Going on My Marry Way

I’m sitting here in my living room with light from the morning sun p ouring throughour big windows thinking about happiness.

Happiness has never come easy to me. Or if it did, it felt fleeting. I’ve put a lot of pressure on myself to Be! Happy! and mostly felt like a failure because I am unable to sustain the feeling. Does this mean I don’t love my life? Absolutely not. I just find it easier to not operate at that level. It feels way to tenuous and we all know how I like a plan.

But then I met Mr. Darcy and we’ve had all our ups and downs on our love journey, our engagement, buying our house, the cancer summer, and now in just a few days, our wedding, and I can say unequivocally that I have never been more content and happy with my life. It kind of unnerves me but in a really good way. It’s a new feeling, this feeling joy. Letting it stick around, allowing myself to trust it. I have struggled for so long to feel worthy of it.

The problem has never been the absence of happiness but rather the acceptance that I deserve happiness.

I’ve never been more excited about anything more than I am about marrying Mr. Darcy on Sunday. I shared my elation with you because I consider you my friends and even though I can’t invite all of you the wedding, having been here along this journey with me you have played a part in this happiness and for that I thank you. Your excitement at our union has been such a fun part of all of this.

I might not have time to blog again until after the wedding so I wanted to tell you thanks with heartfelt appreciation for your support. I’m about to dive headfirst into a whirlwind of activity, friends, family, laughter, togetherness, love, and, yes, joy. I’m choosing happy today and hopefully all the days that come after it.

I’m making my own happily ever after. Mark my words.

 

44 thoughts on “Going on My Marry Way

  1. I am so very happy for you. I may not know you very well but I consider you a friend and I know without a doubt that you deserve every ounce of happiness.

  2. I think defining happiness is different for each of us. The important thing is figuring out your own happiness barometer and then finding the balance of it in your life. You are so deserving of this relationship, this wedding, this marriage, this life, this happiness. It suits you and I’m glad you’re letting it all in. Have a fabulous weekend, Ms Sizzle!!!!

  3. So happy for you! Have a wonderful, magical day on Sunday. It will be perfect in your eyes, and in the eyes of everyone there with you. And get some much-needed relaxation on your honeymoon!! You deserve every minute of happiness that comes your way. Congrats and best wishes to you both!

  4. I have been following you for quite some time and read your blog on my Reader due to me being in education and my filters not allowing access to blogs. I tell you that because I have wanted to comment on many of your posts but have been able to at work and then life takes over.

    That said, I am so happy for you and your upcoming nuptials to your Mr. Darcy. I have been able to relate to you on so many levels (the lack of confidence, the body issues, the dating issues, the job issues, the working my butt off at workouts and still having body issues πŸ™‚ ) and think you are one amazing woman. I think I found your blog through Aimee Heff……. and know she is good people so I know you are good people.

    I wish you nothing but the best for your wedding weekend, your honeymoon and the next sixty years of your life with Darcy. I hope one day to find the level of contentment you have found and will find my Mr. Darcy (I’m 37 so hopefully soon) πŸ™‚

    Best wishes and lots of calm thoughts and calm nerves being sent your way.

    Cheers,
    Jo

  5. Choose happiness! What a wonderful mantra for the week to come (and the shared life to follow). A sea of love, waves of calm and the choice to be happy all be yours.

  6. I’m so happy you’re appreciating the happiness that you deserve! Congratulations to you and Mr. Darcy on your upcoming wedding day. Take the time to enjoy every minute of all the wonder that surrounds your special day!

  7. Your “love journey” has been so fun to watch and to cheer for from the sidelines! By the way, I keep forgetting to ask you: Are you going to become Mrs. Darcy or keep your maiden name? (I vowed to keep mine but became Mrs. Mom as soon as we had kids because I didn’t like that my name didn’t match theirs.)

    CHOOSE HAPPY! πŸ˜‰

  8. HAPPINESS!!

    Something my therapist (ahem) told me when I said being happy was scary because that meant that something could come along and ruin it: “Yep. But that something was going to happen anyway. So, choose to be happy in the meantime.” So simple, and yet, I never thought of it that way.

    Happy, happy, happy, happy, happy!!!!!!!!! Yay! Happy Wedding to you, beautiful.

  9. Good on you, sis! Do what feels right and stick by it. Nothing wrong with that.

    And if we don’t hear from you, have a fantastic and beautiful day and bring me something nice from the honeymoon.

  10. I am so glad you feel that happiness, that love. I want you to feel it that day, and the days before, and all the days after, somehow. It’ll be there, even when it’s hard to see. You deserve it, and the Universe knows it.
    Though I am not there I *feel* a part of it too because I am lucky enough to call you a friend.

  11. Grrr, the new commenting system ate my comment!

    I’m so happy for you! Marriage is an amazing thing. It has its ups and downs for sure, but it’s so comforting knowing there is always someone there that loves you no matter what. Have a wonderful wedding, and I can’t wait for pictures!

  12. Hooray for happy. Have a wonderful time these next few days, weeks, years, forever πŸ™‚ Remember to take time to enjoy it.

  13. You are so deserving of all this happiness! I will always remember that you were the one who reminded me to make sure to live in the joy right after I got engaged. So thrilled for you for this big life moment, and all the happiness you have to follow. Remember to live in the joy this weekend my friend! Congrats πŸ™‚

  14. I hope you have the most wonderful wedding day surrounded by people who see how amazing you are celebrating the love that you and Mr.Darcy have for each other. It’s such a beautiful thing.

  15. It’s been so fun to be on this journey with you. I’m excited for your wedding and your marriage and so very happy for both you and Mr. Darcy.

    (Also, you’d better post at least one picture on Instagram on Sunday.) (Or else.)

  16. So excited for you too!

    Have the happiest of wedding days!!! Can’t wait to see the wonderful pics. I am sure it will be an amazing day.

    Also, just keep having fun. The day will be wonderful even if the details aren’t perfect. I decided on my wedding day to just enjoy rather than worry about each detail, if the decor was right, great. If it was good enough, fine. (Hard for a micro manager like myself). All that mattered was celebrating and having fun with those I love and having an amazing day with my new husband. I wish you the same sort of amazing day shared with friends, family and your new husband!

  17. This post brought real tears to my eyes πŸ™‚ I wish you and Mr. Darcy so much joy and happiness. If anyone deserves it, you do.

  18. I am so happy for you! I hope Sunday is everything you dreamed it to be and that you have the very best day. Enjoy every minute of it – and your honeymoon, too. XXOO

  19. You deserve all the happiness out there, friend! I know your wedding day is going to be full of love and emotion. Like everyone else, I’ll be sending positive energy for a day that is as stressless as possible and know that we’ll all be celebrating you from afar. Much love!

  20. You go and make your own happily ever after, I’ll be here being very happy for you πŸ™‚ have a great time! I hope you get to enjoy every minute of it.

Comments are closed.