Oh hello there.

Every day this week I have woken up and thought, “I should blog.” And then promptly not blogged.

Life is a bit of a wedding whirlwind right now as you can imagine. My to do list is very detailed and hopefully a lot of the tasks will be crossed off after this coming weekend. I have some lovely girlfriends coming over tomorrow to help with the favors and decoration making which should be productive but also a lot of fun. Mr. Darcy and I have to get down to business writing our vows and helping Jenny Two Times flesh out the ceremony. That is the most important part, right? That’s probably why I am avoiding it.

I keep telling myself that I have to “get in a good mood” before I can work on the ceremony pieces and then I get even more mad at myself when I can’t seem to relax. The fact that I would think I could relax now during the most stressful 6 months of my life when I actually am NEVER relaxed is all kinds of ridiculous. I set very high expectations for myself but this is beyond logic. So after many freak outs and breakdowns (thanks to Mr. Darcy for always being supportive), I went to acupuncture and felt 100% more calm. I will return every week until the wedding because I need needles stuck strategically in my body to make me calm down apparently. Whatever works I say. Because I will not be a wreck on the day of my wedding. That is not my dream.

I just wanted to check in and say hi, I’m alive, I’m getting through it.

10 thoughts on “Oh hello there.

  1. Hi Sizzle, I’ve been reading your blog for awhile and just thought I would send you a quick note to say that you’re not alone! I’m getting married the same day as you and even though we picked a destination wedding because it was easier and ‘less stressful’, I’m still stressed to the max. Thank goodness for supportive fiances! Hopefully the day of, we’ll both find some inner calm from somewhere. Just remember that at the end of the day, no matter what else happens, no matter what else gets done or not done, you’ll have married your wonderful Mr. Darcy. Take care!
    Heather

  2. I’m glad you checked in here. I’ve been thinking of you in your countdown to the big day. Sounds like you are being realistic about your expectations in terms of the r&r. I’ve never tried accupuncture! Glad it’s working for you!

  3. Needles, green tea, surrounding supportive friends and lovers – whatever it takes. And? Just on the off chance you find yourself not completely relaxed when you think you “should be”? Understand that relaxed is a relative term, and relative to one of the big days in your life, perhaps a little extra “excitement” is totally to be expected. However you do this it is YOU doing it, and that is who Mr Darcy signed up to do this with (and for). No wrong way to go – all part of the package deal.

    Sea of love, waves of calm. Sea of love, waves of calm….

  4. It’s possible that working on the ceremony might, in itself, help you get in a good mood. I’ve found that to be the case in similar situations myself, anyway. Regardless, I’m very glad you found some relaxation through accupuncture! Good luck getting through these last few pre-wedding weeks. I know it’s a super stressful time, but it’ll all be worth it in the end. πŸ™‚

  5. I ditto Audrey’s comment – working on the ceremony was actually the only part that I totally adored at this point in the planning process. It sounds like you’ve developed a great calming strategy. I’m going to have to try acupuncture!!!

    Love you!

  6. I’ve thought about acupuncture many times but never went. I am glad that it was helpful to you and I hope your stress levels go down and everything works out exactly as you wish for.

  7. I’ve always wanted to try acupuncture – and now you made me want to even more. Have fun making favors with your girlfriends! The girlfriend nights were some of my faves before the wedding.

  8. You’ll have so much fun with friends making those decorations and favors! And you will have so much fun at your wedding! You’ll see. πŸ™‚

    I’ve wanted to try acupuncture but always been scared to do it. Does it work better than a massage? Or are the completely different?

  9. I hate when we set unrealistic expectations of ourselves. How can we ever succeed when we do that? It’s good to see you’ve figured out a way to relax (needles, who would’ve thought, though when I look at the word, I see “need” and “les(s)” and think of stress and nonsense, so of course needles would work to relax you!).

Comments are closed.