben, and Steve, and Annie, and Aunt Karen, and…”!)

    You and Darcy will have a fab day, I know it 🙂

  2. It certainly sounds as though you’ve thought of everything. Whatever good advice you’d give to your best bride if you were planning her wedding give to yourself, then I say trust your instincts, step aside and let Amy the Amazing take over.

    Here’s sending positive thought waves out for a day of love and wonder. Waves and waves of love and wonder (…love and wonder…….love and wonder).

  3. If that list is all you have left to do? Well, you could skip almost all of them (minus the marriage license), show up in TWENTY THREE DAYS and still have one helluva party celebrating the two of you. I’m so excited it’s down to details, but the important stuff for the day are done!

  4. 23 days?! Yay!! I’m so excited and happy for you. And I think you and everything else are going to be beautiful. I don’t really see any way around that. 🙂

  5. Oh, I love this post. I love the excitement I can feel through your words, and I love that you’ve turned over day-of duties to someone else. My personal attendant was my most trustworthy friend and I didn’t have to worry about a THING.

    Yay for getting married and excitement and a happy, happy post! I can’t wait see all the photos afterward.

  6. I’m singing the song “Final Countdown” in my head now. 🙂 Two words on NOT being a planner the day of your wedding: Alcohol Helps. 🙂

Comments are closed.